We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and find in the centre.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rivoli Jardin to your Saves list
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki SF-00130, Finland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay and find in the centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good value for money and very central. Clean and basic and comfortable for a stay in Helsinki. You are just 2min walk from the main historic centre and market square. Staff are friendly, rooms a little dated but still good value . Would recommend and stay again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    85
    34
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
78
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in an apartment. The room and all furnishings were old and dated. The double bed quilt was not big enough to cover both of us (think it was single bed size) so it was a little cold. The possitive was the reception staff and location which was right near waterfront, market and 10 min walk to city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Whilst I liked the hotel, is was not quite what i had in mind. Nicely refurbished and nothing at all wrong with it. The bar was best described as closed as it seems everyone went out for a drink. Well appointed room . The rooms over look the courtyard, but really a "garden" good location 10 miutes walk from the train station is pleasant part of town. A good business base. Good restaurant around the corner which probably explains the bar being deserted.

Room Tip: Its a bit hidden from the road up an alley, so not much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

you will not find a better location downtown, just 2 blocks south of the esplanadi, near the same affordable price. the staff are friendly and knowledgable. surprisingly good breakfast with a full selection of fresh deli selections, fruits, vegetables, eggs, sausage, bacon, fresh juices, etc. the rooms are clean and efficient, but could use a little remodeling to update the character - but if they did, you'd be paying the same rate as their competitors! keep it un-remodeled!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkaa, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spent a night with spouse and this hotel was so close to everything in central Helsinki. Rooms were quiet even when ours was on the 3rd floor right facing the elevator. Beds were great and room was tidy.
The reason we chose this hotel was someone mentioning good breakfast and it was truly true.
Good juices, crispy bacon scrambled eggs, toast, cereal....you name it. No disappointment.
Coffee was from a machine but it was self grinding and tasted good....crema on latte was thick:)
24h reception and good service.
If you plan to stay in Helsinki this is your choice. Near harbour and Esplanadi park and shopping centers. Something for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

All basics in this hotel are good. Staff is friendly, sleep quality is really good and breakfast is very good as well. There is a small supermarket nearby and the hotel location is very good. On the negative side TV has very few channels and parking is difficult nearby. In summary it is a hotel wotrh the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel for location and air conditioning. The location is okay and they do have air conditioning but the brilliant people in charge told us that they turn the air conditioning off at night and run it only in the day time. Make sense? We did not sleep the first night we were there because our room was on the ground floor and since we had to leave the windows open we were disturbed by the noise light and smoke from the parking area we faced. If you have to be in Helsinki choose a hotel not run by morons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merja_Koski_GM, General Manager at Hotel Rivoli Jardin, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame,

Thank you for your review.
I am so sorry that you we so disappointed to our hotel and us.
It does not help at all for the inconvenience we have caused to you.
But I want to tell that the big air-conditiong machines are on the roof and the law of environmental does not allow the noice at night times.
That is the reason the system is working half power at nights, and it is not enough.
Your review was very helpful, we have discussed about the problem with the owners of real estate and we try to find the solution before next summer.
I hope newertheless you enjoyed your visit in Helsinki.
Once again, I apologize
Merja Koski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Klaus K Hotel
#11 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivoli Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Address: Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki SF-00130, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rivoli Jardin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish Hotel Rivoli Jardin offers rooms and apartments next to the Esplanadi shopping streets, about 10 minutes walk from Helsinki Central Station. The individually designed guest rooms at the HOTEL Rivoli Jardin have air conditioning, minibars, work desks and a wide selection of TV channels (for example: CNN, BBC World, TVE, RAI Uno, TV5Monde, TV1RusEurope). The Rivoli APARTMENTS have a TV, a DVD player and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker and free Internet. The central location offers easy access to culture (Design District), shopping and entertainment. There are plenty of bars and restaurants (Michelin Star) within walking distance. The helpful staff can provide tourist information and other services. The following Rivoli owned restaurants are within 15 minutes walk of Hotel & Apartments Rivoli Jardin. The Rivoli Restaurant offers French influenced Finnish cuisine, and a variety of Italian dishes can be sampled at the Trattoria Rivoletto, both located at Albertinkatu 38. Guests can also try the Russian menu at Restaurant Bellevue at Rahapajankatu 3, near the Russian Orthodox Uspenski Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Jardin Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rivoli Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.