We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, just shy of great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, just shy of great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Radisson Blu Plaza is a perfect base for exploring Helsinki, with a super central location. The lobby is a bit disappointing, but the rooms themselves are quite nice, though a bit on the small side. The gym was surprisingly small. The staff was super friendly, and the breakfast room and spread was one of the nicest I've ever had. It is a very large hotel, as a warning for folks who care about that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear AdamYWW,

Thank you so much for your stay here at Plaza and for your nice review.

It´s alwayd great to hear so positive of our staff. Highly appreciated. Will forward your kind words. Our breakfast room and our restaurant are from 1920´ and protected by the National Heritage Board. It´s great you liked those.

I truly hope to see you here at Plaza again.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    265
    44
    6
    5
See reviews for
130
227
35
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very central location for a city trip, within close proximity to all tourist attractions and the bus and train stations. The hotel is also within walking distance to the ferry terminal where you take the Linde line ferries to Tallinn, Estonia. Hotel is clean and modern. Breakfast is amazing, spoil for choices of what to eat in the morning. Staffs were friendly and helpful. WiFi is free in the rooms. Overall, it's a good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Naiza A,

Thank you for kind review.

I truly liked your comment: " Overall, it's a good value for money. " And It´s also nice to hear you liked our rooms as well our breakfast and restaurant facilities. It´s always so great to read positive feedback of our staff. Thank you kindly for that too.

Take care and have a great autumn in Qatar!

You are a most welcome back to Plaza in the future!

With warm regards,

Mr.Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

+ Location, Location, location! In the centre of Helsinki
+ price meets the value
+ nice breakfast
+ good beds
+ minibar and water heater in room! For coffee.

? Ask for free a better pillow for example Futurex pillow
? Ask for bathrobes, free of charge again
? No free water bottles, but tap water is ok.

- their staff didn't know about those two features above, so they don't tell you :)
- If you like Late hour walking, keep this in mind. At night this part of centre can be wild, not for noise, but don't go wandering to near by alleys or speacially to park. They are famous for gangs. Nothing to worry in hotel area, though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Darrya,

Thank you so much for your kind review!

I loved your comments:
"+ Location, Location, location! In the centre of Helsinki
+ price meets the value
+ nice breakfast
+ good beds
+ minibar and water heater in room! For coffee."

Did you noticed that you can even borrow an foot and back massager´s after walking or sports?
Those are part of our Plaza Relax -concept and also as a free charge!

I will make sure that all of our new Plaza Team members and trainee´s have all the information to tell it to our guest´s. Thank you very much that you shared your knowledge with the other TripAdvisor users.

I wish you a pleasant autumn and peaceful winter time!
Looking forward to see you soon back in Plaza! Take care!

Warm regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I love Radisson Blu, one of my favourite hotel chain. Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki is in walking distance from Helsinki main train station, about 5 minuts walk. Hotel rooms are well decor, very modern and colorful. The bed are very comfortable, make me sleep well. Bathrooms are clean and tidy. Love Radisson Blu bath amenities as always. Buffet breakfast is good, many choice and good taste.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Kwanvin,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We wish you a pleasant winter time in Thailand, It is bit warmer there than here. Looking forward to see you soon back in Plaza!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1night.Awesome location.Easy walk from the train station.5 minute taxi ride to the Linda line ferry terminal. The hotel has fantastic breakfast. Rooms are good sized and clean.Staff were very friendly.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear NOMAD070,

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased to hear you liked our Plaza hotel, our spacious and clean rooms and our Super Breakfast. Location in the heart of Helsinki is one of our UPS (Unique selling points) and very important to our guests too.

Also like to thank you for your lovely comment "Highly recommended":

Hope you´ll be able to visit us in the near future again.

With Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The lady that did my check in was very friendly. She indicated on map attractions that she thought would be worth seeing. In Europe I find it hard to find relatively spacious rooms. I was very happy on entering room. Bathroom was spacious as well. This hotel is in a very central, upbeat area. All the sites, which were very few in my book were walking distance away. On leaving bellman was very courteous and took our bags to the taxi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Markphillip1,

Greetings from Helsinki to Trinidad and Tobago!

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments of Plaza Hotel. Makes me so proud to reading your lovely feedback of our staff. Will for sure share your comment to them.

I´m also very pleased to hear you really liked our rooms and other facilities too. And the location is very central as you mention.

So hope we´ll have a change to see you here at Plaza soon again.

With Warm Regards,

Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good located/ good accommodated - nice place for leisure. Too much staff in breakfast. Including local cuisine. Very friendly atmosphere and crew. The best one in Helsinki for sure. Miss our comfy suite. Thank u! Hope we will meet again!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Hotel Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Natalie_Holland,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. So nice you enjoyed your stay here with us at Plaza. Your lovely comment, "The best one in Helsinki for sure" delighted us everyone.

We also hope to see you here soon again. Your more than welcome!

With Kind Regards,

Petri Uronen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.