We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, quiet room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, quiet room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I liked this hotel, I stayed with a friend one night in a double room. Great central location. Nice welcoming staff. The interior design is cool with a circus theme in the reception but not so special in the rooms. The best part was the breakfast buffet, a lot of good stuff to choose from including finnish specialties. Clean quiet room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear razorsquid,
Our breakfast team got a huge amount of energy when reading your friendly review and comment about Scandic Paasi's breakfast. How our breakfast buffet was the best part of your stay. Our morning team is doing their very best to give an excellent start of a new day for our guests each and every mornings. Great that you felt it. We hope so strongly, that we could deliver that same feeling to you several times in the future. Hope to meet you soon again at Scandic Paasi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    124
    26
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
163
28
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Scandic Paasi is in a quiet but central location and is your perfect city hotel. At less than 100e in central Helsinki I find it a very good deal! It is not smack in the middle of the center but you can walk to the central railway station in about 25 minutes and there is a metro station around the corner. Also the nightlife district is very close so it is an extremely good spot for those wishing to go out without having to take a taxi back.

The rooms, like in other city hotels, are not huge but spacious enough and the bathroom was actually quite big with a very nice rain shower. Comfy beds, a breakfast buffet that caters to all needs and a fitness studio, oh and did I mention that they rent bikes?

All in all a great choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear rutgerpieko,
Thank you for choosing Scandic Paasi, and how splendid that you found your stay as a very good deal. Sounds wonderful and delights us a lot. As a one-year-old hotel we enjoyed reading, how nicely you described your thoughts about our location and transport connections. You are so welcome to visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I love hotels with character and found this one following reviews on this. Modern but with a lot of character built around a circus theme, although I didn't quite see the circus theme, it was just very groovy and stylish. The ladies on the reception gave us a really warm reception and were very pleasant. We borrowed the hotels bicycles (complimentary) and had a great ride around the city. We then asked the reception for a recommendation on where to eat, again, we wanted something hip and fun. The young lady told us about Cafe Talo, only a few minutes away by foot. It was perfect...really trendy! Completely recommend this hotel. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Alistairlm,
We had a huge joy reading your review, thank you! What a pleasure to hear that you two enjoyed your stay and found Paasi as well as Cafe talo trendy with a lot of character. We started already to dream, that hopefully one day we could welcome you again to Paasi and Helsinki. Our very best regards to you to Spain, Marbella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Rooms are nice, customer service is very good. We got a room with sauna+balcony instead of a typical room we ordered. People are very nice and helpful. Defenetly ready to come here again!

Breakfast was best ever!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear prkl08,
Thank you, your positive comment about visiting us again delights us greatly. And you should see happy faces of our breakfast team. They are so motivated by the last sentence of your kind review. Warmly welcome again to Scandic Paasi. Hope to see you soon as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed two nights in this quirky hotel early August. Arrived 7.30am and were shown straight to our 2nd floor room. Much appreciated after a long flight from Brisbane. Room was quiet, comfy beds, wi-fi, good shower. Reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Buffet breakfast was great and we particularly liked the way of choosing juice via iPad - quite a novelty. Had dinner a couple of times in adjoining restaurant at rear. Very good.

Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Patti040,
Thank you a lot for your friendly descripition of your stay at Scandic Paasi. So lovely to hear that you enjoyed our services and thank you so much for your positive recommendation. It would be wonderful to meet you some day again, and to be able to welcome you to Helsinki all the way from Brisbane. Our best regards to you to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel underwent recently a major renovation and is now a Story Hotel, meaning that it's been designed around the colourful history of the area: circus arena, music hall, boxing gym etc. Decor and colours are more funky that at your average midprice hotel. Service is very friendly and the rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Location is close to center in a part of the city that has become very fashionable among students, artists and other hip crowd.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jaakko S,
How glad we are about your kind review. Thank you for sharing your experience and especially for describing our background and identity as a Story Hotel in just a great way. Hope to meet you often as our guest during your trips to Helsinki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A brilliant funky hotel, right near the convention centre. Quirky rooms, great staff and reallllly good breakfast spread. The bar is great and was certainly busy during my stay. A little hike into town, or two stops on the metro, or a quick tram ride

Room Tip: I had a rooom on the first floor at the front of the building which got a lot of noise and light fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear aussietripper_8,
Thank you so much for your friendly review. Your words "brilliant funky hotel" delights us so much. You are right, we are under one roof with the Helsinki Congress Paasitorni, and different kinds of interesting conferences brings us guests from all over the world. Hope to meet you also soon again at Scandic Paasi. Our best regards to you to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.