We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti to your Saves list
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Helsinki
Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Good room, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived by train from Oulu and the hotel is only a short walk from the train station. Check-in was efficient. The lobby is sort of gloomy and old-fashioned but our room (816) was fine; roomy with twin beds plus a couch that could serve as a third bed, if needed; very clean. Built-in desk, mini-fridge, closet, wide-screen TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Good-sized bathroom with a nice shower. Free wifi with a strong signal and good response. Breakfast was very good with a selection of both hot and cold items, open from 6:30 on weekdays. However, this is a big hotel and if you get down there when everyone else comes for breakfast you’ll find it quite crowded. We got there about 7:30 and by the time we left the room was pretty full, so the earlier the better. We needed to catch the ferry to Tallinn the next morning but their early breakfast (available from 5) isn’t much. We waited until 6:30 for the regular breakfast but were then rushed to catch the boat. We asked for a quiet room and this room was fine. There isn’t much traffic overnight on this street anyway and from the 8th floor we really couldn’t hear anything. The only thing we would have liked to have would have been a coffee/tea making facilities in the room. There is coffee available all the time in the lobby, but at a price of EUR 2.50.

Room Tip: Make your wishes known when you book and when you check in. A hotel with this many rooms should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    276
    158
    39
    10
See reviews for
72
126
69
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed in this Sokos Hotel for two nights for a conference at a university a few blocks away. The location of the hotel was excellent both for the conference as well as hopping onto a wonderful walking/bike path (converted from rail) that went to the largest cultural venues along the harbour. My room was spotlessly clean, plenty of space, with a good bed. I'm rating this average because of several annoyances that really didn't effect the quality of my stay but that I might have expected to be solved in some way for a 'very good' rating. The first was the air circulation in the room. The room was comfortable but there wasn't any way to open a window or to adjust a fan setting that I could find and I would have appreciated greater airflow. Second, the room overlooked a plaza at the rear of the hotel which had a bar/pub that played pretty loud R&R until the wee hours. I had ear plugs, so that wasn't a problem (and would have been more of a problem had I been able to open a window!). Finally, the front desk was swamped every time I needed to get something done, and I usually try to go off-peak. I don't know whether the hotel as in a particularly busy spell, but they did not appear to have a good way of management the influx of people, typically tour groups. The people at the front desk were for the most part friendly and helpful, but clearly under tremendous pressure, and I presume short-staffed as the same person had to handle luggage, take calls, answer urgent questions, etc. But let's end on a positive note: The breakfast was marvelous! Piles of all different kinds of bread, meats, fruit, fish, oatmeal, you name it. I wake up early, so got to breakfast before the crush. It was likely an unusually busy time for this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing plaza at the rear of the hotel due to noise problem noted above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Spent a night in the hotel with my kids and my mom. Receptionist was really nice. Rooms are clean and nice. Bathrooms are in desperate need of renovations, but otherwise the rooms were nice.

Restaurant in the hotel, Sevilla, had really good food and they had nice kids menu with some small things for kids to do while waiting the food. Service was excellent!

Also being situated next to Kamppi in the central of Helsinki gets thumbs up from me, since it's easy to come to the hotel with bus or train. In case you come with your own car, there's a parking space under hotel. But the parking spaces are really narrow, so with bigger car you might find it hard to find a space wide enough.

Room Tip: Rooms in the side of Kamppi have great view, but if there's some programme in the avenue, you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location. Facilities are generally OK. Breakfast choice is a bit limited. And breakfast hall is really too small in relation to the number of rooms. Most serious problem was ever that my toilet was not clean at arrival and I had to ask twice before it was cleaned properly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at the hotel in July 2012
1. All my wishes when booking the hotel have been ignored. It concerns a double bed, floor, view. Request for a paid parking was left without any response, although parking at the hotel's private.
2. Check-inn for 15-20 minutes earlier was refused, even though the hotel had a lot of free rooms.
3. Horrible filth in the room. Someone's hair, dust, stains on the walls, mirror and door.
4. Breakfast was a surprise. Usually Finnish hotels have very good and tasty breakfasts, but not in this hotel.
5. Subside in the room was cold, air-conditioning was not possible to turn off.
7. The room have a lot of wires. Where to watch the management? Hide them in the box – it`ll take 1 minute and costs 5 cents.

From the pleasant:
- Polite and courteous staff at the reception
- A very fast Internet
- Very comfortable beds and good linens

In Helsinki you can find a better hotel.
Photos of what I saw when checking into a room attached.

Room Tip: find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Sokos Presidentii was recommended to me by a professional friend of mine for stay here. The hotel's location was very convenient. Everything we wanted: restaurants, shopping places, access to the Metro, Trams and Buses were just around corner. Even the airport bus shuttle stop is within walking distance from the hotel. This is especially helpful if you are hauling a big suitcase around.

The rooms were a little dated, atleast didnt meet my expectations, but they were clean and very functional.

The morning buffet breakfast was always crowded, and offered a very little choices for a vegetarians such as my wife and I. The pool was fairly big for a hotel pool and the sauna was clean and I would say definitely hygenic.

The staff were however very patient and helpful and usually had all the information available at hand, and were helpful in making recommendations for things to do in Helsinki, good places for shopping amongst other things.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed 2 nights here to have some meetings with a small group of people. The conference room was well priced, staff was helpful. Rooms were a good size and well equiped. It is worth the stay if you are planning some meetings.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelainen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.