We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really four stars for today's standards.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not really four stars for today's standards.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel just a few nights ago. I arrived very late and the young woman at the reception was kind enough to check me in. However, the hotel is very large with many rooms. Outside looked like there had been strange people hanging about. Broken beer bottles and cigarette butts all over the place. Wasn't very clean. The elevators floors were stained with beverages. When I arrived to my room it was okay but my bathroom was dirty and the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned well. There were hairs all over the floor. I ran the shower water, walked out a moment and came back in to find a flooded floor. I went down and had my room changed and the young woman was nice enough to give me a comfort room but the truth is this hotel has not been kept up nor renovated since the 70's or 80's. It could be nice but it is poorly ran down and not up to the standards of a what would be considered a 4 star hotel. My room wasn't even cleaned the first day and I had to find the guy cleaning the rooms to give me fresh towels. He told me since I checked in at 3am they didn't have my room down as a room to be cleaned. My shower head was broken. Never did the breakfast but if it was the little bar at the reception area, I can hardly consider that a proper breakfast area. Comfortable sleeping but not a hotel where I felt really comfortable. One advantage is it's location within walking distance is the center of the town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear YEJ2013,
I am sorry to hear that you found your first guest room unacceptable and our room standards which did not meet your expectations. Our housekeepers work very hard to keep our guest rooms clean and hotel room like described is not the standard at our hotel. My sincerest apologies. I hope you consider staying with us again when returning next time to Helsinki.
With kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    257
    143
    35
    9
See reviews for
65
112
66
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sankt-peterburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Booking a room in this hotel in Helsinki, I was expecting a high level worthy of four stars. But, unfortunately, the room was fairly modest, shower uncomfortable and why that double was only one shower cap, I'm not talking about slippers and robes - and they are not promised. On resershen service is good, breakfast is acceptable, and, perhaps, the main plus of the hotel - it's location, right above the bus station in the city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Olga Z,
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to completely satisfy your needs during your visit with us. We strive to provide clean comfortable room and friendly service to our every guest. I was pleased to hear that guest service was successful and location excellent.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel is well situated being close to the downtown area of Helsinki, close to the railway station and other transport. I was travelling with a group (58 Choristers) on route to the World Choir Games in Riga, Latvia. The room was clean and while not particularly large it was adequate. I had no difficulty with WiFi. I could control my room temperature with the termostat and slept well. The breakfast room was large and while busy, staff seemed to keep up with clearing tables and replenishing the buffet. Its easy to walk around Helsinki, and the markets are a must to visit. In summer the berries are plentiful and cheap.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear John2090,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your detailed review and feel certain this information will be helpful to others traveling to our hotel. I am also pleased that your choir chose our hotel to stay in Helsinki and found it to be a good value considering the many choices in the area.
Kind regards from Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The whole place is in desperate need of renovation. This hotel is by no means from the cheaper end of the range in Helsinki and proved to be very poor. The location is the only good thing about it as it's in the middle of everything. Reception was under staffed with big queues. The service was nice once you got to the desk. Room was decades old and dirty and broken down from here and there. Breakfast room was a chaos, staff was not able to clear the tables and fill in the buffet. Breakfast room with mostly long tables is not a nice option.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Niko_Tampere,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We always strive to provide enjoyable guest experiences but it is regrettable that we weren't able to do so on this occasion. Please accept my sincerest apologies if the condition of the room you were given was a disappointment and fully booked hotel which caused annoyance. I have taken note of your comments and this will be forwarded to management to consider for upgrades needed on premises.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel with good location. Good standard finnish hotel breakfast. Sleep quality was also pretty good. Room was outdated, especially bathroom is a trip to CCCP era, taking a shower was difficult if you are tall, and standing in a slippery bath tub.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear them1,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We aplogize that we did not exceed your expectations and appreciate your comments. It is true, we do need some remodeling. Our building has aged, but we hope to make some significant changes in the near future.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We found the hotel to be most comfortable and the staff friendly. It is quite a busy place especially because it has many tour groups. With an all-day transit pass, the hotel is convenient to everything in Helsinki. There are four different tram lines that pass within a couple of blocks of the hotel. Furthermore, Helsinki is an easy walking city. In addition, there are many restaurants nearby.

Now the for the issues. First, breakfast was OK, but nothing like we had in hotels in Oslo, Stockholm, or Copenhagen. Second, as we have been finding, controlling the room temperature is very difficult. While this was the coolest of four that we stayed in, we were unable to cool it down enough for comfortable sleeping. Third, while we had Wifi, access to the Internet was sporadic. Often we would have a connection and it would disappear. A number of people in our group made comments about its lack of reliability, especially when one was halfway through trying to send an e-mail. Finally, the shower (room 809) leaked at the bottom and made the bath mat useless. Simple caulking would solve the problem.

Room Tip: The do not appear to be any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear dick_mary,

Thank you for your time when writing this review and staying with us in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. However, I am certainly disappointed by the too warm room temperature and stucked drain in your room. Wifi connections were under maintenance during your stay as its capacity was improved. I apologize that this fact was not told to you at that time.
Kind regards,
Juha Sundqvist
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Thanks to all person in this hotel reaaly it amazin we will go back to hotel again ee will be there very soon really we will be back very soooon staff is very nice and helpful you should go by your self to see the nice hoyel

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear أيمن ع,

Thank very much for choosing Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti for your stay in Helsinki.

I am so glad to read your review of our hotel and your comment on our staff makes me especially happy.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.