We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I frequently visit the CP Helsinki on business. Although I have a few gripes the hotel is consistently good and manages to retain my business as a frequent guest.

Location is good and the town center can be reached in 10 mins on foot. Breakfast is excellent and offers a wide selection. IHG Rewards members are recognised and upgrades frequent.

On the negative side, room cleaning is often lacking. Bedding is never changed even on stays of a week and often the bathroom is not properly cleaned. Most staff at reception are excellent but a few are not the most friendly.

With a few tweaks to the soft product this really would be an excellent not just good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    258
    68
    17
    13
See reviews for
41
122
66
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Looking at the hotel reception and elevator hall you wouldn't expect a very modern and new room - but they are and it was a great surprise, easy to connect internet, superbly clean bathroom. Breakfast was good as well.
2 single duvets in a queens bed was the only miss in my point of view - if this is fixed together with giving the lobby a more modern look, it will be imbeatable!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were on a weekend vacation and had a promotion discount rate for Crowne Plaza Helsinki.
Welcoming staff, and impressing lobby area, though the hotel was built in the 1970s. First we got a smoking room and the minibar didn't work. A quick call to the reception and everything was organized in 5 minutes (The receptionist brought new key cards us to room) and we were accommodated to a bigger room which had a nice view to the Mannerheiminkatu and was non-smoking.
Breakfast was fine - as usual in Finland - with lots of choices. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Make it clear that you want a non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaarina, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We tried the Crowne Plaza Helsinki for a one night trip to the capital. We chose this hotel partly because they offer on-site parking at the hotel in their own garage.

Our first impressions were positive, the hotel was clean, the staff was courteous and the interior and decor of the hotel was at the higher end of the spectrum. Admittedly the age of the hotel is starting to show, but it wasn't of any bother to us. We requested a room on the higher floor and the hotel sure delivered, our room was on the 7th floor and had a great view to the park.

The room itself was really nice, clean, big enough for two and in good condition. The only negative was the poor sound insulation on the windows, you could hear the traffic from the busy streed below. As an upgrade recommendation, I think they should upgrade the insulation to modern day level.

We booked our room including the breakfast buffet, which was great. There was a multitude of choice, and no matter if you eat a "regular" diet, low-carb or whatever, you'll find many things to eat. The quality of the food was also top notch and their coffee was excellent.

The hotel is located a little bit outside the innermost center of the city, which was a good thing for us because we came in by car. As said earlier, the hotel has their own parking garage, and when you go to the city from the hotel you can either walk (about 15 mins), take a tram from the nearby stop or take an expensive taxi. Personally I recommend walking if the weather is nice, there are a few nice sights to see on the way and the distance to Forum shopping center for example is about 1,5 km's.

All in all I can recommend the Crowne Plaza Helsinki both for couples and business travellers.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stay in these type of hotels all the time on business and this hotel is pretty much what you would expect from a global chain catering essentially to business travellers.
What set them apart was the way they handled a follow-up issue I had. I left an expensive necklace in the room and on emailing the hotel, they confirmed that they had found it and would ship it to me in London free of charge. It arrived yesterday safe and sound.
It's the small things that make the difference in these big chains and they did a great job here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Good location, a 15 minute walk away from town centre, or a 5 minute (14 Euro!) taxi ride. Rooms quite spacious, had good city view from 8th floor, nice bar, good breakfast. Just be prepared for the Finland prices, Helsinki is the most expensive city I have visited, from meals to clothes to absolutely everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had 3 nights business/pleasure trip at Helsinki. Crowne Plaza was booked because brand and also 3 nights needed more space so I booked Junior Suite, website showed much more room space than actually were.

It was world smallest suite, I have had more space on regular room than this "suite" it was real Junior and also 4th floor and view from window was back street, very dissapointed when think that platinum member should get some notice, 1 item from minibar was ours.

Check-in were prompt, fast and clean, hotel looks new, clean and prompt, expensive restaurant had nice food and friendly service, breakfast was normal, bad taste coffee, but maybe not used taste of water. Check-out couldnt be more boring for receptionist, she didnt even ask about our stay, didnt explain bill, but more focus with another customer.'

Club room is boring, one room, can live without it very well, have tried this hotel now 3 times, I think it was last time, world smallest suite was clean, but you have work desk with chair and you should sit space of 10cm between chair and desk because bed is so close... it was joke, remove soffas and made this to be large 2 person king room, much more nicer.

Room Tip: do not book Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Jimmy2712,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. It is nice to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We are very sorry you were not so pleased with your recent stay at our hotel and offer our sincere apologies for the poor service and conditions you experienced, which are certainly not up to our usual standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.