We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Helsinki!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rivoli Jardin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rivoli Jardin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki SF-00130, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Helsinki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I've been in different hotels in Helsinki, but never managed to get a room at Rivoli Jardin. I wish I had known earlier how amazing it was. You couldn't wish for a better location to start with. This boutique hotel situated 5 min walk from the Trade Square in a small courtyard. The price is very reasonably, I would even go as far as saying that it was quite cheap. We paid 110 euros for one night for a triple room. The price included a very tasty breakfast which was served until 11 (!!!) am. Parking and wi-fi is free of charge. Also you get extra Finnair miles for your stay. Next time I'm in Helsinki I will definitely do my best to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    69
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
16
53
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location in the heart of Helsinki! Nice rooms and good service in the hotel. Great atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a family-run hotel but still part of a chain in Finland. I arrived past midnight after a 15-minute walk from the Central Station, which tells you about how great the location is. The staff quickly checked me in and I was in my room. The room had some design elements which was great. The bathroom was not exactly what I had expected (tiled), but it was clean and everything worked just fine.

Breakfast was a very nice spread of herring (which I loved), salmon with lingonberries, ham, bread, eggs, fruit, sausage, bacon and more. So every morning (except the first one 'cause I woke up late) I took the time to have my yummy breakfast before I left for the day.

Staff was very helpful with whatever question you had, whether they'd be directions or just some advice.

The only thing was the cost of the Internet. It is 10 Euros per day, but if you stay 3 days it's 20 Euros. That is a bit steep.

I would definitely come back to the hotel again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I arrived at the hotel with a popular tour group from the United States. People at the front desk were very friendly. When I entered my room, a perfume type of odor was sprayed in it that was noxious. Everything seemed to be ok until I got into bed. There were dark hairs all over my sheets and pillows. I told the front desk the next morning and they were very apologetic. I discovered the next morning that my tour mate had hairs all over her bed as well. Yuck.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koskme, Manager at Hotel Rivoli Jardin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear our Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this.
Unfortunately I heard about this after you checked out.
I have discussed with the receptionist, who was working at that time and unfortunately she did not tell to me, that I could have to take attention to this matter.
I also discussed with the the Housekeeping company (with the team leader and team)
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.
Thank you once again for your review .

Merja Koski , general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

For a superior room, the one we were given appeared very compact and not very good value for money. Having said that, the room was well decorated, with sufficient hanging and drawer space for a couple of night's stay and most of the usual amenities - mini bar, coffee making kit (although no milk or equivalent), hairdryer, slippers.
Our view, from floor 5, was out onto a tucked away corner of a central courtyard and mainly consisted of the surrounding dark gray/black metal rooftops and chimneys.
The small bathroom was not very well lit and had no bath, only a shower cubicle with somewhat antiquated shower fitments. After a lot of fiddling with the tap and knobs, a reasonable flow of water at a good temperature was produced.
Breakfast was usually crowded. It was a completely self service buffet with a very good (frequently replenished) selection - particualrly of rolls and crispbreads.
We found it to be quiet, with friendly reception staff and a good location for sight-seeing and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Gracious, fast, efficient front desk, but my room was very spare and utilitarian. A third rate Ikea style sofa fails to make up for the ugly bed frame, and the worst pillow I encountered in three different Finnish hotels. The pillows were filled with polyester fill that had started to clump together, so I had a soft but lumpy pillow.
Wireless wifi is an a additional fee, although there is a serviceable free wired (ethernet) connection for a laptop. For Ipads or other devices requiring a wireless connection you will have to pay the additional nightly fee.
Om the other hand,the included breakfast was quite good, and the lobby's coffee maker allows you to stop by for a free late afternoon coffee. The design of the lobby and breakfast area were quite nice. So if your room is only for sleeping and you don't mind matted polyester filling in the pillows this hotel will work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I live in Helsinki, so I have not stayed there. I have booked my business associates for many years to stay at this hotel. The rooms are not very big but they are clean and decorated with style. Hotel is owned by private family. Don't be surprised if the room has been cleaned by the owner.
The location is great in the middle of the city. If you want stay in good standard hotel but not like the big hotels, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rivoli Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivoli Jardin

Address: Kasarmikatu 40, Helsinki SF-00130, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Business Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rivoli Jardin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish Hotel Rivoli Jardin offers rooms and apartments next to the Esplanadi shopping streets, about 10 minutes walk from Helsinki Central Station. The individually designed guest rooms at the HOTEL Rivoli Jardin have air conditioning, minibars, work desks and a wide selection of TV channels (for example: CNN, BBC World, TVE, RAI Uno, TV5Monde, TV1RusEurope). The Rivoli APARTMENTS have a TV, a DVD player and a fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker and free Internet. The central location offers easy access to culture (Design District), shopping and entertainment. There are plenty of bars and restaurants (Michelin Star) within walking distance. The helpful staff can provide tourist information and other services. The following Rivoli owned restaurants are within 15 minutes walk of Hotel & Apartments Rivoli Jardin. The Rivoli Restaurant offers French influenced Finnish cuisine, and a variety of Italian dishes can be sampled at the Trattoria Rivoletto, both located at Albertinkatu 38. Guests can also try the Russian menu at Restaurant Bellevue at Rahapajankatu 3, near the Russian Orthodox Uspenski Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rivoli Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Jardin Helsinki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rivoli Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.