We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy rooms, good breakfast, great customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Save Saved
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tidy rooms, good breakfast, great customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've stayed in Scandic Paasi twice in the past 3 months and both experiences were great! Location is very good, few minutes by tram, bus or metro to central, rooms are very nice and comfy. You'll definitely find something nice to eat at breakfast and if you wish to have dinner, there's a good restaurant in the complex. Above all of those good qualities I appreciate the good customer service at the reception. The staff was friendly and they seemed to enjoy their job, making jokes with the customer and being very helpful. Having worked in customer service several years I appreciate to receive quality service and wish to tell it to others too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear KMPT2014,
Your review makes us extremely happy. Guests returning to Scandic Paasi, and choosing us as a hotel in Helsinki more like ones, is like our dream come true. Our wish is to give people away from home a feeling of being among friends at Scandic Paasi. We are so glad to hear that you noticed our joy. Yes – you are right; we do enjoy so much our job. And especially because of wonderful guests like you are. Thank you KMPT2014. Hope to see you soon again! Very best regards to you from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    98
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
135
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

It is side by side to the Congress Center. And just a 15 minutes walk to the City Center.
It is tidy and modern, with a good standard. Surprisingly there is no Sauna.
The staff is very friendly and helping.
I got a room 1st foor. And there are light bulbs just outside, shining sll night long. So make sure to get a room on the back side or on another floor.
The breakfast has a wide range and you will definitely find something good. To escape the bad finnish coffee, you can get a decent one at the Reception.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Jo G,
So kind of you to share a friendly review of Scandic Paasi. Thank you a lot! We are so sorry about the light outside disturbing you stay. For your next visit, we will help you to get a room from other sides of Paasi, and that time a room with a private sauna. We have altogether 11 saunas in two different room categories, and they are pretty cute for friends of Finnish sauna culture, really worth to experience. Hope to see you soon again as our guest. So warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great location (10 - 15 minute walk to city centre). New, very well kept, modern property with amazingly comfortable beds. (The beds are the most comfortable hotel beds that I've ever slept in.) Very friendly, helpful staff. Good, wide variety, breakfast included in room rate.

Only downside (for my wife who is Finnish) -- the hotel does not have a sauna.

Room Tip: Upper floor, balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Charles B,
Thank you for choosing Scandic Paasi for your visit in Helsinki, and sharing so kind comments on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that you especially valued our beds. Our beds are manufactured in Finland and by company called Finlayson.

How unfortunate that we could not offer you sauna experience, while we don’t have a common sauna at the hotel. Instead, for your next visit we would really like to help you to book a room with private sauna in your own hotel room. We have altogether 11 saunas in two different room categories. Please don’t hesitate to send us an e-mail before your visit (paasi@scandichotels.com), and we will guide you how to do it.

Hope to see you soon again in Finland and at Scandic Paasi. Our best regards to you and to your wife!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in room #530 (superior plus, breakfast included).

The room was more like a studio apartment, with a separate toilet and basin, bathroom with shower, basin and sauna, basic kitchenette (in large cupboard opposite the bathroom), storage, small dining table, lounge, desk and bed.

The shower was roomy (marimekko shower curtain) with ample hot water and lots of fluffy towels and robes provided. Face Stockholm products were a very nice touch.

The room was very quiet and looked out on to the square in front of the hotel and across the river on to the tower of the main rail station.

Service was really friendly in the hotel. We enjoyed drinks in the bar on a couple of occasions as well as dinner in both of the restaurants in the hotel complex. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice including a lot of healthy options.

We enjoyed the chance to try to in room sauna on a couple of occasions too.

Wi-fi was free and a strong signal in room.

On check in we received a few food / beverage vouchers which we used for drinks in the bar and towards one of our dinners.

The location of the hotel is pretty close to the city centre. The walk to the central railway station across long bridge is about 25 minutes (a nice variation on this walk is to go through the botanic gardens). The walk to the metro and tram stops (multiple tram lines) is less than 5 minutes (there is also a fresh food market there). We also caught a taxi from the city centre to the hotel on a couple of evenings and the fare was about EUR10.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior plus so that you can experiene the sauna (request sauna rather than bath tub)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jon Potter,
We enjoyed so much reading your excellent and comprehensive story here in Trip Advisor. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and giving so good tips & hints for other travelers. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and would visit us again, wonderful.

We liked a lot how you described our superior plus room, more like a studio apartment. Very well said, thank you – we learned from you, and will definitely use same expression when telling about superior plus rooms.

Our very best regards to you to Australia. Warmly welcome to Finland, Helsinki and Scandic Paasi again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Superb location for the conference centre, which is why this hotel was booked. Friendly and helpful staff at reception; requested a quiet room and it was indeed a quiet room. Breakfast plentiful, varied and fresh with enough authentic Finnish items to distinguish it from every other continental breakfast. Everything was very clean and the rooms looked newly refurbished. But the layout of my room seemed not to have taken any account of functionality. I was staying just one night but there wasn't enough hanging space. Nor was there anywhere (other than the bed) to put a case. Nor anywhere to work - not even on an iPad, never mind a laptop. Maddening. Especially because there is a white run of wall which could accommodate a suitcase shelf or a computer desk. Baffling. No matter how great their service, the designers have spiked the guest experience. Sad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear AlbertHerring,
Thank you for your kind review of Scandic Paasi. How sad we are to hear that the layout of your room gave you maddening feelings. We are so very sorry about it. For you next visit please let us help you. We would like to assist you to choose and book a different kind of room. We have six alternative room categories and three different room interior designs to choose from. We are sure we can find a better room type to fulfill your needs, and to make your stay pleasant and welcome. Our deepest apologies and best regards to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We arrived early off the flight from Singapore. You can take either the 620 or 615 bus from the city for 5 euros a cab is about 45 euros. Check in person was so good, she could obviously see we were tired. I'd booked an incorrect room type so she gave us lots of options to change. All of the furnishings throughout the hotel were very chic and funky. Rooms spacious. Great location close to downtown. Make sure you go to a real Finnish Sauna, thank you is Kiitos (key-toss), Vapiano restaurant has really good pizza and pasta.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Travis H,
It was a huge pleasure for us to have you as our guest all the way from Australia. Thank you so much for a great review. We enjoy so much reading your comments. You are so right – a real sauna is absolutely worth experiencing in Finland. Our very best regards to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Interesting art style hotel with good facilities throughout, suited to business or leisure. Rooms are comfortable and breakfast has an excellent selection for all tastes. The staff are very friendly and helpful and though the quiet location is a fair way from most central areas it is an easy walk and good public transport of all types is close by as are quite a few good restaurants.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear LJO67,
So very delightful to read the title of your kind review and it’s two important words together. How happy we are to hear that you had an excellent stay at Scandic Paasi in Helsinki. Our very best regards to you two. Hope to meet you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.