We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day trip in helsinki/hartwall arena” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Kapyla

Save Saved
You added Park Hotel Kapyla to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel Kapyla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjolankatu 38, Helsinki 00600, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Salo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One day trip in helsinki/hartwall arena”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Location good for using tram 1 or 1A and bus 69 to city. Sleeping very easy,because silence area.Rooms little old-fashion, breakfast ok and peaceful, no hurry people arround! Ask room out of lift tunel! Good service and helpfull reception staff..

Room Tip: Rooms from inner side or upper restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bad service, out-dated rooms. Although the hotel calls it as a park-hotel, it is situated near very noisy street. The rooms are surely updated in 1980's, but nothing has done after that. Public transportation is also poor. Tram 1 and 1A operate only at workdays and the bus to city takes almost abt 30 mins to city. Taxi costs about 20 € from the city and 40 € from airport.

I see no reason to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlunkhofen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is half way between the airport and Helsinki, easy to find. Although we arrived at midnight we were well received and even provided with an extension power cable on request. Breakfast offerings are somewhat limited but adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in January... first 2 nights as a twin room, last 2 nights as a quad room
Main reason for choosing this hotel was the location that we required, which was fine.
I do not think this hotel should be classed as a 4 star.. maybe a 3 star..
The reception area is nicer than the rooms
Day time reception staff were very helpful, however the evening staff were less than!
Breakfast was provided with our room, with some foods re-used for the next day...
To be honest, the rate was overpriced for what you receive.
When the room was converted into a quad room for the last 2 nights it was very tight (as was the bathroom)
When I spoke to the evening reception staff, they said that this was the biggest room, and as the room was right next to the lift you could hear all sorts of noise (people shouting etc)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

When i arrived, no body help me with luggage, reaced the room i found a bathroom more older than me (more than 32 years old) very unconfortable. small beds, nothing except alchool in the frigo bar. horrible night service expecially for who would like to go outside to smoke a cigarette.
you can find better place to sleep also cheaper and better positioned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 6 nights here during August 12 and had a pleasant and comfortable stay. The room was fine and clean, and there was a lift to our floor. The breakfast was excellent each morning with lots to choose from and everything was kept fresh and topped up. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and spoke good English. We didn't eat there in the evening so can't comment on the restaurant. The hotel is well placed for public transport to the city centre with a tram stop opposite and bus stop about 100 yards down the road, takes about 20 mins to the city centre and very regular. Would recommend buying a bus/tram ticket for the length of your stay, the hotel can supply these.
The local area is lovely, situated in the area of Kapyla famous for its wooden houses and is located on a beautiful tree lined avenue. There is a park across the road and the design district of Arabia is about 20 minutes walk, where there are some lovely homeware shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at Park Hotel for four nights while visiting the World Championships of Icehockey. I chose this hotel since it was pretty close to Hartwall Arena and the price was ok for a four star hotel. It all started upon arrival after I checked in and was heading towards my room. I discovered there was no elevator and I got no help to carry my heavy suitcase up the stairs.The room was ok but far from four star standard and the bed was just terribly soft. Since there is absolutely nothing around the hotel other than a run down supermarket I decided to have dinner in the hotell restaurant. Waitress couldnt almost speak a word english which turned out to be a problem when she tried to translate the finnish menu. When I got the food I ordered I sent it back right away cause it was not eatable. And this happend to me twice during the stay. Simply Horrible! To sum it up the staff was not serviceminded, food was horrible and overpriced, room was kind of shabby.
If I would have to try and find something positive to say about this place would be that the best lloking part of the hotel is the main reception area and there was a small gym in the basement if you feel like working out a little..Other than that a total disappointment and I would rate as a maximun 2 star hotel.

Mrs K

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel Kapyla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Kapyla

Address: Pohjolankatu 38, Helsinki 00600, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Kapyla 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Hotel Kapyla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Kapyla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;