We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, new hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Save Saved
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Oulu, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stylish, new hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stylish boutique kind of hotel with a smart location. Next to the hotel you'll find subway, bus (to the airport,too) and tram.

Our room had a balcony + separated toilet and bath. We had a crib for our son and even potty, which was a very nice surprise! The room wasn't roomy, but it was very nice - the only thing was that it was a bit "windy" (don't know the correct term) inside. We tried to adjust the air conditioning, didn't manage, but we weren't bothered that much so we didn't call the reception. Would anyway highly recommend the hotel - even in the winter time. ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Katariina M,
How wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for your friendly recommendation. We apologize truly for too effective aircondition and we agree, Siltasaari area looks unique during every four seasons of the year. Your family should see what Siltasaari has to offer now, during beatiful summer time. Hope to see you soon again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    91
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
123
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Located a 30 second walk from the 615 Bus from the airport. Was greeted by professional staff at the front desk for a speedy check in. We got a room facing the street with a boxing theme, It was great and very quiet. Great location, short walk or subway ride downtown. Stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the whole time. Several good pubs (try SAVEL) in the area, frequented by locals and after work crowd. Many reviews mention the breakfast. I can not describe how amazing it really is, from selection to quality of food. I will stay here again, just for the breakfast. (the rest of the hotel was great as well) The rest of the amenities, lobby/decor and bar are top notch as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Brian500,
Thank you so much for your positive review. Especially we love the title of your writing "relax and enjoy". It is a beautiful welcoming greeting, which we would like to deliver to each and every guest of Scandic Paasi when checking in. Our objetive is to give you the luxury of being yourself and just feeling great. Warmly welcome again. Our best regards to you to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staff is very helpful and welcoming.
Services are of high quality:
- quiet bedroom, and fun decor
- nice lobbies
- very good breakfast
- very good internet facility
it is not far from the centre (10/15 minutes walk or 2 metro stops).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Yves-bxl,
Your review gave us, as a new a hotel, a positive confidence. You appreciate and mentioned those five areas which we are committed to cherish at Paasi. Thank you for sharing and emphasizing those things for us. Hope to meet you soon again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
454 reviews 454 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with my wife,. Nice personal room in 6th floor with lovely balcony(distant sea views) and sauna(!) and all that about 120€/night(and you get 6€-20€/night restaurant vouchers too, if you are loyal customer). Interior in room and in whole hotel is millions miles away from that normal boring stuff you usually find in big hotel chains, for example we had heart shaped pillows as decoration and boxing ball in our room :) Front desk was maybe the best I've ever seen, especially Ella(if I'm correct). When we left to shopping, she went to put more coins to parking meter outside! And whatever we needed, she was right there to help. Breakfast room was real nice too, you get juices by using IPad etc. It really was positive surprise and we both absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ville S,
Your friendly comments brought sun shine to our hearts, especially for our Ella. Thank you! That is our objective - to be right there for you when ever you need. How lovely to hear that you and your wife liked your room. Your nice pictures reveal that you stayed in our Twin superior extra room and name of the interior design was "leisure". And how delighted we are that you two have joined our "Scandic Friends" being our loyal customers. We are really looking forward to meet you soon again, so warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, comfortable and nicely decorated rooms. It's one of Scandic's "story"-hotels, so it's something different from the usual chain hotel blandness. Rooms have a theme, either from 20's, 50's, or 2010's.

I got a nice room with a darkish 2010's theme in the modern part of the hotel, which was very nice and quiet. A big balcony to the inner yard, high rooms (over three metres), comfortable beds, nice bathroom with heated floors.

Hotel location is excellent, very close to the metro station, and withing walking distance of the city centre (10-15 minutes). Only minus would be the lack of own parking places or garages. You have to use the regular street parking, which is not free from Monday to Friday between 9-21 and Saturdays 9-18 in the vicinity of the hotel. And maximum allowed parking duration during the day is four hours, so don't plan on leaving the car there for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ilari,
Your so positive review summaries in a nice way Paasi's identity and also it's strentghts. Thank you so much for describing your experience and sharing pictures.You are right, parking is our important development area. We have now found very good co-operation with two parking halls close to Paasi; departments store (on the other side of our park) and Jaffa Station under Hakaniemi Square (150 metres from our main door). Both ask for hour based fee for overnight parking. Best and happy summer regards from our team to you in Germany, hope to see you soon again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, HaDarom, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great hotel, super friendly staff. Super comfortable rooms - interesting design, but really nice to be there. Location couldn't be better - almost in the center of the city, there is a market nearby, and lost of public transportation in 1 minute of walking - buses, trams, and metro. Yet, it's so quite in the hotel, since it's not on the main street, but in the small park. Highly recommended. There's only one lack - no spa.

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony are the best. No view, but it faces really quite inner yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Semyon M,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience as our guest. How wonderful to hear that your trip all the way from Israel was pleasant. The title of your review inspires our team highly, thank you for that. Hopefully we can meet you soon again at Scandic Paasi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spoilled yourselves for once and booked a room at this funky new hotel in the heart of Helsinki´s up and coming trendy area. Hotel has rooms in three different eras of history - 20´s, 50´s and 2010´s. We loved our room in the modern 2010 part of the building. We had a large balcony facing the inner jugend patio. I don´t know if we were aloud but I bought champagne to the room and we watched USA-Finland game in telly. Loved, loved loved this hotel and the reception staff. I will deffinitely come back! xoxo

Room Tip: 2010 design queen size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear maimai, all team members of Scandic Paasi's reception are sending their love back, and are so excited about your positive experience. We are looking forward to meet you two soon again as our guests! And thank you for sharing this super friendly review! Please take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.