We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Oslo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The recent refurbishing has given us the best rooms I have yet seen. Very colorful, lots of electric plugs. Breakfast was very good, service excellent. My experience with the dinners was not quite so good. A salmon pizza was fine, but the Ceasar salad was not Ceasar. it had a white dressing that was nowhere near a Ceasar. I also ordered an empenllada. no relation to a real one.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear coachoconnorucla ,

Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy you had a great stay at Plaza Hotel and you enjoyed our " Super Breakfast" & the comforts of the rooms.
I apologize if the meal ordered didn't match your expectations , I will discuss the issue with the kitchen's staff.

Again many thanks for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor users.

Kind regards ,

Roberto Barbato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    228
    36
    5
    5
See reviews for
116
185
31
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First rate 5* corporate hotel that has a boutique feel to it. Beds extremely comfortable, 42" flat screen 3D TV (though movies are extra) with great sound system - you can plug in your own devices - plus electronic lighting system & TV in the bathroom. Mini-expresso machine in the room, & usual extras (ironing board, hair dyer, regular kettle with tea/coffee).
Great staff on the bar, good range of beers including some limited Finnish.
Only had breakfast but that was outstanding - extensive range to choose from.
Located in town centre near the station so plenty to see/do if you have time.
Only gripe was kitchen shuts early around 8pm on Sunday & Monday.
I give it top marks for the cost i- t's what I usually pay for a corporate hotel but is streets ahead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr_M_from_Derby ,

Thank you very much for the awesome review.
I am glad you enjoyed our hotel's facilities and the comforts of the rooms.
Our " stylish" design , modern / classical combination , it's certainly an added value of our house . Furthermore , our location allows our guests to reach the most important capital's spots by walk.

I personally wish to thank you for your stay at Plaza Hotel and for your amazing feedback.
We are looking forward to meet you soon ,
Kind regards,

Roberto Barbato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very fun decor; room numbers are projected on the floor! Great breakfast; full and included. Good-sized room and showers. GREAT BED, obviously has been renovated recently. It's very close to the heart of Helsinki with good shopping around the corner. Nicer than the Radisson Blu Royal, where I had to move to be with my conference group -- that one is older.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Cornelia ,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
It's nice to read you liked Plaza's design and the facilities our rooms.
You are totally right : our super central location allows our guests to reach by walk all the capital 's main spots .
Thank you again for sharing your experience at Plaza Hotel with other Trip Advisor user.

Have a great Summer time !

Kind regards ,

Roberto B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is comfortable and the food is good. Good example of Radisson quality. Location is perfect for walking anywhere (you may have to wait a bit to get a taxi, but they always come). Most of the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The airline destroyed my suitcase and I had to buy a replacement (Stockmann's Dept store is minutes away) and the hotel disposed of my old 29" case without a problem. Very good support.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Joseph Mi ,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay here at Plaza Hotel .
Our super central location certainly represents an added value to all our guests. All the majority capital's spots are reachable by walk.
Thank you again for the sharing your experience at Plaza Hotel with other Trip Adisor users.

Have a great Summer time !
KInd regards ,

Roberto B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed business class for 3 nights with my two daughters, room was fine, a little on the small side for 3 people. Staff and facilities were excellent. Plaza Lounge made our stay extra special. Everything we needed was in walking distance and will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tereasa1 ,

Thank you for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Plaza hotel .
It's always the best choice you can make to book one of our Business class rooms. As you personally tested you can have much more benefits as Free Cinema package & the VIP lounge.
For your next booking with us , I suggest to reserve one of our Executive Business class a little larger and with Sauna included in the room .

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Plaza hotel with other Trip Advisor users and let' s hope to see you again here.

Have a great Summer time !

Kind regards ,

Roberto B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came and stayed here over 20 times on business over the last 5 years -- so much so that the staff recognized me. And even though I had received a Club Carlson Gold Card for my frequent stays at this and other Radissons, this hotel would refuse to upgrade my room (a privilege given by the gold card). This was the only Radisson which refused the upgrade -- while the other ones in Helsinki, Stockholm, Tallinn and elsewhere would do it.

Other than that, the hotel is a pretty bog standard Radisson. The rooms are fine, the breakfasts are very good. The location is convenient, next to the train station and about 5 minutes' walk to Pohjolaesplenade. My only other complaint would be that the line to checkout in the morning can get a big long, so if you are traveling on business and have meetings to get to, you should try to get down to the lobby about 10-15 minutes early to do the checkout to make sure you don't get held up.

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same, if you choose a non smoking room with a queen sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Doug R ,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am happy you enjoyed our hotel's facilities and the quality of the breakfast.
As Club Carlson Gold member you are entitled to receive the best room in the category booked ( in your case it was standard ) . As complimentary Upgrade it doesn't necessarily mean the better room category ( for example Business Class rooms ) but it means also rooms located on the high floor , street view etc.
At the moment only the Club Carlson Concierge members have the benefits ( upon avalaibility ) to be upgrated automatically to the next room category .
In any case , we always recognize all our Club Carlson golden members arranging some refreshment into the room or a complimentary drink ( glass of wine , beer or water ) for their stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at Plaza Hotel with other Trip Advisor users.

Don't hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions concerning our loyalty program.
roberto.barbato@radissonblu.com

Kind regards ,

Roberto Barbato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location, next to railway station, walking distance to bus central and many restaurants and shops. Staff is smily, attentive and helpful. Renovated rooms, not spacious but well equipped. Classic Radisson breakfast with rich variety of food. Hotel perfectly suits for short business trips, but should be especially good for romantic weekends.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest Service Agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear FarBerry ,

Thank you very much for your accurate review.
I am glad you enjoyed our hotel's facilities and the service provide by our staff.
You are totally right our central location allows to reach all the most important capital spots and in the same time we ensure a magic & comfortable sleep in our " Blu Dreams " beds.

Again many thanks for the time used to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users.

Kind regards ,

Roberto B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
Scandic Paasi
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 66 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
Fabian Hotel
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 66 in Helsinki
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Hotel Haven
Hotel Haven
#2 of 66 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Vironniemi
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
Hotel GLO Helsinki Kluuvi
#9 of 66 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Vironniemi
Best Western Premier Hotel Katajanokka
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
Hotel Kamp
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 66 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Rezidor, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.