We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Save Saved
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Kotka, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The nicest staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed in a superior room. The room was very spacious, had high ceilings, very clean, modern and had some funny details in the decor. The room had a separate shower and toilet, both were good size and spotless. I had my own balcony facing the inner courtyard of the hotel. The bed was very comfy. The room had very dark colors, which might not be the most uplifting detail in the middle of Finnish November-January. The room didn’t have a good closet and nowhere (well, of course there was a bed or a chair) to put your suitcase while packing and unpacking. Some of the light switches were hard to find. Didn’t like how the tv was put on the wall.

The breakfast was the best I have had in a hotel in Helsinki for a long time. Scrambled eggs were marvelous. And I especially enjoyed the organic rye bread, yummy. The breakfast room was somewhat dark colored and had no windows but I didn’t mind that.

The staff was really welcoming, they made me feel like the number 1 customer. Especially the women at the front desk and young blonde woman who worked in the lobby bar were just the nicest ones. Both check in and check out went really smoothly.

I had a really nice stay and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear pillow2013,
So very kind of you to write just in a beautiful way about your stay at Scandic Paasi.
Our breakfast team is so happy after reading your feedback. Organic rye bread is hotels homemade bread, wonderful that you liked it.
We are lucky to have several blonde women in our reception team, and you made all of them super happy. You should feel you are our number 1 customer, that is what you are! We are really looking forward to meet you again. You are warmly welcome, please visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    97
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
133
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My first impression of room 528, a superior room in the 1908 granite tower part of the building,was dark.The part of the room furthest from the windiw has black walls and ceiling,and the black light switches are very hard to find.Additionally,some are conventional,but some are a peculiar horizontal design.
After a lengthy mapping expedition,and a puzzle with the air-con instructions,normal operations were resumed.A vast genuine herringbone parquet floor bears a few rugs and an eccentric assortment of new furniture.The decor is bizarre,on a circus performers theme.However,the functional level of comfort is excellent,with lots of storage,many coat hooks and a good bed,albeit with the odd Scandinavian twin duvets.There are triple glazed windows,with adequate opening area.
An extra,behind folding doors,is a little kitchenette ,with large fridge,microwave and sink.This is useful for snacks,there being a supermarket a few hundred yards away.Additioally,the minibar items are sold in the foyer for half the room prices.The waste bin was not emptied regularly.
The bathroom has every comfort,including a large bath with drying line above.Laundry can be done with the aid of the board and iron provided.
Breakfast,in an underground room forming part of a conference suite,is splendid,with many interesting local products.It is let down by a new juice dispensing machine,which has an electronic touch screen.The screen may be fit to touch,but the watery imitation orange juice certainly is not.On subsequent mornings I brought my own.
The notel overlooks a quiet square on one side,and the harbour on the other.The Cathedral is about 15-20 minutes walk.

Room Tip: The new building has much smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear YorkshireAviator,
Thank you so much for choosing Scandic Paasi for your stay in Helsinki, and sharing just a kind review of us. You are right, the entrance of your room is dark colored, and to find light switches at the first time is unfortunately challenging, even there is a tiny little light in the middle of main switch trying to guide. We apologize for the inconvenience caused you right at the beginning of your stay with us.
We are happy to notice how many positive details you valued during your visit, and we hope greatly to see you again as our guest. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Located on a quiet side street near the Hakaniemenranta Market on the 615 bus route from the airport, just north of the city centre the Scandi Paasi is an excellent hotel for a Helsinki break. Its decor is circus themed scandi- chic: quirky and stylish. The rooms continue the theme (the site was home, historically, to a circus). Our room on the sixth floor had a balcony looking out over a nice tree line square. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The hotel had some nice touches like several bikes which are free for guests ( Helsinki is very bike friendly) and free ipads in reception.

Reception was helpful and efficient. However the cleaning let the hotel down a bit, our room had dust on the shelves, was barely touched during our stay and our teas and coffee was not replenished at all.

