We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average European business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average European business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A very central hotel located downtown Helsinki with all the typical Radisson things. Internet is fast and free. Breakfast buffet is good. Outdoor bar is classy but service is fair. A clean but aging property.
Complimentary sauna in the basement.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Dave S,

Thank you for your kind review. Our hotel is really located in the middle of everything, railway station, museums and all the main shopping areas is very near from our hotel. We do offer the free WiFi, saunas, gym and lot of other things such as bicycles and foot massage machines as an complimentary to our guests.

TIP: book next time our business class or Suites to get extra luxury and access to our Plaza Lounge.

Have nice summer time!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    227
    36
    5
    5
See reviews for
114
182
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very modern and spacious rooms.
Reception and staff very polite and helpful. I got 4 pages printed totally free of charge! The rates are very good including wifi, which does not work at all. I notified the reception that their wifi does not work this morning and it still doesn't. I took the room rate not including the breakfast, but will try their breakfast for 25€ tomorrow morning. I rate them very good! The wifi connection probably is a temporarily technical glitch.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear YingTianHua,

Thank you very much for your kind review. First of all I need to apologize that temporally inconvenience about our WiFi, problem is now solved and we are even adding more base stations for your WiFi to get it more efficiency. It was nice to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and service.

Have nice summer time and see you soon back at Plaza!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A modern, beautifully kept hotel in a very convenient location five minutes to the railway station,trams,buses and City Tour buses. Very welcoming and efficient staff who will help with any queries about Helsinki. Ask for Arjam in the bar area for advice where to go as he has a wealth of useful tips one of which was the Museum of Contemporary Art. A spectacular building with clever modern exhibits not to be missed.
Very comfortable, quiet rooms with plenty of space incorporating large bed, sofa, writing area and marble bathroom. The breakfast choices are vast catering for every diet and taste located in a comfy traditional area. We could not have had a better stay.

Room Tip: We had a side room which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Dorothy C,

Thank you for your very kind feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our services and staff - especially Arjan as you mentioned, I will gladly tell your greetings to him!

We really hope that everything is well on your journey - greetings to of you!

We look forward to your next stay!

Please friend us on Facebook and Twitter to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

With warm regards,
Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Family of 6 traveling with 4 kids under 9. We always get 2 rooms and usually get standard. This time I booked one standard and one business suit. Totally worth it! I believe the Plaza is the only Radisson blu (in Helsinki) with saunas IN the business rooms.

Location was great. Walked everywhere but the port to take the ferry back to Estonia.

Breakfast was great. Omelets were delicious. European breakfast. With juice, coffee, milk and yogurt. Everything was good.

Standard room- fine. Same size bed as business room. (Beds were amazingly comfy!) Had a wide couch that we made a bed for one kid. Shower/tub in the bathroom.

Business room- more then 2x the size of the standard. Had a shower and sauna. And "mood lighting". With this room we had access to the lounge. Games and cool chairs to sit and play games in. Hot drinks and fruit and candy are out during the day. You can also have breakfast there if you choose. But it's all the same stuff as down stairs.

Both rooms had a nespresso(sp?) coffee maker. And the best beds ever, if I didn't already say that.

I only gave 4 dots because:
~for the price - I think a crib should be complimentary. Not 20€ a night.

~The walls were a bit thin. I could hear my kids WALKING down the hall. But we must have been the only people because they are the only ones I heard.

~I really don't like the shampoo and conditioners, etc. I keep trying it hoping I will like it, but it just leaves my hair flat and blah.

We didn't check out the gym or sauna because HELLO?! We had a sauna in our Business room! So I can't rate that.

Totally would stay here again if we ever go back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear walkerm029,

Thank you so much for your amazing review, and taking time to share it here with the another TripAdvisor.com users! You have really toked time to write about your experience - we truly respect you. We have those special made beds - made by Finnish company called Finlayson - on each of our rooms.

TIP: Book next time one of our Executive Suites to get even larger room with nice view over square. In Executive Suites can be connect with one standard room so it is even more comfortable for families and group of friends. You can also borrow our bikes of free of charge to have your own city tour.

Have nice summer time and we are waiting you when ever you have a chance come back Helsinki!

Greetings to whole family and take care!

Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms in the hotel seem to be rather recently renovated and they have done a great job. Breakfast is ok and offered in a nice old open space that I believe used to be an old bank.

From the airport you can take city bus 615 that stops at the railway station (final stop). Once you come out of the bus you should be able to see the hotel about 100m away from the station.

Location is ok, just a short walk to all restaurants and Helsinki sights.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi mikaramram!

Thank you so much for your kind review. We renovated all our rooms, restaurants, bars and public areas at 2012. The breakfast restaurant is located on our historical part of the hotel. That part was started to built day before the Finnish independence day 5th of December 1917, and it served 70 years as an SOK (Suomen Osuuskauppojen Keskuskunta) Headquarters. That breakfast hall was as an exhibition hall were all the stuff was displayed, those lamps on the ceiling are telling this story.

We truly wish you have a chance to come back one day - ask our historical tour them and you will get known all the history about our lovely hotel.

Have a great summer time and take care!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted one night in a good hotel to recupirate after 3 nights of camping and the Radison Blu Plaza did not disappoint. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the beds comfortable and the room was clean and cozy, and though the bathroom was on the smaller side, it had a great shower. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi helgasoffiae,

Thanks you for sharing your nice experience with us, we truly loved that you enjoyed your stay with us after three nights of camping. We hope that you will enjoy the rest of your holiday!

We are looking forward to see you soon back at Plaza!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After 6 days travelling through Finland, our last 3 days were spent in Helsinki. We chose this hotel because it looked amazing online... and it didn't disappoint in any way. Stunning renovation, rooms very clean and beautifully decorated, comfortable, and excellent service from everyone. We stayed in the junior suite for some extra space as we were a group of 3 adults. Great Room on the 7th floor. And the club loung was very relaxing. Breakfast omelettes amazing! Snacks and drinks between 5-7pm also good. Centrally located to the shops and restaurants, and the gardens are just behind the hotel. You could not really fault this hotel. We enjoyed every minute we were there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Aussiegirlie2014,

Thank you very much for your kind review! I hope that your journey continued as relaxed at it was here at Plaza! It is always happy to us to hear that our guests liked our service and rooms - and of course that you found our Plaza Lounge as relaxing place for you and your friends!

We wish you and your friends an sunny and funny summer time!

You are a most welcome back to Plaza at anytime!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Rezidor, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.