We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Central place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is in a good location as it is close to the railway station and the hop on hop off bus stop. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the room clean and comfortable and breakfast had a good selection of dishes to choose. Unfortunately they did not have a person to take our bags to our room, so we had to handle that part ourselves. It did not worry us too much but may be a concern to an elderly traveller with physical issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jolyn545,

Thank you very much for choosing Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti for your hotel in Helsinki.

I am very glad that you found our staff friendly and helpful and liked your stay with us. We do not have a full-time porter at our hotel but we always try to offer our help to elderly people with their luggage.

Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel next time when you visit Helsinki.

Best regards,

Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    266
    150
    36
    9
See reviews for
67
119
68
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel is in the centre of Helsinki and is in walking distance of everything, including the railway and bus stations. The hotel itself is impressive in size, but is beginning to look a little old inside. The room prices are quite expensive but usual for Helsinki. However, the facilities are probably a less modern and well kept compared to similar hotels, for example in Espoo. In my room, the bathroom was equipped with a bath/shower. To get in, you have to really stride over the quite high side of the bath. For me this was ok, but for less mobile, perhaps older people this could be a problem, especially because there is no bath mat, so the risk of slipping is high.Also, upon arrival, I didn't find the bathroom that clean.For example, there was a really mucky looking glass in the bathroom.
Breakfast is good, with lots of choice. The recption is often saturated and the queue can be long.

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper floors (ie further from the road and bustle).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmng, Johtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear MOD31500,

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. We really appreciate your opinions.

I am sorry to read that this time we did not totally succeed with the cleanliness. However, we are constantly developing our operations and the feedback from our guests is most essential to show us the guidelines in our work.

I wish you most welcome to stay at our hotel also next time when visiting Helsinki.

Best regards,
Hannele Laurila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When I arrived at the hotel I was not overly impressed. The Hotel reminds me a bit of a 70s show, old carpet, lots of wooden walls and the bathroom looks a bit old. However, I have to say that besides the outdated look, I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. The location was great, its right in the city center, the beds were comfortable and the shower pressure was really good. Most of all, the staff were exceptional, everyone's English was good and the service was faultless. If you are not bothered by a bit of an outdated retro-style, it's a great place to stay. I do have to say though that the breakfast is not amazing, but it will do!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Breakfast and dinner at the hotel was really good. The staff in the reception was friendly. Meeting.service was same as the paper on the table ... The meeting room had a strange smell. Either fuel or burnt plastic? The information desk was always empty. The room was no more than ok. The atmosphere in the public areas was quite cozy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Prime tourist location as most visited sites can be reached on foot.
Restaurants, major shopping and train station is just surrounds the hotel.

Hotel's free WIFI is very much appreciated as it keeps one to be in touch back home for free (thru Viber).

Breakfast: Good and adequate in its class.

Room:
Space is adequate.clean and functional. Built-in dispenser for bath/shampoo/shower gels are great and convenient as it is installed where you need it.
Bathroom space is rather small but you get what you need. Bathtub and shower in same area is good with sliding shower screen.
But guests must move really very slow and careful as its just so scary to slip while in the shower/bathtub. Suggest the hotel installs an anti slip rubber or tape before guests breaks their head.

Housekeeping:
Room 5040 is clean on arrival but was not cleaned the next day.
18 May 2014 (sunday) at around 4:00 Pm a male Room attendant offered to clean the room but informed him to return by 5:00 Pm as I will be going out. When I got back, found the room not made up and used towels were not replenished with new ones.

Front Desk:
Staffs are very helpful when asked for assistance directions and arrangements to get a taxi even during busy period and its very much appreciated.

Sevilla Restaurant:
Food is great!
We were a group of 28 persons booked at 7:30 pm (18May14) in set meal and restaurant is busy.
It was observed only 2 attendants were on duty. You can see that they were trying their best, but service standards suffered. Suggest that when accommodating a group dinner to ensure that the outlet is with adequate manning compliment.
Although we were as a group, we all deserved individual attention like anyone else in the restaurant. We have booked ahead of time and there is no acceptable excuse.

Despite above good and not good comments, I would still consider booking this hotel in the future.

I am also in a service industry and a former hotelier and service satisfaction is always our ultimate goals and objective. I really want to help by conveying my observation in the property and service, to commend or affirm where good service is rendered and call the attention where areas needs improvement.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Butch A, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti while visiting Helsinki. We appreciate your professional and precise feedback which gives us a chance to make process in our service standards. We all wish you welcome back to our hotel.
Best regards, Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel is ten minutes walk from the railway station from where a Finnair coach service operates to the airport and it is just off the main shopping street.
It is a very large hotel with a large number of conference delegates there when I visited. Although a little dated it is very comfortable with a pleasant bar and a Spanish restaurant.
The rooms are adequately furnished though coffee making facilities are absent from the room.(There is a 24 hr service of coffee and cakes in the lobby which operates reasonable prices.)
You do have to be fairly nimble to reach the over bath shower as the sliding door rail adds a few extra inches to the height of the bath!
Although the hotel is labyrinthine , plenty signage is provided above every point where a decision has to be made!
The is a more than adequate buffet breakfast with the usual foods on offer plus Finnish fish specialities and despite a very busy dining room, the staff do a superb job in rapidly clearing tables. So much so that if you return to the buffet, you may find your coffee cup has been cleared away.
Check in is laboriously slow. This may be due to the Finnish relaxed attitude but also due to the fact that you need to fill in a registration document then you are given breakfast vouchers, a discount coupon for the bar and an offer coupon for the Spanish restaurant.
I would happily recommend this hotel.
The only hotel nearer to the airport bus is its sister hotel,, Sokos Hotel Vaakuna.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard or the side streets leading to the Kampii Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel with group of sommeliers in March 2014 at time of Viiniexpo fair.
Welcome was friendly, but because of we arrived early than normal check-in time, part of our group can't get their rooms. Ok, it was normal, but it takes about 20 minutes to get this information from reception. Fortunately the luggage room is located beside the reception and we left our cases there.
Room was clean and equipped with 2 single beds as we requested. Flat-TV, minibar, climatizing system, coffee corner were part of equipment of this room. All things in bathroom were works properly. Way to the room from elevator was very long and it's very easy to get lost in passage if you don't notice the signs with indications of room numbers right time.
Sleeping quality was technically good (bed, blackout curtains etc), but drunken youngsters were make big noise in some our neighbour rooms.
Breakfast was good and choice of different food was ok.
Hotel have private nightlclub, but it was boring. Only some visitors who was drink beer.
Free wi-fi works very well both in rooms and in lobby-area.
Hotel location is very good. About 1-1,5 km walking from center, tram station is nearby, some free taxis were always front off the entry of hotel.
I put 3*** because of lost of time in reception and because of bad sleeping quality due to noise. In principle - in better day 4**** must be more real.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.