We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Save Saved
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Nove Zamky, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have chosen staying at Scandic Paasi after reading many great reviews. And I must say I do not regret this choice. It is a very nice hotel with outstanding design and excellent service. Check in/out went extremely fast. The girls at the front desk were very helpful and always smiling. Our superior room was very comfortable. I don´t know about other room types but this one was large enough. It had a nice bathroom, too. The breakfast was great, a wide range of foods to choose from.
We also tried one of the hotel restaurants. The food was nice enough although we had higher expectations. All in all I do recommend Scandic Paasi :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the superior rooms. It was spacious enough for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear PetraB8, our best regards to you. And thank you so much for sharing your review and three very good pictures of the room, where you stayed as our guest. Room category was "superior extra" and we have that in three different interior design. The one you had is called "spectacular". We are so glad to hear that you felt it spacious enough and comportable. Hope to have you as our guest soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    91
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
124
22
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Scandic Paasi for one night on a weekend party trip to Helsinki and were very pleasantly surprised. The design, location and service are all top-notch.

I wanted to surprise my sister who's an interior designer and chose the hotel specifically because of its design. From the lobby to the rooms everything is aesthetically pleasing and also functional. Our room was in the modern wing and we had a big balcony overlooking the courtyard, a nice surprise. The breakfast room was also spacious and had plenty of room to move around and wasn't too crowded even on a Sunday morning.

The location of the hotel is in a part of Helsinki I don't usually frequent but was actually very convenient. There's a big department store right next door and the trams leave only a 100m away. There are also some really nice restaurants close-by, Finnish restaurant Sävel for example serves delicious food.

The service was super friendly from the start. Check in was smooth and made us feel welcome.

All in all it's one of the best hotel experiences I've had and will recommend this hotel to all my friends from now on. It's a true Helsinki gem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear theredone, thank you so much for letting us to be part of your surprise for your sister. Your review and experience inspired us strongly, and made us realise we should bring out more our weekend "celebration package", which was created just for that kind of moments you and your sister had. How happy we are that you enjoyed your stay. And your last comment about true Helsinki gem makes us humbly grateful. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in three hotels in Helsinki over the course of a single week in May – the Scandic Paasi, the Hilton Strand and Hotel Haven so this is a non-scientific comparative review. All were very pleasant, had good service and wifi.

Overall impression: 1. Haven Hotel 2. Hilton Strand 3. Scandic Paasi
About the Scandic Paasi: Modern lobby, nice system of 6 euro vouchers per day that you can use for the restaurants, café and shop. Lovely staff, very helpful. Best modern lobby area. Chic. I also liked the fact there was a children’s play room with an animator (I think) downstairs near the breakfast area.

Best Facilities: 1. Hilton Strand 2. Scandic Paasi 3. Haven Hotel
About the Scandic Paasi: Felt smaller than the Hilton Strand but with good facilities.

Breakfast: 1. Haven Hotel 2. Scandic Paasi 3. Hilton Strand
About the Scandic Paasi: Big basement room with excellent selection. Largest selection of breakfast items. Could have more fruit and more gourmet tea and coffee. Good gluten-free provision.

Rooms: 1. Haven Hotel (nicest) 2. Hilton Strand (biggest) 3. Scandic Paasi
About the Scandic Paasi: This is where I was most disappointed. My room was tiny – less than half the size of the Hilton Strand and Hotel Haven. The public areas of this hotel were really nice but the room size was a let-down: big enough only for a bed. There was nowhere to open my suitcase or unpack – I kept tripping over it and had to close it to get to the bathroom. There were a few hangers instead of a wardrobe. For a design hotel, I found the room lighting extremely poorly designed with cold energy-saving bulbs without covers giving the room a medical feel and hurting my eyes. Really poor lighting design. The room was also naturally very dark (so had to switch on lights in the daytime) and overlooked a big rotating McDonalds M.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear discovering_the_new,
Thank you, we enjoyed a lot reading your comparative review and feel honored to be analysed together with Haven and Hilton Strand. Both hotels are highly respected by our team of Scandic Paasi. It is really unfortunate that your room this time was too tiny for you. We are so sorry about it. We hope to see you again at Paasi and be able to introduce you to our other room alternatives. We have different room sizes and categories and would like to pick the right one for you. A room that meets better your staying purpose and needs. Please let us help you with that. Warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The boring facade of this property is misleading: inside lies a hotel with a truly cool design and comfortable, clean rooms. It all seems to have recently refurbished. Beds were very comfortable although I would recommend to throw out the uncomfortable synthetic pillows, which lower the sleep quality rating.. The boxing-ball hanging from the roof in my room was a fun item, if you want to burn some energy!

Adjacent are two restaurants, one of which is more posh than the other. I tried the more casual place and had a typical hotel-style burger, which was very good although the fries were a bit soggy.

All in all this hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Morris2002, your recommendation delights us so much, thank you! You are right, we are recently refurbished. We opened Scandic Paasi 10 months ago, in August 2012. Great to hear that you liked Paasi's design. We have three different room interior designs and this time you stayed in style "leisure" with a fun boxing detail. For your next visit we would like to introduce you to styles "spectacular" or "concious" to experience. You might enjoy their details also. We hope to be able to welcome you soon again to Scandic Paasi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel I stayed in Helsinki, the design of the rooms are very interesting and so is the history of the building.Nice area, very close to a beautiful pond where you can walk digest or take bycicle ride, the hotel offers it free of charge.I found the staff at the reception well and above standards of hospitality, they made me feel very welcome. Very clean room, good quality of amenities. The only small negative is breakfast restaurant without window, its on -1 floor, but at the end of the day breKfast is a quick meal. The food at breakfast is good, their edge is gluten free and organic food. Well done Scandic Paasi!! I'll come back for sure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear P T, Thank you so much for your positive review. How glad we are to hear that you enjoyed your stay as our guest, and you will come back. We are looking forward to that. You are so welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orimattila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Spent a night at Paasi with kids over 1st of May (vappu) celebrations. We requated a room with a bath tub as the kids love it. At arrival we were greeted with exceptional friendliness by the staff. Nothing like we've ever experienced in a chain hotel in Finland. The room was spectacular and the location superb. Big thumbs up for the service and the staff in this hotel, will definitely recommend to anyone and visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Saaruli, team of Scandic Paasi sends you and your family their best and cheerful regards and wish to see you soon again as our guest. Wonderful to hear that your cute kids enjoyed bath tub, it offers a lot of joy. Thank you for sharing pictures of your stay. Room category was "family superior plus" and it offers more space and also little kitchenette, which might be often valuable when travelling with small children. We hope to see you again in summer time, when Korkeasaari Zoo and Linnanmäki amusement park are open. From the other side of street you can take a ferry to Korkeasaari Zoo and tram 3B goes directly to Linnanmäki, both in 10 minutes. So warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed two months ago for the first time. We found an excellent atmosphere, excellent and very friendly stuff. The Hotel is located at the center of the city, room was big, clean and efficient. Enyjoyed every minute during my stay.Very reasonable price! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Ask the stuff and for sure get the best recommendation appropriate for you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear livnaty, our best regards to you to Israel. We also enjoyed every minute of your stay. Hope to see you soon again. And thank you for sharing your pictures from our Scandic Paasi. All the best to you and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.