We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of Helsinki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsinki
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“In the middle of Helsinki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very nice hotel in the middle of Helsinki. Excellent service. We stayed for 4 nights in the junior suite with bath. There is also options with sauna if you prefer that.Very clean and nice rooms. The beds are excellent. Stylish and modern - Finnish design was nicely around. Location is superb! Staff is very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear ScandinavianHelsinki,

Thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel.

It is always a pleasure to read this kind of reviews, did you got time to try our Restaurant Kitzens?Our Kitzens Restaurant offers five different cuisines in one restaurant, you can experience our menu tablet´s and lots of other nice new innovations and of course the wonderful food and drinks.

We wish you a great autumn!

With best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    355
    58
    9
    7
See reviews for
168
295
42
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Modern decor but with a cheesiness and lack of warmth. Nothing horribly wrong but one of those places you instinctively try to spend as little as possible time in. Some strange odors, dark hallways with funky spotlights. Staff not that friendly, not that rude, just getting through their day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear DC-Brussels,

First of all thank you for your prestigious time to give us this valuable review.
I need to apologize those inconveniences what you had found.

Your review remind us to keep on focus the Guest Service, you can had lot´s of nice things, but the most important is to keep the best service as an primal act.

Thank you once again and have nice autumn!

With kind regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is duplicate post as original seems to have dropped off? Radisson Blu cannot be faulted. Very good and clean without breaking the bank. Staff are lovely. Adrian (Dutch Lad) behind the bar is very helpful and gives you practical information about the city - his confederate (a Russian lad) was also very good. I wish then well in their careers! Room was a bit dark with limited view but cant really complain -is only the Yanks that complain. I recommend this hotel without reservation at all! Many thanks to all staff!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi CCT53,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
Adrian and the whole Team Plaza send greets to you!

Let us know when ever you are coming back to Helsinki and hopefully to Plaza, so maybe we can give you a private city tour with us!

With kind regards,

On behalf of the whole Team Plaza

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It is modern and stylish but something is missing... No character, staff are a little snooty and not a relaxing place to be. Doubt we would stay here again. They like there spotlights! There is a way to switch off the one in front of bathroom door on the control panel, look for night light.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear MandyHopeIsland,

We appreciate the time you took to give us your valuable feedback.

Thank you and have a wonderful autumn!

Sincerely yours,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overall, a very nice property. First, it is well located, right across a small plaza from the Central Railway station. The Finnair bus goes directly there and is a convenient and inexpensive way to get to and from the airport. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the waterfront market, ferries to estonia, and many cafes ans restaurants. The rooms are clean and decorated in a modern yet traditional fashion. Comfortable bedding. The bathroom is spacious ....water pressure in the shower is very good. Room ventilation is both comfortable, quiet, and easy to adjust. Wi fi works very well throughout the property. Breakfast buffet is outstanding with many selections... Everything from a full American breakfast to European traditional breakfast.....well presented. The staff is attentive and friendly. Needless to say, we would return.

Room Tip: An email in advance to the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear bobecus,

Thank so much for your amazing review - you even made me smile when I read that.
It is always a great pleasure to read those kind of reviews, cause that is why we do this work - and that is how like to do it!

You are a most welcome back in Plaza next time!

Take care and have good autumn!

With warm regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Radisson Blu is located right in the heart of Finland. We arrived from Tallinn by boat and walked to the hotel without problems. In fact, the walk was fun because it takes you right through the center of town with lots of sites. The hotel itself has beautiful rooms with all of the comforts you expect from Radisson, even better is that it has much larger rooms that you usually get in Europe. The Radisson Blu is very close to public transport and has lots of restaurants around it. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Nick H,

What I can say - Thank very very much for your nice comments!
I truly hope that you can come back in Helsinki some day and of course to Plaza!

We wish you a great autumn at DC!

With best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is 5-10mins walk from Central Station, hence it's convenient to walk around. Our room faces Club Aussie and is noisy at night, especially weekend. Free WIFI in the room and lobby. The room is quite high-tech and comfortable. The buffet breakfast is good, although it can get boring at day 3. I like the Nespresso in the restaurant, but only 3 types of capsules is provided.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear bakupaku,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We provide also rooms with bit quiet locations, for example our rooms facing to our court yard are very quiet rooms. One of the unique features in our hotel and another Radisson Blu Hotels is the free WiFi and also in Finland the included breakfast. Even in Helsinki there is still some hotels that does not include the breakfast on their room prices - we think that the good start for the day is our Super Breakfast!

We hope to see you soon back in Plaza!

Have a great autumn!

Best regards,

Mr. Heikki Päätalo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#2 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.