We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location- and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Vironniemi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location- and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Have used the Radisson Plaza as my "home" when staying in Helsinki for the last 6 years.
The hotel itself is a rebuilt headoffice, combining some of the classic charm and modern design.
The hotel is quite busy, both as traditional business traveller's hotel, and as a tourist hotel for groups.
The Restaurant offers a simple but good menu, to the Italian style side. The bar is often busy both as a dropin after work place and as the place you relax with papers - a book and a glass of wine or beer.
The location is excellent in the dead center of town- close to the main station and just 5 minutes walk away from the "Esplanade"

Room Tip: ASk for an upgrade.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto B, Guest service agent at Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Helge ,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

You are right : we are in the middle of everything . All the majority capital's spots are near by.
I am happy you liked the service of our staff , I will forward you feedback to them .

Let's hope to see you again at Plaza Hotel ,

Kind regards ,

Roberto Barbato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    400
    62
    11
    7
See reviews for
182
334
53
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Was at this place before. 5 minutes walking from the train station - great when you arrive/depart Helsinki by train. Walking distance to shopping and all major attractions. Staff is very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast is simple but with enough choices and very good quality. My only concern this time was a room on the second floor. It was of unusual design and attached to the exercise room - noisy if you want to get to bed early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a really nice hotel in central helsinki, within easy walk of bus and rail station. Great service and the room was very clean with good facilities.Communal sauna was empty and clean, so worth a visit. The draw here is the brilliant breakfast, just about everything available, great buffet. Lots of bread, fruit, yoghurts and pastries and a nice cooked selection. I would visit again if just for the breakfast.Easy wifi, great shower and close to everything. Staff were nice and recommended good eats locally.

Room Tip: rooms in the new wing are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here during a short visit to Helsinki.

We chose the hotel mainly because of it's central location, but also based on previous reviews. We do not regret it! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and both check-in and check-out was quick and easy, like it should be.

The room was clean, comfortable and modern - power outlets everywhere. I was kind of surprised when we went down for breakfast the first day - I did not expect such a big selection! Even though a lot of people ate breakfast at the same time, it never felt crowded due to the big space available.

The central location made getting around in Helsinki quite easy, walking distance to both train station, bus stops and tram stops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

7th floor room, definitely VERY specious room with great interiors , electricity slot everywhere, including USB ones in the wall, wireless internet for multiple devices, great location, middle of the town center. friendly staff

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved it all. Crazy tech-loaded room (upgraded to Business Class room at check in). Lounge was nice....cocktails in the evening and snacks all day. Comfy bed, TV in bathroom, friendly staff. As others have said, the breakfast is amazing...only better one I've ever had was at the Grand Hotel in Stockholm. I'll try to upload some pics later.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Business Class room - worth the upcharge if you want drinks in the evening and snacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed first in this hotel 10 years ago and what reminded me was the awesome breakfast served.
Check in was well done by a trainee....keep I up.
One annoying issue was to get to room and find the electronic key failed requiring a return to reception for a new key....and strangely a new room!
Room was small but for one night ok although €165 incl b/fast seemed good compared with Sweden, Norway or Denmark all of which have been visited in past months.
Wifi included was good and signal medium to strong. Note I refuse to use word 'free' since we all pay in the end.
Bed was soft and I think comfortable more because I was so tired.....
Breakfast as already mentioned......excellent.
Overall service was good and checkout uneventful......as should be expected.
Maybe I will not wait 10 years before coming back again.....trouble is my companies office is around €60 taxi to the north so it makes the choice difficult.
One final point.....great idea on video connections but it would help to provide av cables if required and a remote with strong batteries.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Fabian Hotel
#1 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Haven
#5 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Hotel Kamp
#6 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Mikonkatu 23, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#3 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Green Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Helsinki; convenient to the city's business, shopping & entertainment centers; near major transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.