We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to be in sunny day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swimming Stadium

The Swimming Stadium
Hammarskjoldintie, Helsinki 00250 , Finland
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 138 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Place to be in sunny day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

An alternative to Hietaniemi and other beaches. Easy to reach and spacious facility both for swimming and hanging out in the sun. Walking distance from tram stops and easily reachable by bicycle. Used to be a potato storage during the WW2.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sauna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I love it! Going every week between abt 9.May to 21.Sept (2014)
Good Sauna's for t women and men separately and 50m swimming pool together. Also suntanning possibilety. So, must hv swimming suits or bikini's

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Old-time charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Outdoor swimming pool, originating from year 1940 and was used in Helsinki Olympics on 1952. Spacious, clean locker rooms. There's also a gym downstairs. There are kiosks both outside and inside the area. Jumping platforms and one water slide. This is hugely popular when the weather is warm but I recommend visiting it when during rainy days. Then there are less people and the water feels so warm.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Adventurous Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Let's start off by saying I might be a little biased on this review. I love watching and following anything to do with swimming history. When visited I didn't even think to bring a suit. I bought one from the front desk for really cheap and headed straight to the pool. I spend hours going off the platforms and diving boards, This was a perfect stop for me indeed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good for training and for winding off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This very traditional part of the 1952 Olympic Games venue is superb for regular swim training. The season is reasonably long (May to September) and the serial flash-in ticket is very convenient without being overpriced. Vault jumping and waterrunning are also well arranged.

Overall, the track etiquette of the swimmers in the 50 metre main pool is good (except for some of the unavoidable blokes who have obviously come to kill off their hangover on a hectic short stint basis).

The steam bullying in the saunas has fortunately passed, by and large, with the arrival of the new generations.

For foreign visitors it may come as a mild surprise that the cleaning personnel in the shower rooms can also be female, so you are warned.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swimming Stadium also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to The Swimming Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swimming Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.