For breakfast there was a huge choice everything from muesli, fresh fruit pastries to pickled herring and smoked salmon and a neat iPad controlled juice dispenser!

Room Tip: Top floor have balconies looking over a square
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear PJT1966,
Thank you for your friendly and positive review of Scandic Paasi. It is so delightful to read how many nice touches you found, and thought Paasi is an excellent hotel for a Helsinki break.

How sad we are to read about your feedback concerning cleaning in your room. Not accepted at all, we are really sorry, and will take steps to improve it.

Hope to be able to welcome you again to Helsinki and Scandic Paasi. Our very best regards to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I had a business meeting with breakfast in this hotel. We were so happy about the quality of the breakfast. It was a very large buffet with so high quality products. Rooms were also so different than "normal" Scandic. So nice designed. Location of this hotel is very good. it is walking distance of the centrum. Just behind the hotel there are nice market square where you could make shoppings, have nice coffee etc. I could recommend this hotel to all Helsinki visitors. Really, really nice staff and good quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Eero N,
Thank you; your story means so much to our breakfast team. You gave them extra energy to their daily and continued development work, so kind of you. How great it feels to hear that you enjoyed our “story-hotel” design and location. And we agree with you; market square of Hakaniemi is so unique, and offers a special atmosphere for Helsinki visitors.
Your recommendation delights us hugely. Hope to meet you very soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Amenities-wise pretty much your standard scandic, for this one they have put quite a bit more eye and dime on design. The hotel looks modern, even hip. The service staff on our stay was also extra-friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear panze,
We thank you so much for your kind and positive review of Paasi. We are glad you noticed our special interior design. You are right; Paasi is a “story-hotel” in a family of Scandic hotels in Finland. Our design is inspired by the colorful personalities and happenings of the 150 years history of Siltasaari area, where we are located.
It is wonderful to hear that you felt our service extra-friendly. We are looking forward your next visit; hope to meet you soon again. Our best regards to you to Oulu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The location is a little bit offside, but after 15 minutes walk you are in the very centre of the city. Otherwise a peaceful location with a beautiful park and water next to the hotel. There are restaurants in the neighbourhood, but if you want some of the higher standard ones, you need to move closer to the downtown, 10-15 min walk or 5 min by taxi.
Nice breakfast standard. Efficient and friendly staff in the reception and the bar.
The cleanliness of the toilet next to the reception did not keep acceptable standard though.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have sauna! The rooms in the part of the hotel that have been old offices, are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Max S,
Thank you so much for sharing your impression of Scandic Paasi. We are so glad to hear that you got to experience also the water and Bay next to hotel, and found it peaceful. Our new restaurant “Meripaviljonki” is under construction right over there, on the water, and will open on 8th April 2015. Hope to have you as our guest then, and be able to introduce you to Meripaviljonki, because it will represent and join to the group of little higher standard restaurants in our own neighborhood. We appreciate your feedback of cleanliness, and improvement steps were taken right away by our team. Thank you so much and hope to see you soon again at Paasi, for both business and pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've stayed in Scandic Paasi twice in the past 3 months and both experiences were great! Location is very good, few minutes by tram, bus or metro to central, rooms are very nice and comfy. You'll definitely find something nice to eat at breakfast and if you wish to have dinner, there's a good restaurant in the complex. Above all of those good qualities I appreciate the good customer service at the reception. The staff was friendly and they seemed to enjoy their job, making jokes with the customer and being very helpful. Having worked in customer service several years I appreciate to receive quality service and wish to tell it to others too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear KMPT2014,
Your review makes us extremely happy. Guests returning to Scandic Paasi, and choosing us as a hotel in Helsinki more like ones, is like our dream come true. Our wish is to give people away from home a feeling of being among friends at Scandic Paasi. We are so glad to hear that you noticed our joy. Yes – you are right; we do enjoy so much our job. And especially because of wonderful guests like you are. Thank you KMPT2014. Hope to see you soon again! Very best regards to you from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.