We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place with Swimming Pool and Sauna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nuijamiestentie 10, Helsinki FIN-00320, Finland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rates Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersGold level
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Place with Swimming Pool and Sauna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Not too far from Helsinki, the Hotel is just apt for quaint family vacations. I was here with my two daughters, who had come to Helsinki to meet one of their school friends. The checking in was seamless and did not need any waiting time. The rooms were nice, modern and provided all amenities, including satellite television, mini-refrigerator, a sofa, a huge closet and well stocked bathroom. The Hotel is perfect for folks who come in cars. Free bikes are up for rent and the taxi stands are just around the corner. My daughters loved the swimming pool and sauna. They were out the entire day with Friends, while I was at the room watching a heck load of TV.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    71
    28
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
41
32
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A really nice hotel, not so far from the center of Helsinki - around 7-10 min by bus/car. Clean stylish rooms, proper service. Free bike rent, swimming pool and sauna. A nice place to stay with kids - easy to find something for breakfast for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
91064, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello, glad to hear you liked us a lot. Warms our hearts and you are most welcome to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Have been there 3 times during 3 years being weekend times. 2 times before was very noisy at night from other rooms, shouting, furniture throwing etc. Building is old, renovated 2008, can just imagine what it was before that. Can be seen that place have seen best days, with now some shabby carpets on corridors etc. Face lift was done by joining best western. Getting feeling that trying to be better, than what it really is.


When making reservation from other net page was said to have 120cm bed. This was not at check in, so had to point out about this, to get it from hotel. For good points breakfast is good average, but like most of hotels (even for better ones) for last 15min many of the items have ended before time is ended. Of course this has no meaning for hotel, because time for breakfast is also ending. But for hungry guest it has meaning. This was said when making reservation already months before, but result was that many items was all ended or had only left overs. Same situation also before and I guess will be always and forever. Some things are forever. This time in Finland was also good to know english to ask about these from chinese (or japanese) personnel at breakfast room.


For bathroom soap box had to pressed some 50 times to get soap out, same for the 2 boxes, usually have own soap. This time air conditioning was set 25 and it was too hot. Trying to put it 22, was for some seconds but then come again to 25 so had to close fan completely. For good point shower gives you good amount of water if you want. Compensation air comes from outside, there is close road and also close bigger road, with much traffic. Top of window there is slit from where air comes. There is also filter that is good to change at least once a year expecially being to this kind of area with traffic. But like has been for 3 years, I guess these are maybe never (?) changed or maybe 10years ago ? Like for many hotels, common places that are easy to see are cleaned, but for example from top of this slit is it never cleaned. Filter is not hard to change and filter not even expensive when doing it for all the rooms, but this is one example of hotel policy. There is bright side for marketing and fancy photos and then some other basic things, that are not so important, since they do not bring in money, only cost.


For the price when booking 1-3months before can get close to 60e/night for weekend that is nice price for Helsinki level, but for normal days going over 100e/night (even close to 150e/ night!) for basic room it is much too much for this motel. If your company pays, does not matter so much. But when you pay yourself, can have more meaning. Anyway good to have this kind of option in Helsinki area, where all prices on everything are most expensive compared to all country, and that is because it is Helsinki.

And you should pay for that.

Room Tip: Try to get room from 3rd floor, could be more quiet(?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
91064, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you travelboyy for your reviews. I'm sorry for the disturbing noise coming from another rooms during your stay.
We do try to make your stay worth staying. These were important reviews and notes you made.
Thank you for those.
Still hopefully we can welcome you back to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga in near future

With best regards
Osmo Suominen, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Comfortable, clean, good staying hotel. The rooms are fully equipped (tea/cofee/ironinzing/internet). The Hotel is located not so far from downtown so it is very quiet. The staff is keen and the welcome great. Well assortet intl breakfast. A really good hotel in a proper price/ratio mostly I would say for people travelling for work or if have a car.

Room Tip: Rooms are very comfotable and quite, any choise will be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed one night in BW Haaga in October. The hotel is located a little bit out of the center, but can be easily reached by bus from the main train station. Rooms are spacious and clear, bathroom is well equipped. Staff were friendly and supported me with information regarding the area, public transport and city sights. Recommended in Helsinki.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapua, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We just got back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Haaga for a conference. Since the hotel was fully booked for the conference and we contacted them late, they only had a single room for my husband and I and our baby. Although we got a baby bed and a 120 cm single bed, our baby wanted to sleep with us, so it was quite tight the first night. I asked them at reception if they had anything else for us, even a mattress to put on the floor for my husband, and they were really accommodating and found us another single bed and joined them together, so the rest of the stay was much more comfortable. Both the reception staff and the chamber maids were really friendly and helpful when we requested extra towels or asked for help finding a place to take kids.
The breakfast was varied and had lots of hot and cold options, everything was delicious! We ate the rest of our meals with the conference participants in the main dining room, and the food was good, but not sure if it is the same as the restaurant. One day we slept in and missed breakfast, and there was no where in the hotel or within walking distance to get food, and lunch was not served until 1pm, so that was a bit difficult. The coffee machine and vending machines are a bit pricey.
There is a bus stop right near the hotel and the bus to central Helsinki went every 20 minutes, so we went into town a few times. Since I had a baby in the stroller, I got to ride for free and my husband paid €2.80 each way, and the ride was about 15 minutes. If you are planning on being in town the whole time, this might be too far to stay at, but for a conference it was a great venue with lots of meeting rooms and a large hall.
The pool was large and clean, but it was 21 degrees, and they said its meant to be used with the sauna, so it was too cold for my son to enjoy, which is a shame if you are going with small kids, since the weather was so hot outside as well.
There is a nice forest across the highway with biking and walking trails and a large pet cemetary, which was interesting to see!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel offers luxurious accommodation, set close to a small suburban settlement with lots of parkland nearby. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and the rooms and facilities are first class. Being remote from the city, the area is quiet and the air clean and fresh. Having said that, the bus stops to and from the city are only a short stroll away from the hotel; the buses are very regular and the trip to the city centre is only 2.80 euros. By the way, is you're relying on public transport and you're staying for a few days or more, it is worth purchasing a public transport card which you can use on any bus and tram within the city limits - it is by far the most economical way to travel. Also, if you come by car, I would recommend leaving it in the hotel car park and using the bus service. Overall, it's easier, quicker and cheaper - parking in the city is very limited and costly!
The hotel pool and sauna are excellent; the restaurant offers a good choice of dinners and breakfast is a continental buffet with so many choices, you're bound to spend an hour sampling all the local delights on offer - a brisk walk in the park across the road will prevent too much weight gain!
Overall, the hotel is a great choice for a business venue or as a base to explore Helsinki and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Try to get a lift remote from the lift - the lifts are quiet but people waiting fro them are not nec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga

Address: Nuijamiestentie 10, Helsinki FIN-00320, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#22 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.