We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated but perfectly acceptable Crowne Plaza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A little dated but perfectly acceptable Crowne Plaza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed here for three nights on business and had no issues with the hotel and would return. As an IHG Platinum/Ambassador member I was upgraded to the Club Floor and had access to the lounge, which was a little more basic and the drinks offering more restricted than other Crowne Plaza properties but all said, still a welcome gesture.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Jonathan H,

thank you for staying with us and for taking time to leave your comments. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel.

We look forward of welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    301
    85
    21
    17
See reviews for
48
143
73
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a standard room.Room and bathroom good size with queen bed and coffee service,fridge and safe.A little way out of city center and you either walk or take the tram downtown.We walked to the Olympic stadium hop on off bus stop and took the bus from there.If your room does not come with breakfast its E.23 pp and there are no cafes or restaurents close by.There is an Indian and Thai rest.close by for dinner.Finnair bus to the airport stops almost across the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear frankj,

thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We also have cafees and other restaurants close to our hotel. Our staff is happy to give you information about these next time you visit our hotel.

Thank you for taking time to leave your comments. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a standard business hotel in Helsinki. We had a good price for the stay, since we had a group booking and we were meeting in the Finlandia Hall just down the road the day after (which made it very convenient).

Walking to the Helsinki landmarks is quite a way, but can be done in about 20 minutes.

The rooms were nice, big windows (with blackout curtains) and big comfortable beds. I was very happy with the sound insulation as well, since the room overlooked the main road outside.

The bar was very stylish although, as with all Finland, was very expensive.

The breakfast was outstanding - lots of choice and of a very high quality. I really couldn't fault it.

The area around the hotel is a little bland and there is just one or two local restaurants where you could eat. Walking into town was a good option.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Emm3t,

thank you for your recent stay with us. It is nice to hear that you liked our hotel and enjoyed our breakfast.

We hope to see you soon again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Me and my family stayed here for 1 night and it was great! the rooms were huge and nice and comfortable the bed was the best bed I've slept in, we stayed on club level so we got a lot of little extras in the club entertaining area, like chocolates, croissants, coffee, and other little nibbles, we didn't have a great view but i don't think many people did either.
There was also a restaurant across the road that is highly recommended we had a great meal there.
Overall I'd defiantly go back.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear 880rebby,

thank you for your stay in our hotel and for writing your kind review. I am happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while in the city good location as I was using the main train station about a 10 minute walk from there or 2 minutes drive. Nice decor inside the lobby and bar area staff very friendly, rooms were to a good standard clean and well equipped. I did stay in a club level room so can't speak for a standard room. Overall would defiantly stay there when back in the city.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Toby3112,

thank you for your stay with us and for taking time to write your comments. I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel and our staff. I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

We hope to see you soon again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night as a stop over point in out trip to Ivalo. Room 806 was big and bright. The bathroom is was wide and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast was very nice. Specially bread and berries :) would definitely stay again

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear KateOz-13 ,

thank you for your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you liked our rooms and breakfast.

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you soon again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just got back from a 1 night business trip. Another great stay and was upgraded to the 8th floor. As I am now gold member! The room was spacious and offered great views of the park opposite and downtown Helsinki.

One thing has changed since my last stay , is the hotel pub has gone and been replaced by a meeting room. I was a little disappointed about this as on on previous stays I use to enjoy unwinding here after a day in the office!!! Luckily though one thing that still is on offer in the Hotel restaurant is the juicy delicious burger which I ordered that evening!

Just like to say Kiitos again to the staff who have always been courteous and welcoming.

I will be coming in September so hopefully after my 5th stay I am be offered a club lounge room!!

Till next time

Moi Moi

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Naila187,

thank you for staying with us frequently and for taking time to leave your comments. I am glad to hear that you like our hotel, the restaurant and staff. I will pass your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Crowne Plaza Helsinki in September.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.