We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and pleasant service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very warm and pleasant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staff is very helpful and welcoming.
Services are of high quality:
- quiet bedroom, and fun decor
- nice lobbies
- very good breakfast
- very good internet facility
it is not far from the centre (10/15 minutes walk or 2 metro stops).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Yves-bxl,
Your review gave us, as a new a hotel, a positive confidence. You appreciate and mentioned those five areas which we are committed to cherish at Paasi. Thank you for sharing and emphasizing those things for us. Hope to meet you soon again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    124
    26
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
163
28
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with my wife,. Nice personal room in 6th floor with lovely balcony(distant sea views) and sauna(!) and all that about 120€/night(and you get 6€-20€/night restaurant vouchers too, if you are loyal customer). Interior in room and in whole hotel is millions miles away from that normal boring stuff you usually find in big hotel chains, for example we had heart shaped pillows as decoration and boxing ball in our room :) Front desk was maybe the best I've ever seen, especially Ella(if I'm correct). When we left to shopping, she went to put more coins to parking meter outside! And whatever we needed, she was right there to help. Breakfast room was real nice too, you get juices by using IPad etc. It really was positive surprise and we both absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Ville S,
Your friendly comments brought sun shine to our hearts, especially for our Ella. Thank you! That is our objective - to be right there for you when ever you need. How lovely to hear that you and your wife liked your room. Your nice pictures reveal that you stayed in our Twin superior extra room and name of the interior design was "leisure". And how delighted we are that you two have joined our "Scandic Friends" being our loyal customers. We are really looking forward to meet you soon again, so warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great hotel, friendly staff, comfortable and nicely decorated rooms. It's one of Scandic's "story"-hotels, so it's something different from the usual chain hotel blandness. Rooms have a theme, either from 20's, 50's, or 2010's.

I got a nice room with a darkish 2010's theme in the modern part of the hotel, which was very nice and quiet. A big balcony to the inner yard, high rooms (over three metres), comfortable beds, nice bathroom with heated floors.

Hotel location is excellent, very close to the metro station, and withing walking distance of the city centre (10-15 minutes). Only minus would be the lack of own parking places or garages. You have to use the regular street parking, which is not free from Monday to Friday between 9-21 and Saturdays 9-18 in the vicinity of the hotel. And maximum allowed parking duration during the day is four hours, so don't plan on leaving the car there for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ilari,
Your so positive review summaries in a nice way Paasi's identity and also it's strentghts. Thank you so much for describing your experience and sharing pictures.You are right, parking is our important development area. We have now found very good co-operation with two parking halls close to Paasi; departments store (on the other side of our park) and Jaffa Station under Hakaniemi Square (150 metres from our main door). Both ask for hour based fee for overnight parking. Best and happy summer regards from our team to you in Germany, hope to see you soon again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, HaDarom, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great hotel, super friendly staff. Super comfortable rooms - interesting design, but really nice to be there. Location couldn't be better - almost in the center of the city, there is a market nearby, and lost of public transportation in 1 minute of walking - buses, trams, and metro. Yet, it's so quite in the hotel, since it's not on the main street, but in the small park. Highly recommended. There's only one lack - no spa.

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony are the best. No view, but it faces really quite inner yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Semyon M,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience as our guest. How wonderful to hear that your trip all the way from Israel was pleasant. The title of your review inspires our team highly, thank you for that. Hopefully we can meet you soon again at Scandic Paasi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spoilled yourselves for once and booked a room at this funky new hotel in the heart of Helsinki´s up and coming trendy area. Hotel has rooms in three different eras of history - 20´s, 50´s and 2010´s. We loved our room in the modern 2010 part of the building. We had a large balcony facing the inner jugend patio. I don´t know if we were aloud but I bought champagne to the room and we watched USA-Finland game in telly. Loved, loved loved this hotel and the reception staff. I will deffinitely come back! xoxo

Room Tip: 2010 design queen size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear maimai, all team members of Scandic Paasi's reception are sending their love back, and are so excited about your positive experience. We are looking forward to meet you two soon again as our guests! And thank you for sharing this super friendly review! Please take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nove Zamky, Slovakia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have chosen staying at Scandic Paasi after reading many great reviews. And I must say I do not regret this choice. It is a very nice hotel with outstanding design and excellent service. Check in/out went extremely fast. The girls at the front desk were very helpful and always smiling. Our superior room was very comfortable. I don´t know about other room types but this one was large enough. It had a nice bathroom, too. The breakfast was great, a wide range of foods to choose from.
We also tried one of the hotel restaurants. The food was nice enough although we had higher expectations. All in all I do recommend Scandic Paasi :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the superior rooms. It was spacious enough for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear PetraB8, our best regards to you. And thank you so much for sharing your review and three very good pictures of the room, where you stayed as our guest. Room category was "superior extra" and we have that in three different interior design. The one you had is called "spectacular". We are so glad to hear that you felt it spacious enough and comportable. Hope to have you as our guest soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Scandic Paasi for one night on a weekend party trip to Helsinki and were very pleasantly surprised. The design, location and service are all top-notch.

I wanted to surprise my sister who's an interior designer and chose the hotel specifically because of its design. From the lobby to the rooms everything is aesthetically pleasing and also functional. Our room was in the modern wing and we had a big balcony overlooking the courtyard, a nice surprise. The breakfast room was also spacious and had plenty of room to move around and wasn't too crowded even on a Sunday morning.

The location of the hotel is in a part of Helsinki I don't usually frequent but was actually very convenient. There's a big department store right next door and the trams leave only a 100m away. There are also some really nice restaurants close-by, Finnish restaurant Sävel for example serves delicious food.

The service was super friendly from the start. Check in was smooth and made us feel welcome.

All in all it's one of the best hotel experiences I've had and will recommend this hotel to all my friends from now on. It's a true Helsinki gem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear theredone, thank you so much for letting us to be part of your surprise for your sister. Your review and experience inspired us strongly, and made us realise we should bring out more our weekend "celebration package", which was created just for that kind of moments you and your sister had. How happy we are that you enjoyed your stay. And your last comment about true Helsinki gem makes us humbly grateful. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.