We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

If it is a central hotel you are looking for, you can't go wrong with this one. It is a stones throw away from the main train and bus station and from the shopping area. Room was modern and functional and breakfast was vast and enjoyable. It is a big hotel, so it was busy at breakfast time, apart from that, the bed was comfortable, we had a chaise lounge in ours too and having your own kettle with tea and coffee was great especially after a day on the cold wintry streets of Helsinki!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Penfold13,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It is always a great joy to read reviews like the one you wrote.

I hope you had time to do some shopping and sightseeing while in Helsinki. For all that the hotel really is conveniently situated because almost all the main sited are within walking distance. And to everywhere else it is easy to catch a train or bus.

I am also happy to notice you enjoyed your stay in a Business-class room. Those rooms are designed to be as comfortable and convenient as possible. The own coffee maker, bathrobes and a 3D television with free movie channels should guarantee a relaxed evening after a hard day's work or sightseeing. Of cuorse not forgetting the possibility to spend some time in our Plaza Lounge as you mentioned.

Welcome back again to Plaza and Happy New Year 2014!


Best Regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    274
    46
    6
    5
See reviews for
132
230
35
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

By all accounts it seemed that there was an issue with this hotel and staff. Not so! I loved this place, the lighting control system, the door numbers as lights on the carpet, the cool artistic rooms, the collapse of the two buildings into one, the restaurant, breakfast, the plaza lounge, the staff and the location. For the price this was an excellent choice, very close to to the Tram, the Train Station, the Bus Depot and the Waterfront. Excellent Shopping was close by as was a great selection of restaurants and things to do. I would not have to choose where I stayed on my next visit to Helsinki.

Room Tip: 7th Floor was awesome, stayed there both times. Get the Business Class Rooms with access to the loun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Kristof L,

First of all, Thank you so much for your amazing review!

And thank you for the great title to your writing: "What a Funky place to hang" - Our whole Team Plaza loved it!

It is great to hear you liked our design and the little things we have made to create something new. Hopefully the things you mentioned, like the light control panel and the colour changing room numbers are a fun experience to our guests

I am happy to hear you also had time to check out our Plaza Lounge - for business and pleasure. We and our guests believe it is a nice place to relax after work or if needed to continue working a little while. Even working becomes more fun with some little drinks and appetizers.

You are always warmly welcome to Plaza and hopefully we will see you soon again!

Happy New Year 2014!

Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel´s location is great as it is close to the central station and in walking distance from most attractions in Helsinki. It has a very modern, but at the same time warm design: instead of the annoying "Do not disturb" hanger there´s a switch in the room that changes the color of the room number, indicating if you want the room to be cleaned or not.
The room itself was also very modern, but the design was much warmer compared to other Radisson hotels I´ve stayed in. The bed was fantastic (even though it was a twin) and I cannot remember staying in a hotel with a better bed.
Only negative I can say is that the queue to the breakfast room was very long and there was only one person showing the guests to their tables, meaning that I had to wait a bit until being seated. And the coffee was served when I was about to leave the breakfast room.

Room Tip: I stayed at the third floor (no. 307) facing a quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear TravelingBeen,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It is great to hear that after renovating all our rooms the new design is warmly welcomed and liked by our guests. With the new style we wanted to bring our modern Finnish design together with the colourful past of our historical hotel building.

The beds are designed together with a Finnish company called Finlayson. We also have a wide selection of different kinds of pillows and blankets so that each guest can enjoy a good night's sleep and feel well rested on the next day.

However, I am so sorry for the rush-hour in the breakfast room. At times it can get quite busy there but we are working to find more efficient ways to work and make sure no one would need to wait for too long.

Welcome back to Helsinki and of course to The Plaza Hotel - Happy New Year 2014!

With Best Regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Very central location and very modern hotel. I cannot think of anything missing, though I must say they should improve their cleaning. The floor in my shower was wet when I arrived in the evening and there were several black hairs. That's just not good enough for this type of hotel, but it didn't ruin my overall experience.

Bed was extremely comfy, the products in the bathroom were of high quality and the breakfast has a very wide selection.

