We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice business friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Crowne Plaza is located across from Hakasalmenpuisto park, short tram ride from the train station, and Kamppi bus station, making it a good choice for business visits to Helsinki. The area is also close to Töölöntori square and nearby restaurants.

The FinnAir airport bus makes a stop near the hotel, prior to a final stop at the train station.

Helsinki restaurant scene benefits from development of "gastro pub" style restaurants. Ravintola Kuu (Moon) is just around the corner and a popular choice within this form.

There is a spa and pool in the basement. This is also the location for the hotel sauna, which means that it is tightly controlled, not allowing usual custom of beer/alcoholic beverages in the sauna.

Room Tip: Access to club level lounge is convenient for evening setting of beer, wine and snacks. There are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear yrlesru,

thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write your comments. Thank you also for sharing your tips about the surroundings of our hotel.I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward of welcoming you soon again to Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    331
    90
    21
    18
See reviews for
53
158
78
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just come back from a two day stay in Helsinki. Crowne Plaza was a good choice. Very clean. Friendly staff at both reception and in the restaurant. OK it's a 15 minute walk into town which probably wouldn't be a lot of fun if the weather's grim, but still a good location. I wouldn't say the hotel has a huge amount of character, but I can't think of anything that was particularly wrong with it at all and I would recommend it to anyone going to Helsinki. Also probably the best night's sleep I've had for some time, so 10/10 for the bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mark A,

thank you staying with us and for leaving your kind comments about your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind commments to our staff both at the reception and in our restaurant.

We hope to see you soon again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is clean with good sized rooms and bathroom. The only draw back is that it is a little way from the city centre. However it is a walkable distance. The wi-fi is free and good. Buffett breakfast was OK

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Dodger52,

thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your comments. It is nice to hear that you liked our rooms and enjoyed your stay.

Our hotel is situated next to Töölö bay and park area but only one kilometer from the central railway station.

We hope to see you soon again in Crowne Plaza Helsinki.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Everytime I'm visiting Helsinki I try to book this hotel as it's excellent in practically all aspects. Rooms are comfortable and spacious, breakfast is good, hotel location is also great - about 10-15 mins walk or 10 mins tram ride to the city center (Kamppi/Forum/central railway station area). There's also a nice gym in the hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Zdq,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you like our hotel and want to stay here every time when you visit Helsinki. We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful experience and service they have received. We will be sure to pass you kind words to our staff.

Thanks again for choosing Crowne Plaza Helsinki. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for one night on a weekend trip with my boyfriend. This hotel exceeded my expectations.

The room (standard double room) was very nice, it was clean and spaceous. Aircondition worked nicely and the bed was comfortable. Bathtub was a lovely bonus. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The breakfast had nice variety and there were enough of everything. The location of the hotel is excellent, 15 min walk from the main railway station.

Only thing I would complain was that there were not enough staff at the reception when we checked out, we had to wait for a while to get on our way.

I would recommed this hotel to my friends and family. Also I would cladly use this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Valdirah,

thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. We are pleased to know that you found our staff and service excellent and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

Thank you for your kind words, positive feedback is always nice to hear. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotel soon again.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located a 15 minute walk from the Esplanade. There is a tram stop just down from the hotel and a full day ticket costs 8euros. The Finn Air shuttle bus will leave you very close to hotel from the airport.
The hotel has reasonably clean rooms , comfortable beds and a good shower. The furniture is a bit dated. I didn't use the restauarant so cannot comment. Wifi was available free of charge which was good.
My main issue with this hotel was the miserable reception at check in. The staff were dour and miserable. I almost felt like turning around and changing hotel. Many of the Finns we met were pleasant but maybe this is a cultural phenomenon.The management should do something about customer service. It was a pity as the city is a beautiful place to visit.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Colin M,

thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve.

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive friendly service during your check in. Friendly service is very important to us. We will go through your comments with our staff to improve our service.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance in the future to make your stay as best it can be.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. Whilst the room itself was fine but services and breakfast was poor.
The room was suffocating and when I complained that the air conditioner was making a noise I was told that the maintenance staff would be available on the next day. Could not sleep with the window open as I had a street facing room and it was noisy. The next day the maintenance staff switched off the air conditioner totally and the room was suffocating but I was provided with a table fan which provided some relief.
Most of the staff were unsmiling and when asked for anything displeasure would show on their faces.
Due to my Gold Elite status I was entitled to a free newspaper but delivery was erratic. Some days I did not receive it and on some days I found the newspaper hanging from my door knob when I returned late from work.
Breakfast was the same everyday for 4 days. A blindfolded person can pick up food from the breakfast buffet as the food and the location of it does not change. The lady manning the egg station is overworked and when one orders eggs the first thing she says is it will take time.
Ate dinner at Macu restaurant one evening. The food was good. There was a voucher for a free glass of champagne in my room which I used and got a decent glass of champagne.
Would avoid staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid a street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Sheilasarkar,

thank you for your recent stay with us and your review. We are deeply sorry that we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We will go through your comments with our staff. We have also forwarded your comments to our restaurant.

I have taken a note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to improve our service. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Best regards,
Anna Kauppila
Duty Manager
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Park Helsinki
#19 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#25 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#20 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.