We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Save Saved
You added Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
edinburgh,scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good hotel in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a good hotel very centrally situated.The room was spacious enough for my needs & was very well cleaned.The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice & there was no problem finding somewhere to sit.There was a tram line close by,though it was easy enough to walk to many tourist sights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    257
    143
    35
    9
See reviews for
65
112
66
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

There isn't anything much to say about this hotel except that it is of a good standard, nothing memorable or outstanding and absolutely nothing to criticise either. Friendly and helpful desk staff. Luggage storage faciilties. Secure - room card needed to operate the lift (and also lobby toilets). Moderately priced by Helsinki standards and decent value for money. Its big plus is its location - a five minute walk to the Central Rail Station and airport buses and about a 15 minute walk to Senate Square. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. Good hotel for this duration of accommodation. Good rooms, very good breakfasts and hotel staff. The hotel locates near railway station. There are a lot of shops and malls behind the hotel. If we will travel to Helsinki again we will stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear veronikipedia,
Thank you for your stay with us here in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti and this encouraging feedback. We will do our best that these good experiences will keep up happening when you are returning back as our guest.
Best regards from Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here 4 nights and i could not fault anything during my time here. I arrived at 02:45 and there was somebody to open the door for me, check me in and send me off to bed with all my vouchers. Breakfast covers more or less everything you could want except for a fried egg or omelette. The breakfast room is like a huge university hall and just as noisy but all I need is to find a place to sit and if in the process i get to chat to others sat at the trough then that can't be bad.

The room was excellent with a huge bath and plenty of hot water to fill it. The room service it seems does not include putting your covers back in place but towels are changed. unless your company is daft enough to pay your mimi-bar bill you should avoid as the hotel has fixed stupid prices compared to what you would pay in the supermarket.

If you want alcohol then you need to get down to the 'Akol' store. Going out of the hotel, turn right and then turn first right walk along the pedestrian walk and turn first left. walk to the last door on the left and you have reached your drink source. Why anybody would pay Euro 6 for a mini bottle is beyond me when you can get anything at Alkol at a fraction of the price.

Check out at 05:30 was super-fast and if you want you can pick up a coffee and pastry on the way out.

Location is great just a short walk from central station. Also only a 5 minutes walk to the Finnair bus service to the airport and vice-versa. Which at Euro 6.30 has to be better than the Euro 50 you pay for a taxi

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent a week at this place while attending a conference in Helsinki. Good service, healthy breakfast. The hotel location is just perfect and everything from shops to restaurants and ebven the conference hall is within a walking distance .

Room Tip: The location is just perfect for those who like shopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
findlay, oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We enjoyed the Sokos hotel in St. Petersburg, Russia so much, we booked this one. And were happy we did. It is a very nice hotel. It is clean and the service is great. Any type of shopping or dinning you would want are within a half mile walk. The food at the hotel is great. Every employee spoke great English. Bus, Streetcar, and subway very close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear veronikipedia,
Thank you for your stay with us here in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti and this encouraging feedback. We will do our best that these good experiences will keep up happening when you are returning back as our guest.
Best regards from Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

been to this hotel all my life, as my mum used to travel alot and i have my grandad only an hour away by car. fantastic service and rooms.
finland is an amazing place, if you have never been please do go! all the hotels in helsinki are fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentti, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Tanja C,
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear these comments from our frequent guest as you. It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments regarding our facilities and most of all service which you have received while staying in Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti. We are waiting your next visit with us in a near future. Best regards,
Juha Sundqvist, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#23 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.