I can recommend eating at the nearby Pastis

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear DR1910

Thank you for your kind review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay even if the housekeeping couldn't provide you the quality that is definitely demanded.

I will discuss this matter with out Housekeeping Manager and bring your message to him. It is important for us to improve our service in all levels and for this all the feedback is helpful.

I am happy you found our beds comfortable. On your next stay you can even use our Blu Dreams Menu to choose the pillow and blanket that are exactly to your liking.

Hopefully we will see you in Plaza again soon.

Happy New Year 2014!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Lapland, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in the summer of 2013 with my wife, one year old kid and my mother-in-law who had her own room. The hotel was amazing and service top notch. Hotel was recently renovated and we loved the design. Location of the hotel couldn´t be better - it´s right in the middle of Helsinki and there is two minutes walk to the subway, railway and busstations. Breakfast and the hotel a la carte restaurant were great - good healthy food. Hotel sauna was good too and seemed like not too many people used it so it was not crowded. Extra points for the great service: employees (from the cook to the manager) help us kindly everytime we needed to heat food for the baby. Even though microwave in the room or in the corridor would have been even better so we wouldn´t have had to bother them. One more thing I have to mention is the beds and pillows. They have really invested in them. You can choose your own pillow that suits your sleeping position and taste from a large selection. My mother-in-law has a serious asthma and they gave her anti-allergic blanket and pillow. She said that she had never slept so well - not even in her home.

One thing I´d like to complain was that even though they had a nice little area for kids there was not much else for them. So maybe this isn´t the first choice for families even though the location near center and transportation is huge bonus when traveling with small children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Joni P,

Thank you for your amazing and warm review of Plaza. It is wonderful to read feedbacks like yours. And, though, reading good comments is always nice it is really through the ideas from the guests that we can try to make our service better.

It is lovely to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and the design there. Half our rooms are furnished and decorated in "Modern-style" while the other half is in "Classical-style. On your next visit perhaps you would like to try the one you maybe haven't seen yet.

Sleeping is such an important part of a pleasant stay that we have done our best to make sure our guests can enjoy a good night's sleep. I'm delighted to hear how perfectly this became true with your Mother-in-law. The beds and all the bedding are designed together with Finlayson.

The summer time being our busiest time with families we always try to come up with something nice for the children as well. But perhaps it is needed that we will still try to provide them something more. Thank you for brining this to our notion.


We wish that we can see you soon back at Plaza - Happy New Year 2014 to you and your family!


With warm regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel was fully renovated just a moment ago and you can see it immediately when you step in. Rooms are modern and half of them Scandinavian style and half "american style". Location is great and service has been always very nice and helpful.

It also used to have a pretty good restaurant but the current one is far from that.

If you arrive with a car prepare to walk some time or spend time to find a free spot from the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Founexgefi,

Thank you for taking time to write your kind review about Plaza.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our New style as well. While renovationg all the rooms we wanted to bring out the best sides or modern Finnish design but also let the wonderful history of our building to live on. And so the rooms are devided into "Modern-style" and "Classical-style" while both of course are equipped with the latest technology.

I am so sorry to hear that our Restaurant didn't live up to your expectations. I will send your message to our Restaurant Manager as well so we can take your feedback into consideration, as we are thriwing to make our Restaurant better with all the feedback we get.

Happy New Year 2014!


Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is really a great hotel, located well, very clean and nice and friendly staff. Free wifi in room is a definite thumbs up.
Minor downside - there are at least 3 Radisson Blu in Helsinki; something not very clear to a first-timer when you check in - you may land up in the wrong Radisson when you return after a night out! I found this the hard way and it is no fun trudging a few more kilometers in the freezing night to the right Radisson!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Aven734,

Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel. It is a delight to read you have enjoyed your stay at Plaza.

However, you are right about the fact that three hotels from the same company can cause some confusion, especially on the first time when the city is not that familiar to the guests yet.
I am sorry to hear you had to find this out on a cold winter night. But definitely I believe that was a one time mishap and I hope it didn't scare you off from staying as our guest again.

You are most welcome to Plaza at anytime your travelling brings you to Finland again

Happy New Year 2014!

with best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.