We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but enjoyable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Mikonkatu 15, Helsinki 00100, Finland
09 6981 225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 929 restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Basic but enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went with my son and watched our dishes being made. Nothing outstanding but portions and price were acceptable. Food was fresh and the chef was friendly and chatty. We sat upstairs and had plenty of space as there was not a large dinner crowd. Would I go back, yes..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    45
    72
    29
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a concept pasta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Well, I think this is a worldwide fast food chain, having these pasta/pizza/bar self service places in all major cities. It is kind of a safe choice but not really good food. There is so many better places around so I really see no point of eating here. Pass by, I'd say.

I could not get my preferred choice as they had run out of ingredients. What I got was "ok", but I don't think I'll go there never again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“decent priced duo lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

they got a ok priced (for central helsinki) duo lunch (salad/desser + pasta). gets really busy during noon, so just before is the time to go. they got a good set of language skills between the cooks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went there for a quick lunch. It is basically an upgraded fast food.. The food quality is OK, but not impressive. The place was very crowded and it was not easy to find a place to sit.
I would recommend it ONLY in case you want to have a quick bite (main things are pastas and pizzas)..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A restaurant to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A modern restaurant near the railway station. Popular with young Finns which is a good sign!

Mainly pasta meals but we found that most Finnish restaurants were 'for the tourist'. Go to the harbour markets for your reindeer salami and kebabs!

Good price and tasty food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.