We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Lovely large rooms with comfortable beds and air con you can control. Nice and clean and well maintained
Good choice of breakfast and very central for everything from trains, trams, shopping, lots of restaurants etc. Also within walking distance of many attractions

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear bluegragon52,

I was so delighted to read your kind review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. Thank you very much for taking your time to do that.

I wish you nice summer time and hope to see you again at our hotel when you next visit Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    249
    140
    31
    9
See reviews for
63
106
64
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip to Finland.
When checking in I was surprised and impressed by the friendliness of staff. They were so helpful and it made my day. The room was functional, the sauna was very nice. Breakfast was impressive - they offer a great buffet. Location is convenient. Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanneleLa, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear LunaJ,

Thank you so much for your review and your positive opinions on Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. Especially your comment on our staff makes us so happy!

I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you also for recommending us.

I wish you most welcome to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti also next time when visiting Helsinki!

Best regards,

Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruchengode, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Hotel very good location and near to the parliament house of Finland and within short walking distance to train ,bus stops, near shopping mall, lots of indian restaurant....
Room check-in good way, staff are helpful ,room are large with nice and comfy bed.

breakfast was simple but good taste and superb good coffee.

over all superb location , room good & clean but little old ambient ,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, General Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear prasadrr,

Thank you very much for your kind review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. It really makes me happy that we have succeeded in offering you a nice stay at our hotel.

You are truly right with you comment on our location – we really are in the middle of everything you need at a nice city break!

We are looking forward to meeting you also next time when you come to Helsinki.

Best regards,

Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is in a good location as it is close to the railway station and the hop on hop off bus stop. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the room clean and comfortable and breakfast had a good selection of dishes to choose. Unfortunately they did not have a person to take our bags to our room, so we had to handle that part ourselves. It did not worry us too much but may be a concern to an elderly traveller with physical issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jolyn545,

Thank you very much for choosing Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti for your hotel in Helsinki.

I am very glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful and liked your stay with us. We do not have a full-time porter at our hotel but we always try to offer our help to elderly people with their luggage.

Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel next time when you visit Helsinki.

Best regards,

Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is in the centre of Helsinki and is in walking distance of everything, including the railway and bus stations. The hotel itself is impressive in size, but is beginning to look a little old inside. The room prices are quite expensive but usual for Helsinki. However, the facilities are probably a less modern and well kept compared to similar hotels, for example in Espoo. In my room, the bathroom was equipped with a bath/shower. To get in, you have to really stride over the quite high side of the bath. For me this was ok, but for less mobile, perhaps older people this could be a problem, especially because there is no bath mat, so the risk of slipping is high.Also, upon arrival, I didn't find the bathroom that clean.For example, there was a really mucky looking glass in the bathroom.
Breakfast is good, with lots of choice. The recption is often saturated and the queue can be long.

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper floors (ie further from the road and bustle).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear MOD31500,

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. We really appreciate your opinions.

I am sorry to read that this time we did not totally succeed with the cleanliness. However, we are constantly developing our operations and the feedback from our guests is most essential to show us the guidelines in our work.

I wish you most welcome to stay at our hotel also next time when visiting Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When I arrived at the hotel I was not overly impressed. The Hotel reminds me a bit of a 70s show, old carpet, lots of wooden walls and the bathroom looks a bit old. However, I have to say that besides the outdated look, I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The location was great, its right in the city center, the beds were comfortable and the shower pressure was really good. Most of all, the staff were exceptional, everyone's English was good and the service was faultless. If you are not bothered by a bit of an outdated retro-style, it's a great place to stay. I do have to say though that the breakfast is not amazing, but it will do!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Breakfast and dinner at the hotel was really good. The staff in the reception was friendly. Meeting.service was same as the paper on the table ... The meeting room had a strange smell. Either fuel or burnt plastic? The information desk was always empty. The room was no more than ok. The atmosphere in the public areas was quite cozy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.