We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-designed hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Paasi

Save Saved
You added Scandic Paasi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Paasi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“A well-designed hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is very trendy and new. Everything is just amazing! We were surprised with I-pad being used in the restaurant to choose the type of a drink. So cool! Well-desighned, seems like it's one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at.
Breakfast was very nice, with lots of thing to choose. They even offered a watermelon in the beginning of February! :)
Girls at the reception are great, very welcome and enthusiastic.

Just two recommendations:
1. Might be too far from the centre for those who prefer to leave in a heart of the city. About 15min walk to the center.
2. I was disappointed with a hair conditioner absence as well as travel kit with cotton swabs to take make-up off.

Anyway, I am sure we will come back again very soon :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mariia_Bill,
Thank you so much for your kind and positive describtion of your visit. We are happy to hear that you noticed and liked our newest "family member", our new iPad juice machine at the breakfast restaurant. It is a pilot version and under enthusiastic development in order to serve you even more surprising way this year. So wonderful to hear that we will meet you soon again. I'm sure we can offer hair conditioner you then. We are working in close co-operation with Face Stockholm in order to offer their products in our rooms with wider selection. Thank you so much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    91
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
124
22
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel! All was pleasant! Rooms very colourful and interesting! The breakfast is various and very tasty! The staff very attentive!It is a little inconvenient, that the Hotel does not have own zone for parking, but we perfectly have found a parking near it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear YuliaAndr,
How wonderful to hear that you enjoyd your stay. We wish that we could be your "home hotel" during all your future trips to Finland and Helsinki. Please remember we are here for you. Hope to see your family soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is almost perfect. There is nothing more to expect for the service. Decoration is at the same time special and functional. The only minus you can find is that your 3G mobile network is not working really well.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Olax,
Thank you so much for your kind words about Paasi. You are right, there are some parts at our hotel, where 3G mobile network is not working on a proper way. Two big operators are making every effort to solve this problem for us because we want to be, not almost, but just perfect on your eyes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Excellent new hotel with good and sincere service, modern and on other hand different type of rooms (boxing and circus themes around the hotel) with good restaurants around with reasonable capital prices. I strongly recommend this hotel.

We stayed in the 1950's wings with a boxing/sports theme. A room almost with only black walls, sounds horrible but I liked it! Clean and new. We went to eat to the restaurant beside called Juttutupa and we liked it a lot! You may need to reserve a table at least on weekends. You can get nice -20% discounts on food during weekends with Scandic member card (free card). The staff of the hotel (and restaurant) are very nice.

I strongly recommend this hotel and I do consider myself as quite a demanding customer but this time this hotel really surprised me! Last summer I stayed with a similar kind of "early reservation" price in Hilton Malmö and I was very disappointed for many reasons. Now the same price in Scandic Paasi and positively suprised. Thank you Scandic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Hmek,
We appreciate highly your recommendation. Thank you SO much! Best regards from the team of Paasi. We look forward to welcoming you soon again to Scandic Paasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice 'new' hotel. It's actually just renovated old hotel. It's old side rooms are excelent.
Nicely located in downtown, but still quiet. Close to the small park. There is no public sauna in the building. Easy conection to a near by restaurant Juttutupa. You get a voutcher which can be used in Juttutupa or in the lobby bar.

Room Tip: Ask room from the old side, facing the park. No public sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Suomi-boy,
Thank you so much for your nice words and comments about Scandic Paasi. We are happy to hear that you in particalar liked room in 1920's building. Interior design in those rooms are called "spectacular" and there are three different room categories to choose from; superior extra, superior plus and family superior plus. Some of those rooms has own sauna. Hope to meet you soon again at Paasi. Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Äänekoski
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent hotel with reasonable prices, nice restourants with good food and interior and atmosphere. The building is an old factory and in the neighbourhood building, in fact the same big house, there is a famous and fabulous Finnish stone architecture and history of labour movement.

Room Tip: You caqn choose between early years 1900-, 1950- or 2000- style room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Pentha,
You helped us and gave an important tip to choose a room from Scandic Paasi's three different room style alternatives, thank you so much for sharing that information and experience. Style's are called "spectacular", "leisure" and "consious" and their interior design is based on colorful stories and personalities from the past of Siltasaari area. We hope to have you many times as our guest and hear after experiencing them all, which style is your favourite one. Warmly welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rooms by themes - pick yours from 1920, 1930..... :)
Nice decoration details. Inspired, I even ordered one of those service/computer tables home on the internet! This hotel is within easy reach from the center/railwaystation by tramway7B or metro "Hakaniemi" in a quiet corner of the town. In summertime it's worth your while to have breakfast at the Hakaniemi market place with the locals :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krista S, General Manager at Scandic Paasi, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Ella Traveller,
How extremely happy we got to hear that you got inspired at Scandic Paasi, since that it is one of our main objective; to inspire our guests and serve them in a caring, casual and creative way. Thank you for giving us extra energy. And you are so right about Hakaniemi market place. It has a unique and charming atmosphere, definitely worth experiencing, especially during summer time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Paasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Paasi

Address: Paasivuorenkatu 5 B, Helsinki 00530, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Paasi 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Scandic Paasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Paasi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.