We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Kapyla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel Kapyla to your Saves list
Park Hotel Kapyla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pohjolankatu 38, Helsinki 00600, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in January... first 2 nights as a twin room, last 2 nights as a quad room
Main reason for choosing this hotel was the location that we required, which was fine.
I do not think this hotel should be classed as a 4 star.. maybe a 3 star..
The reception area is nicer than the rooms
Day time reception staff were very helpful, however the evening staff were less than!
Breakfast was provided with our room, with some foods re-used for the next day...
To be honest, the rate was overpriced for what you receive.
When the room was converted into a quad room for the last 2 nights it was very tight (as was the bathroom)
When I spoke to the evening reception staff, they said that this was the biggest room, and as the room was right next to the lift you could hear all sorts of noise (people shouting etc)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
8
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

When i arrived, no body help me with luggage, reaced the room i found a bathroom more older than me (more than 32 years old) very unconfortable. small beds, nothing except alchool in the frigo bar. horrible night service expecially for who would like to go outside to smoke a cigarette.
you can find better place to sleep also cheaper and better positioned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 6 nights here during August 12 and had a pleasant and comfortable stay. The room was fine and clean, and there was a lift to our floor. The breakfast was excellent each morning with lots to choose from and everything was kept fresh and topped up. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and spoke good English. We didn't eat there in the evening so can't comment on the restaurant. The hotel is well placed for public transport to the city centre with a tram stop opposite and bus stop about 100 yards down the road, takes about 20 mins to the city centre and very regular. Would recommend buying a bus/tram ticket for the length of your stay, the hotel can supply these.
The local area is lovely, situated in the area of Kapyla famous for its wooden houses and is located on a beautiful tree lined avenue. There is a park across the road and the design district of Arabia is about 20 minutes walk, where there are some lovely homeware shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at Park Hotel for four nights while visiting the World Championships of Icehockey. I chose this hotel since it was pretty close to Hartwall Arena and the price was ok for a four star hotel. It all started upon arrival after I checked in and was heading towards my room. I discovered there was no elevator and I got no help to carry my heavy suitcase up the stairs.The room was ok but far from four star standard and the bed was just terribly soft. Since there is absolutely nothing around the hotel other than a run down supermarket I decided to have dinner in the hotell restaurant. Waitress couldnt almost speak a word english which turned out to be a problem when she tried to translate the finnish menu. When I got the food I ordered I sent it back right away cause it was not eatable. And this happend to me twice during the stay. Simply Horrible! To sum it up the staff was not serviceminded, food was horrible and overpriced, room was kind of shabby.
If I would have to try and find something positive to say about this place would be that the best lloking part of the hotel is the main reception area and there was a small gym in the basement if you feel like working out a little..Other than that a total disappointment and I would rate as a maximun 2 star hotel.

Mrs K

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Hotel is quite a way from the city centre, but ideally placed if you have any business in the Helsinki Fair Centre. 1.5 km to walk and in very straight lines. Great that they have parking for cars without any extra cost. The breakfast was OK and the staff friendly. I have one major problem though and that is the cleanliness. You should not have dust flying around in the room which was the case in my room. Big dust rolls just next to the bed. I did mention it when I was checking out and they explained that it was the last day with that particular cleaning firm and they are changing. I hope for their sake, the next company is better. It is a little bit knackered but on a whole OK hotel. Big plus is the quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is a lovely hotel to stay at. It is situated in a quiet, pretty are, yet only about 15 mins from the centre of town Bus 69 will get you to both the train and bus station. Our room was large, it was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, and had everything we needed and more, except a kettle. That seems to be standard here in Helsinki though. I cannot praise the welcoming staff enough. We had arrived, after a horrendous trip on the St Peterline to St Petersburg,feeling quite shattered and tired.The lady on the desk gave us a wonderful room with views and told us to relax. She filled us in on all the details re the hotel. There were smiles all around, and after Russia's coldness, we instantly felt much better. In fact, all the staff here were a cut above average. Breakfast was a little different to what we are used to, but it was very tasty. Different only means that it served vegetables, etc It did not detract from our enjoyment of it an quite probably was a Finnish breakfast, which I am not familiar with. Brie cheese was yum. I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: I don't know about a good room, however a tip to English speaking travellers. If english is your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
367 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This hotel is located adjacent to a beautiful historic protected wooden houses ensemble but quite far from city centre (closer to airport than city). Tram has end station in front of the house but operates only by 19:00, bus leaves ca. 50m but unreliable schedule. Taxi to city can cost up to 30 EUR one-way - so in a nutshell the location is biggest downside of this property!

The lobby looks more promising than the rooms can keep but in general you get all what you need in Finnish standards (small room, soft beds, good heating, TV, bathroom with shower, hot water). Breakfast was mediocre but "normal" in Finland: at least good coffee!

Note that they charge Sauna 25 EUR for 30minutes which is a scam for Finland! Wifi is also charged high.

If you get a tour operator rate around 55-65 EUR this is ok place, if you need to pay the flexible rate "pay at hotel" around 150 EUR it's not worth the money! Go elsewhere closer to downtown for same rate (if you available) - free parking in the streets from 18-9 - not sure if free somewhere closeby 24/7?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
2.1 mi away
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
Cumulus Kallio Helsinki
#44 of 62 in Helsinki
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Haaga
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rantapuisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ava Hotel
Ava Hotel
#37 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Hotel Pilotti
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki Exhibition & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Kapyla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Kapyla

Address: Pohjolankatu 38, Helsinki 00600, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Kapyla 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Hotel Kapyla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel Kapyla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.