We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #5 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed for 1 night for business. Reception staff friendly but have me the wrong room number! The restaurant staff were v friendly. Breakfast was good. Nice variety of bread, cooked food and fruit. Would stay again. The location makes all the difference.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Colombus72,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we appreciate the prestigious time you have given us to wrote this nice review.

We wish you a pleasant autumn and welcome back to Plaza next time!

Kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    381
    61
    10
    7
See reviews for
175
311
49
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a standard room.

First positive experience:
Great location in the heart of Helsinki.
Excellent bed.
Stylish and modern decor.
Good breakfast.

Some disappointing elements:
Some worn tiles in the bathroom. No toilet brush (?!).
Torn off strip of isolation material under the enterance door.

Main concern:
We booked our stay via radissonblu.com.
It was unclear if a bed/sofa bed for our kid is included, so I contacted the hotel via email. I got a reply "I have added note to your reservation, that there will be extrabed for child included."
However when we entered the room, it appeared that there was nothing like this - no bed, no extra bed lining on the sofa. Only 2 bath towels.
During the check-out, we asked a receptionist to check our reservation. We expected to be charged less, since we haven't got any service for the kid. However he said that the extrabed was not originally included, and that the price was correct.
I sent an additional enqury regarding the reservation via radissonblu.com - still no response.

A bit more disappointig:
A day before deparure we asked a receptionist to book a taxi for us. We were 2 adults and 1 kid, and we requested an ordinary car (as far as I know, a minibus taxi to airport costs more). On the next morning, a minibus taxi arrived.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear NatalieOslo,

First of all I need to apologize all the inconveniences what you have found during your visit at Plaza hotel. Also lot of thanks to you about those nice things what you have mentioned on your review!

I have trying to found your contact details but I haven´t found those, so if its not too much to you: please can you contact to me directly via email: info.plaza.helsinki@radissonblu.com so we solve if there is still some open issues.

There is a same charge as on those van taxis and regular ones, I am truly sorry about the inadequate information.

Looking forward to hear about you.

With kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very nice hotel in the middle of Helsinki. Excellent service. We stayed for 4 nights in the junior suite with bath. There is also options with sauna if you prefer that.Very clean and nice rooms. The beds are excellent. Stylish and modern - Finnish design was nicely around. Location is superb! Staff is very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear ScandinavianHelsinki,

Thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read this kind of reviews, did you got time to try our Restaurant Kitzens?Our Kitzens Restaurant offers five different cuisines in one restaurant, you can experience our menu tablet´s and lots of other nice new innovations and of course the wonderful food and drinks.

We wish you a great autumn!

With best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Modern decor but with a cheesiness and lack of warmth. Nothing horribly wrong but one of those places you instinctively try to spend as little as possible time in. Some strange odors, dark hallways with funky spotlights. Staff not that friendly, not that rude, just getting through their day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear DC-Brussels,

First of all thank you for your prestigious time to give us this valuable review.
I need to apologize those inconveniences what you had found.

Your review remind us to keep on focus the Guest Service, you can had lot´s of nice things, but the most important is to keep the best service as an primal act.

Thank you once again and have nice autumn!

With kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is duplicate post as original seems to have dropped off? Radisson Blu cannot be faulted. Very good and clean without breaking the bank. Staff are lovely. Adrian (Dutch Lad) behind the bar is very helpful and gives you practical information about the city - his confederate (a Russian lad) was also very good. I wish then well in their careers! Room was a bit dark with limited view but cant really complain -is only the Yanks that complain. I recommend this hotel without reservation at all! Many thanks to all staff!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi CCT53,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
Adrian and the whole Team Plaza send greets to you!

Let us know when ever you are coming back to Helsinki and hopefully to Plaza, so maybe we can give you a private city tour with us!

With kind regards,

On behalf of the whole Team Plaza

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It is modern and stylish but something is missing... No character, staff are a little snooty and not a relaxing place to be. Doubt we would stay here again. They like there spotlights! There is a way to switch off the one in front of bathroom door on the control panel, look for night light.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear MandyHopeIsland,

We appreciate the time you took to give us your valuable feedback.

Thank you and have a wonderful autumn!

Sincerely yours,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall, a very nice property. First, it is well located, right across a small plaza from the Central Railway station. The Finnair bus goes directly there and is a convenient and inexpensive way to get to and from the airport. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the waterfront market, ferries to estonia, and many cafes ans restaurants. The rooms are clean and decorated in a modern yet traditional fashion. Comfortable bedding. The bathroom is spacious ....water pressure in the shower is very good. Room ventilation is both comfortable, quiet, and easy to adjust. Wi fi works very well throughout the property. Breakfast buffet is outstanding with many selections... Everything from a full American breakfast to European traditional breakfast.....well presented. The staff is attentive and friendly. Needless to say, we would return.

Room Tip: An email in advance to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear bobecus,

Thank so much for your amazing review - you even made me smile when I read that.
It is always a great pleasure to read those kind of reviews, cause that is why we do this work - and that is how like to do it!

You are a most welcome back in Plaza next time!

Take care and have good autumn!

With warm regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rezidor, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.