We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern Asian experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaijin

Gaijin
Bulevardi 6, Helsinki 00120, Finland (Vironniemi)
09 698 0101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 927 restaurants in Helsinki
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vironniemi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great modern Asian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We visited on a busy Saturday night, reservation is well recommended. Although the place was packed service was quick, unhurried, very knowledgeable and friendly. The four of us had the 10 course tasting menu - although portions were not huge we did not leave hungry, quite the opposite. Taste and serving quality were simply wonderful. No hesitation, I will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    73
    76
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best quality oriental style in Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having loved the owners´ other restaurant, Farang, I had pretty high expectations. The restaurant is centrally located, and has modern Scandinavian style decor with very dark colours. We were having a birthday party with a group of six people. On Sundays the whole group was expected to agree on a common menu, so we chose the tasting menu with 55 euros. The menu containing e.g. mussel, pork in two styles, scallop and salmon offered true oriental tastes fusioned with French kitchen. I especially loved the mussel, scallop and the sweet pork ribs, they were simply marvellous. The wine list was wide enough, with some nice wines by the glass. I found the wine prices quite reasonable, for a quality restaurant in Helsinki. The service was friendly, even though not fully professional. The staff repeatedly did not look around, but concentrated only on one single task at hand. They e.g. would not notice our waivering, but we had to call them out (well, not loud, but anyways). Serving the wine and food was not fully syncronized, but the tastes were. We didn´t mind the small gaps in the service as everyone in the staff was friendly. The desserts crowned our lovely dinner. I warmly recommend this special oriental French place. I felt we got what we paid for, and actually a bit more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Asian-fusion food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This must be the first time I've had soft-shell crab anywhere in Scandinavia, and it was not disappointing. Wonderful food, beautifully presented, extremely helpful and unpretentious staff. Recommend!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Asian style Frenched.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This restaurant is few Finnish restaurants mentioned in Michelin Guide. In every culinary aspect they earned it. Food is excellent from fresh ingredients, interesting combinations, visually beautiful. Tasting menus also have wine menus to go with which are very complimentary to the food. Service was nice, cozy and explanatory, giving tips about the food and extra ordinary from Finnish point of view.
Downside is price tag, with wines it can exceed over 100 euros per person, which in Finland is way too much. I have visited two Michelin star restaurant which didn't cost much more. Quality was excellent in both, but for 2 stars you are willing to pay extra.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Incredibly Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

After going through several menus on the internet for restaurants in helsinki, we decided to go try out Gaijin. We had eaten at its sister restaurant Farang earlier, and found it mediocre. We were positively surprised at Gaijin. Of course the price level isn't cheap, but every bite was delicious and portions adequate when you knew not to except portions like in your 'local cheap chinese'. We were equally pleased with the atmosphere, which felt more casual than at Farang. The only bad thing was the coctail I ordered in the beginning.. it tasted evil. Although everyone else in my table was quite happy with theirs. I hope to go back sometime soon for another meal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaijin also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Gaijin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaijin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.