We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Located in a historical building very near the Central Rail Station this hotel is an excellent choice to stay in Helsinki. Easy access to visit the city on foot. The interior has been recently renovated and presents a great decoration. Rooms are very comfort and innovative in light effects.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear CSFilho,

Greetings to Brazil from Finland!
It is always a pleasure to hear this kind of feedback, we are very proud of our newly renovated property - it is really fantastic!

Hope to see you back in Helsinki and Plaza, actually I am also planning my next trip to Natal.

Take care!

Bg,

Heikki Päätalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    275
    46
    6
    5
See reviews for
132
231
35
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Velsen
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here on business for a few days in April. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, spacious with a very modern design. The bed was of high quality, though very soft while my personal preference is for firm beds.

The breakfast buffet offered varied choices and gave me a tasty start of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Madjia,

Thank you very much about your kind review, the whole Plaza Team is sending greetings to you!
It is our passion to serve and take care of our guest's needs - we love what we do!

Take care and have a nice summer time!

Best regards,

Heikki Päätalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was very impressed...I previously stayed outside Helsinki on a business trip, then because of flight problems, I stayed in Helsinki for an additional couple of days...I met a couple of people staying at the other Radisson Blu...there wasn't any available room for my stay, but there was at least one at tbe Radisson Blu Plaza.
The interior is amazing as the staff is.
The deal was wonderful...it could be found on their website, too.
I was impressed by the design, so that I took pleany of pictures...they will be attached to my review.
Unfortunately yesterdayI didn't have any breakfast...I woke up too late...but I must say that today, for a very early breakfast (5 am) there was whatever was needed.
I must say that the hotel locatiin is perfect...yesterday I visited downtown up to the rock church and down to the open market, strolling through the design district, etc.
And do not forget: it is 5 min walking distant far from the central station and the bus 615 heading to thr airport...

Recommended

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your review.

I´m so pleased to hear our staff is/was amazing. That´s always very nice to hear.
Thank you also for nice comments of our newly renovated hotel. It seems it was money well spend.

Hope you´ll have a change to visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Radisson Blu Plaza in Helsinki is very nice. The interior is very interesting since they have managed to combine old part of the building with the new one and at least I found the result appealing. Hotel guests are mainly from abroad, so it is easy to get an international feeling while staying there. The location is very convenient, close to everything - but it does not disturb your sleep. My room - 305 - was spacious and the decoration was ok. The bed was one of the best ones I have slept in at at a hotel. The con with this hotel was that one of my cream bottles - the most expensive one - disappeared when I was staying there. It could not be found and the last place where I saw the bottle was my bathroom at the hotel. This was the first time I ever lost anything while staying at a hotel. The next time I go to Helsinki I do not think I will stay at Radisson Blu Plaza

Room Tip: I would not like to have a room facing the street which leads to the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heikki P, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Kathryn,

First of all thank you for your kind review. We have been looking for your lost item,
but unfortunately we haven't found anything. Our housekeeping manager has been trying to reach you via email, for more information about the lost item.

We are truly sorry about the inconvenience during your visit at Plaza.

If it is not too much trouble for you, please contact directly us: info.helsinki.plaza@radissonblu.com

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel was awesome! The location was amazing, close to everything! The rooms were super friendly and cozy and we had a comfortable experience. The room service and staff were awesome and did anything we wanted!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear HONdominik,

Thank you for your great feedback.

It´s so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay here at Plaza. And I never get tired of hearing so positive feedback of our staff. That´s so nice...

Have a brilliant summer. We´ll be waiting for your next visit with us!

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a very nice and convenient place, right in the middle of everything (but quiet), my favorite place in Helsinki.
helpful staff and nice rooms, ... pity that the hotel was still under refurbishment last time I was there, the sauna was closed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petri_Uronen, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your review.

Renovation is totally done, actually has been since beginning of this year. So please come to see new Plaza soon. We here are so proud of new Plaza.

And again it´s so wonderful to hear positive feedback of our staff. I´ll pass on your feedback for sure.

Kind Regards,
Petri Uronen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a glorious hotel that is slap bang in the middle of Helsinki but lovely and quiet. Newly decorated a few months ago, it's got so much attention to detail from an extensive menu at the restaurant being on computer tablets rather than a paper menu, to the gorgeous cocktail bar - very James Bond! - decked out in jewel colours, velvet upholstery, chandeliers and chic little table lamps, to the mattresses on the beds that are extremely comfy...I think I'd return for the mattress alone...!

The breakfast is every bit as luxurious and varied as they say it is. Allow some serious time in the morning to sample what is the largest breakfast buffet I've ever seen at a hotel - and there are lovely touches amidst a huge selection e.g. darjeeling tea, soy yoghurt and all manner of nuts and seeds, so if you want to stay healthy, it's absolutely no problem.

We found the staff warm, welcoming and were made to feel right at home. Which, in a large hotel of this size, is not always a given.

The sauna is a lovely touch and the gym, although small, meant you could work out with weights and cardio.

Some things that surprised us a little were that the cocktail bar was closed on Sunday and Monday evenings and we found the choice of movies you could buy (6 euro) via the TV in your room a little disappointing.

Overall, would highly recommend here!

Room Tip: If you want a view of Helsinki ask for a room that is on the outside of the building - there are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.