We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, convenient location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Convenient location. Very close to city centre but can be expensive if not booked early....
Restaurant/bar has good beer and good dessert...
Good experience overall...
Rooms can be better but are spacious enough... Tv is confusing not many English channel...
View from hotel is pretty good (if on higher floor)..

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Raghu I,

thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    283
    79
    19
    16
See reviews for
47
133
70
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The hotel has an interesting history and Crowne Plaza has managed to update the interior while respecting some of the grandioso going back in time when this hotel was the number one in Helsinki. Lobby area is spacious yet a little unsurprising. Check-in on arrival was efficient and welcoming. The first impression is important. My room was on the 8th floor; modern, clean and quiet. Excellent matress, a pillow menu, good quality linen, well equipped bathroom, a good size tv. Service was good all around during my stay. Breakfast was ok - I have had better but also much worse. Downtown is a fairly short stroll away but I kind of like the location as it is close to the park and also offers a bit shorter travel time to and from the airport vs. downtown hotels.
Töölö area is interesting with plenty of good quality restaurants and a special atmosphere.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter and some of them offer a great view over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear globetrottingfin,

thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Helsinki and for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel and our service. Positive feedback is always nice to hear and it motivates our staff to try even harder.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at that hotel only for one night, as I was in Helsinki for business. The location was convienient for my meeting but it isn't super central. I have arrived very late at night. The check in was smooth and quick. I was upgraded to an executive suit, which was very nice. The suit was huge with a separate living room an dthebedroom and a very nice and large bathroom. Sheets were of a very good quality and so where the toiletries. I have ordered room service and it was good plus the service although it took a bit long was very nice. Wifi was included in the rate and the breakfast, which was delicious. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Pysiu,

thank you for your stay in Crowne Plaza Helsinki. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our hotel and our service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff.

We look forward seiing you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here for two weeks on business. Great location slightly out of Centre which if staying on business allows you to unwind due to it's location. Opposite a park and lake with a beach ten mins walk in the other direction. I deal for walking with plenty of restaurant options. Hotel well cared for if not perhaps the most modern, Superb gym and Sauna. Breakfast good but buffet positioning needs sorting; all the popular items are next to each other causing mini people traffic jams!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Simon D,

thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and liked the location of our hotel. I will pass your comments about the breakfast buffet also to our restaurant.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward of welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Helsinki soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was my third time in this hotel, and I can reccomend it as a solution for business reasons. It is located at walking distance from the Esplanade and also offers good connections with public transportations and airport shuttle is available (Finnair).
The hotel has reasonably clean rooms, comfortable beds, even though a little bit dated. Bathroom too small for my expectations, and shower was available only in the bathtub. Breakfast: fair quality and variety.
I didn't use the restauarant at dinner. Wifi is available free of charge and it worked perfectly. Fitness room was also ok.
They could improve the international tv channels availability.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear sangermain,

thank for your stays in our hotel and for taking time to write your comments. I am glad that you like our location and breakfast and that you think our hotel is good for business travellers.

We hope to see you soon again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed for 1 night for business.
Used to stay there a couple of times before many years back. Hotel slightly changed. Hotel and rooms better before.
Nice lounge at 9th floor, but hardly no snacks or food.
Relatively high priced for Helsinki center.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear 66-Route,

thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking time to leave your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide great service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

The hotels in Helsinki are very occupied in June and the rates are higher than during the low season.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write to us. I do hope that you give us the chance of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Crowne Plaza is located across from Hakasalmenpuisto park, short tram ride from the train station, and Kamppi bus station, making it a good choice for business visits to Helsinki. The area is also close to Töölöntori square and nearby restaurants.

The FinnAir airport bus makes a stop near the hotel, prior to a final stop at the train station.

Helsinki restaurant scene benefits from development of "gastro pub" style restaurants. Ravintola Kuu (Moon) is just around the corner and a popular choice within this form.

There is a spa and pool in the basement. This is also the location for the hotel sauna, which means that it is tightly controlled, not allowing usual custom of beer/alcoholic beverages in the sauna.

Room Tip: Access to club level lounge is convenient for evening setting of beer, wine and snacks. There are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear yrlesru,

thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write your comments. Thank you also for sharing your tips about the surroundings of our hotel.I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward of welcoming you soon again to Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.