We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Scot in London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

A very adequate comfortable hotel in a great location - all main attractions within walking distance including Parliament building, railway station, several museums, the new concert hall, the opera house, the main shopping street and the terminal for boat trips round the harbour. Oh yes, and a beach and the old Olympic Stadium as well! Only complaint about the hotel: the shower leaked so we managed to soak all the towels. The staff were delightful and the buffet breakfast excellent. Not the most characterful hotel in the world but I'd stay here again for the location.

Room Tip: Probably better to be high up and at the back as the hotel is near a big traffic intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear pixieh,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. I truly appreciate your positive review and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your accommodation. I appreciate you for taking the time to write this comment and hope to see you again soon in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    320
    191
    52
    16
See reviews for
107
153
85
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel just a few nights ago. I arrived very late and the young woman at the reception was kind enough to check me in. However, the hotel is very large with many rooms. Outside looked like there had been strange people hanging about. Broken beer bottles and cigarette butts all over the place. Wasn't very clean. The elevators floors were stained with beverages. When I arrived to my room it was okay but my bathroom was dirty and the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned well. There were hairs all over the floor. I ran the shower water, walked out a moment and came back in to find a flooded floor. I went down and had my room changed and the young woman was nice enough to give me a comfort room but the truth is this hotel has not been kept up nor renovated since the 70's or 80's. It could be nice but it is poorly ran down and not up to the standards of a what would be considered a 4 star hotel. My room wasn't even cleaned the first day and I had to find the guy cleaning the rooms to give me fresh towels. He told me since I checked in at 3am they didn't have my room down as a room to be cleaned. My shower head was broken. Never did the breakfast but if it was the little bar at the reception area, I can hardly consider that a proper breakfast area. Comfortable sleeping but not a hotel where I felt really comfortable. One advantage is it's location within walking distance is the center of the town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear YEJ2013,
I am sorry to hear that you found your first guest room unacceptable and our room standards which did not meet your expectations. Our housekeepers work very hard to keep our guest rooms clean and hotel room like described is not the standard at our hotel. My sincerest apologies. I hope you consider staying with us again when returning next time to Helsinki.
With kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt-peterburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Booking a room in this hotel in Helsinki, I was expecting a high level worthy of four stars. But, unfortunately, the room was fairly modest, shower uncomfortable and why that double was only one shower cap, I'm not talking about slippers and robes - and they are not promised. On resershen service is good, breakfast is acceptable, and, perhaps, the main plus of the hotel - it's location, right above the bus station in the city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Olga Z,
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to completely satisfy your needs during your visit with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable room and friendly service to our every guest. I was pleased to hear that guest service was successful and location excellent.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is well situated being close to the downtown area of Helsinki, close to the railway station and other transport. I was travelling with a group (58 Choristers) on route to the World Choir Games in Riga, Latvia. The room was clean and while not particularly large it was adequate. I had no difficulty with WiFi. I could control my room temperature with the termostat and slept well. The breakfast room was large and while busy, staff seemed to keep up with clearing tables and replenishing the buffet. Its easy to walk around Helsinki, and the markets are a must to visit. In summer the berries are plentiful and cheap.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear John2090,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your detailed review and feel certain this information will be helpful to others traveling to our hotel. I am also pleased that your choir chose our hotel to stay in Helsinki and found it to be a good value considering the many choices in the area.
Kind regards from Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The whole place is in desperate need of renovation. This hotel is by no means from the cheaper end of the range in Helsinki and proved to be very poor. The location is the only good thing about it as it's in the middle of everything. Reception was under staffed with big queues. The service was nice once you got to the desk. Room was decades old and dirty and broken down from here and there. Breakfast room was a chaos, staff was not able to clear the tables and fill in the buffet. Breakfast room with mostly long tables is not a nice option.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Niko_Tampere,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We always strive to provide enjoyable guest experiences but it is regrettable that we weren't able to do so on this occasion. Please accept my sincerest apologies if the condition of the room you were given was a disappointment and fully booked hotel which caused annoyance. I have taken note of your comments and this will be forwarded to management to consider for upgrades needed on premises.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel with good location. Good standard finnish hotel breakfast. Sleep quality was also pretty good. Room was outdated, especially bathroom is a trip to CCCP era, taking a shower was difficult if you are tall, and standing in a slippery bath tub.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear them1,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We aplogize that we did not exceed your expectations and appreciate your comments. It is true, we do need some remodeling. Our building has aged, but we hope to make some significant changes in the near future.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We found the hotel to be most comfortable and the staff friendly. It is quite a busy place especially because it has many tour groups. With an all-day transit pass, the hotel is convenient to everything in Helsinki. There are four different tram lines that pass within a couple of blocks of the hotel. Furthermore, Helsinki is an easy walking city. In addition, there are many restaurants nearby.

Now the for the issues. First, breakfast was OK, but nothing like we had in hotels in Oslo, Stockholm, or Copenhagen. Second, as we have been finding, controlling the room temperature is very difficult. While this was the coolest of four that we stayed in, we were unable to cool it down enough for comfortable sleeping. Third, while we had Wifi, access to the Internet was sporadic. Often we would have a connection and it would disappear. A number of people in our group made comments about its lack of reliability, especially when one was halfway through trying to send an e-mail. Finally, the shower (room 809) leaked at the bottom and made the bath mat useless. Simple caulking would solve the problem.

Room Tip: The do not appear to be any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear dick_mary,

Thank you for your time when writing this review and staying with us in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. However, I am certainly disappointed by the too warm room temperature and stucked drain in your room. Wifi connections were under maintenance during your stay as its capacity was improved. I apologize that this fact was not told to you at that time.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Aleksanteri
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#12 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.