We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triple wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Triple wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've been to a lot of hotels in my travels but this one is near the top--from consistently cheerful and helpful hotel staff to an incredible(no exaggeration here) morning buffet. It's in a great part of town close to a McDonald's, grocery store, and ATM(across the courtyard). Coming from a foodie, I usually find the food average at best, but the breakfast buffet was something to talk about---salmon, bacon, yogurt, oatmeal, eggs, etc. Very up to date spacious rooms and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Hiker2go,
Triple thank you for your kind and encouraging title of your review. Words “triple wow” means so very much to our team members, just great! We are so glad to hear you valued our breakfast. We wish that good memories of your stay would bring you back one day and as soon as possible. Warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    124
    26
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
163
28
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stopped here on our last night of a two week trip to Finland. This hotel has a wonderful location, a bit north of the market square, waterfront and esplanade but still easily within walking distance of these attractions. It is also very near waterfront parks on either side of the rail lines. The superior room we got for 3 people was huge, with two twin sofa beds and one queen bed, along with its own sauna! This was in the older, Congress building. We also had a smallish standard room for two in the newer part of the building. If you will stay a while, the superior room may be worth the price for spaciousness, but both rooms were quiet, clean and stylishly decorated. Breakfast is outstanding with at least 15 different hot dishes available. Very friendly service. Would give 6 stars if I could!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Traveller14649,
We also wish you could have stayed longer. We hope you got a lot of beautiful memories from Finland to bring back home with you, and wish we could meet you again someday offering our services for you and your family for longer time. The last sentence of your kind review means so much to us, thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamboin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in the Scandic Paasi for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The reception staff were superb. We arrived early (about 9:00 AM) from an overnight flight from Singapore. The reception staff were great. They made us comfortable and arranged our room as quickly as possible and well before the official check-in time. Throughout our stay, they continued to impress with their help and friendliness.

The hotel is very well located with proximity to the center a comfortable walk or tram ride away.

The hotel offers bikes for guests to use and we took them three times. This is a great way to explore Helsinki.

The hotel itself is very comfortable with good sound insulation between the rooms. There was a small balcony and opening doors which gave a good feeling of space.

The breakfasts are excellent.

We could not fault the hotel in any aspect.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear MichaelandDeborah,
Thank you so much for your beautiful review and visit as our guest. We are so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your five night’s trip to Helsinki and your stay at our dear hotel. Your recommendation means so much to us, and your kind words gives us extra energy and extremely happy feelings, thank you. It would be a huge pleasure to meet you soon again. Our very best regards to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Staff were super helpful. Rooms are small and clean; we had a larger room with the bath and toilet separate; Location is excellent; Bikes are offered; Restaurant and bar on site. Fitness Center; Best part of stay was the breakfast each day. Best ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Jerry L,
Thank you so much for sharing your so kind comments of Scandic Paasi and its services. Members of our breakfast team are so happy to hear that they succeeded to give you a positive start for each day. Just wonderful! Your return to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi one day would delight us so much. Warmly welcome again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Located a half block from Hakaniemi Market Square with a beautiful little park in front, this hotel is within easy walking distance of many sights from the Kallio area to the Esplanade. The airport bus stops across from the market square. Trams are available in this market area to visit most other parts of Helsinki. The staff is helpful and friendly. The decor is on the pleasantly eccentric side (not a sterile could-be-anyplace look). The restaurant across the courtyard from the lobby is a good place to eat (informal, reasonably priced).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear wynnetrav,
Your visit in June delighted us a lot. We are so happy to read about your kind comments on our immediate environment, Hakaniemi Market Square, our park and Kallio area. Great, that you had a change to explore them during your trip. Thank you so much for you friendly words about our décor, service and restaurant Juttutupa. Our best regards to you to Pennsylvania, hope to meet you again as our guest at Scandic Paasi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed in a superior room. The room was very spacious, had high ceilings, very clean, modern and had some funny details in the decor. The room had a separate shower and toilet, both were good size and spotless. I had my own balcony facing the inner courtyard of the hotel. The bed was very comfy. The room had very dark colors, which might not be the most uplifting detail in the middle of Finnish November-January. The room didn’t have a good closet and nowhere (well, of course there was a bed or a chair) to put your suitcase while packing and unpacking. Some of the light switches were hard to find. Didn’t like how the tv was put on the wall.

The breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel in Helsinki for a long time. Scrambled eggs were marvelous. And I especially enjoyed the organic rye bread, yummy. The breakfast room was somewhat dark colored and had no windows but I didn’t mind that.

The staff was really welcoming, they made me feel like the number 1 customer. Especially the women at the front desk and young blonde woman who worked in the lobby bar were just the nicest ones. Both check in and check out went really smoothly.

I had a really nice stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear pillow2013,
So very kind of you to write just in a beautiful way about your stay at Scandic Paasi.
Our breakfast team is so happy after reading your feedback. Organic rye bread is hotels homemade bread, wonderful that you liked it.
We are lucky to have several blonde women in our reception team, and you made all of them super happy. You should feel you are our number 1 customer, that is what you are! We are really looking forward to meet you again. You are warmly welcome, please visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My first impression of room 528, a superior room in the 1908 granite tower part of the building,was dark.The part of the room furthest from the windiw has black walls and ceiling,and the black light switches are very hard to find.Additionally,some are conventional,but some are a peculiar horizontal design.
After a lengthy mapping expedition,and a puzzle with the air-con instructions,normal operations were resumed.A vast genuine herringbone parquet floor bears a few rugs and an eccentric assortment of new furniture.The decor is bizarre,on a circus performers theme.However,the functional level of comfort is excellent,with lots of storage,many coat hooks and a good bed,albeit with the odd Scandinavian twin duvets.There are triple glazed windows,with adequate opening area.
An extra,behind folding doors,is a little kitchenette ,with large fridge,microwave and sink.This is useful for snacks,there being a supermarket a few hundred yards away.Additioally,the minibar items are sold in the foyer for half the room prices.The waste bin was not emptied regularly.
The bathroom has every comfort,including a large bath with drying line above.Laundry can be done with the aid of the board and iron provided.
Breakfast,in an underground room forming part of a conference suite,is splendid,with many interesting local products.It is let down by a new juice dispensing machine,which has an electronic touch screen.The screen may be fit to touch,but the watery imitation orange juice certainly is not.On subsequent mornings I brought my own.
The notel overlooks a quiet square on one side,and the harbour on the other.The Cathedral is about 15-20 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The new building has much smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear YorkshireAviator,
Thank you so much for choosing Scandic Paasi for your stay in Helsinki, and sharing just a kind review of us. You are right, the entrance of your room is dark colored, and to find light switches at the first time is unfortunately challenging, even there is a tiny little light in the middle of main switch trying to guide. We apologize for the inconvenience caused you right at the beginning of your stay with us.
We are happy to notice how many positive details you valued during your visit, and we hope greatly to see you again as our guest. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.