We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salutorget

Salutorget
Pohjoisesplanadi 15, Helsinki, Finland
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 1,010 Restaurants in Helsinki
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“I loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We wandered into this place, looking for dinner our first night in Helsinki. A very friendly server showed us to a corner table, where we rearranged the seats so we sat at the corner rather than facing each other. I decided to try the reindeer, which was excellent. We had very good wine and a fantastic lemon dessert. Our service was not only prompt, but very helpful and friendly. She recommended their partner restaurant, Strindberg, which we tried the next night. But I really wanted to come back here, a very unusual thing for me to do, and we returned on our third night in Helsinki. Our server remembered us and showed us to "our" table. This time I had herring prepared three ways (she helped me choose three out of the possible six), with boiled potatoes, and it was wonderful. She said this is a typical Finnish summer dish. We asked about the building, which is very stately. The dining room has large columns, not at all bistro style. We had determined that it must have been a bank, since the restrooms are behind a vault door, and she confirmed that it had been a state bank, where her family had actually banked. It has been a restaurant for three years.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    68
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just ate at Salutorget while in Helsinki for a day. Right on main strip street, its a charming cafe with great salads and sandwiches. We sat outside on a sunny day but there is a large restaurant inside and a bakery with heavely looking pasteries. Very pricey.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good food, patchy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This "scandinavian bistro" is in a large, elegant, old, very high ceiling-ed room - quite unlike a normal "bistro" but with a comfortable atmosphere.
The cost was in line with the generally high restaurant prices in Helsinki. The dishes were good, well presented with fresh-tasting ingredients.
It was let down by the long wait to order and then between courses. There appeared to be plenty of waiting staff, who were friendly when they remembered us, but somewhat haphazard in their approach.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

At the market square. Modern kitchen with good service. Try their Sunday brunch, it is light and the food is well prepared.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This Scandinavian bistro is well worth a visit with its tall pillars and very elegant bar. The food is good, though a bit expensive. The best thing is atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salutorget also viewed

Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Salutorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salutorget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.