We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Save Saved
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Leiden, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Scandic Paasi is in a quiet but central location and is your perfect city hotel. At less than 100e in central Helsinki I find it a very good deal! It is not smack in the middle of the center but you can walk to the central railway station in about 25 minutes and there is a metro station around the corner. Also the nightlife district is very close so it is an extremely good spot for those wishing to go out without having to take a taxi back.

The rooms, like in other city hotels, are not huge but spacious enough and the bathroom was actually quite big with a very nice rain shower. Comfy beds, a breakfast buffet that caters to all needs and a fitness studio, oh and did I mention that they rent bikes?

All in all a great choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear rutgerpieko,
Thank you for choosing Scandic Paasi, and how splendid that you found your stay as a very good deal. Sounds wonderful and delights us a lot. As a one-year-old hotel we enjoyed reading, how nicely you described your thoughts about our location and transport connections. You are so welcome to visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    77
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
95
21
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I love hotels with character and found this one following reviews on this. Modern but with a lot of character built around a circus theme, although I didn't quite see the circus theme, it was just very groovy and stylish. The ladies on the reception gave us a really warm reception and were very pleasant. We borrowed the hotels bicycles (complimentary) and had a great ride around the city. We then asked the reception for a recommendation on where to eat, again, we wanted something hip and fun. The young lady told us about Cafe Talo, only a few minutes away by foot. It was perfect...really trendy! Completely recommend this hotel. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Alistairlm,
We had a huge joy reading your review, thank you! What a pleasure to hear that you two enjoyed your stay and found Paasi as well as Cafe talo trendy with a lot of character. We started already to dream, that hopefully one day we could welcome you again to Paasi and Helsinki. Our very best regards to you to Spain, Marbella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Rooms are nice, customer service is very good. We got a room with sauna+balcony instead of a typical room we ordered. People are very nice and helpful. Defenetly ready to come here again!

Breakfast was best ever!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear prkl08,
Thank you, your positive comment about visiting us again delights us greatly. And you should see happy faces of our breakfast team. They are so motivated by the last sentence of your kind review. Warmly welcome again to Scandic Paasi. Hope to see you soon as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed two nights in this quirky hotel early August. Arrived 7.30am and were shown straight to our 2nd floor room. Much appreciated after a long flight from Brisbane. Room was quiet, comfy beds, wi-fi, good shower. Reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Buffet breakfast was great and we particularly liked the way of choosing juice via iPad - quite a novelty. Had dinner a couple of times in adjoining restaurant at rear. Very good.

Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Patti040,
Thank you a lot for your friendly descripition of your stay at Scandic Paasi. So lovely to hear that you enjoyed our services and thank you so much for your positive recommendation. It would be wonderful to meet you some day again, and to be able to welcome you to Helsinki all the way from Brisbane. Our best regards to you to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel underwent recently a major renovation and is now a Story Hotel, meaning that it's been designed around the colourful history of the area: circus arena, music hall, boxing gym etc. Decor and colours are more funky that at your average midprice hotel. Service is very friendly and the rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Location is close to center in a part of the city that has become very fashionable among students, artists and other hip crowd.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jaakko S,
How glad we are about your kind review. Thank you for sharing your experience and especially for describing our background and identity as a Story Hotel in just a great way. Hope to meet you often as our guest during your trips to Helsinki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A brilliant funky hotel, right near the convention centre. Quirky rooms, great staff and reallllly good breakfast spread. The bar is great and was certainly busy during my stay. A little hike into town, or two stops on the metro, or a quick tram ride

Room Tip: I had a rooom on the first floor at the front of the building which got a lot of noise and light fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear aussietripper_8,
Thank you so much for your friendly review. Your words "brilliant funky hotel" delights us so much. You are right, we are under one roof with the Helsinki Congress Paasitorni, and different kinds of interesting conferences brings us guests from all over the world. Hope to meet you also soon again at Scandic Paasi. Our best regards to you to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked our 3-night stay at Scandic Paasi through an online travel agency (OTA, booking.com). We chose for a superior double room, since after roughing it up during our trip through Finland, we decided we had deserved a little more comfort for the final days of our trip in Helsinki.

Upon booking, we added a request for a room on a high floor on the dedicated field of the OTA website. A few days before arrival, we contacted the hotel directly, explaining we loved bright daylight and a nice view and thus repeated our request for a room on a higher floor. We were replied that the room type we booked (superior double) were only located on the 1st and 2nd floors. At check-in, I reiterated my request and asked to be given a room on the 2nd floor. I was told that the 2nd floor was full and could only be given a room on the 1st floor. Although I have absolutely no way to prove this, I strongly suspect this was a lie, as the receptionist did not even bother to check her computer before answering (knows the occupancy of every floor of the hotel by heart?) and then quickly suggested an upgrade for an extra charge, which I did not consider.

And so we ended up on the lowest floor of the hotel, in what must be one of its darkest rooms, in a corner with a direct view to a near wall (no privacy either, as anyone walking through the rather busy inner courtyard looks directly into your room). Remember our request for bright daylight, good views and high floor? We are seasoned travellers and have some notions about hospitality management: we are aware that some hotels (not all) allocate certain designated rooms to OTA's and that customers booking through such a third-party website do not have free choice of the room and we accept this completely, after all you get what you pay for. Accordingly, if this was the case at Scandic Paasi, I would have greatly appreciated being simply told so, rather than being served an apparent lie about the second floor being full etc. I would have understood and have accepted this as the usual course of business. If there is no such policy in place at Scandic Paasi, it simply means our room request was ignored completely and I do not regard this as good service.

This is very unfortunate as our experience was otherwise good. The hotel seems to be located in an uncharming 70-ish looking building (as seen from the street), lated extended and fully renovated: the more modern part at the back has a very interesting design, as do all indoor areas and rooms. Our room, if you ignore the no-daylight, no-view, no-privacy problem, was very nice, spacious, beautifully designed, modern and comfortable. A few very clever ideas, such as separate bathroom/toilet which come handy during the morning "rush hour" and a dim night-lamp in the toilet which keeps shining throughout the night, even with all lights turned off: very convenient should you need to find your way to the toilet during the night without having to wake your partner by turning the lights on.

A few design flaws as well, no drawing to store your stuff, oddly designed shower-in-bathtub which result in you flooding half the bathroom when showering, no matter how careful you are (the shower wall is simply too short, add an extra 50 cm and you're good), Wi-Fi inexplicably not working when sitting on the bed etc.

Cleaning was a bit under par for such an establishment, no major problem but a glass that was clearly dirty when we checked-in and remained dirty for two days, although we clearly left in on a table to signal it should be changed.

Extensive and generally tasty breakfast, convienent free-to-use computer and printer (ideal for printing boarding passes etc.) and generally very friendly staff. I can only give three points to service due to the room request problem.

Location is convenient, within reasonable walking distance to most attractions and a litteraly next to Hakaniemi square, where metro, tram and buses (including to the airport) are frequent.

All in all, let's be honest: the Scandic Paasi is generally a good hotel. In our case however, we keep a bitter aftertaste due to our room request being ignored (or being lied to).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear DrFly,

How very sad we are at Scandic Paasi to read about you feelings, and especially about your suspicion of us telling you lies. So sad that you feel like it. We are very sorry about it. We truly hope we could help you and clarify situation for you with our reply as follows:

Thank you for sharing just a nice pictures of your superior double room. It is true, we have only six (6) of them at Paasi. Three of them are located on the first floor (103, 105, 107) and other three on the second floor (203, 205, 207). Those rooms are very popular among our regular guests and therefore we need to know by heart booking situation of them daily. Building, were these six rooms are located, is a uniq and brand new. It's shape is round and some guests have described it friendly with words "building is like a birthday cake", while there are less hotel rooms on the top floors.

It is quite surprising for our guests to hear, how much planning and preparation work we do before our dear guests arrives to our hotel. We study wishes and do our best in order to satisfy and exceed the desires. Therefore you were also offered to upgrade your room according your special wishes. Upgrade from superior room to superior extra room on the top floor. We always do that if possible. Before final upgrade decission making in check-in, you are able to go and see the alternative room if wanted.

Our objective was to serve you as a caring, casual and creative way at Scandic Paasi. We are so sorry we did not manage to deliver that feeling to you. Our best and sincere regards to you to Lausanne Switzerland. We truly hope to have you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.