We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
South East England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Good location, a 15 minute walk away from town centre, or a 5 minute (14 Euro!) taxi ride. Rooms quite spacious, had good city view from 8th floor, nice bar, good breakfast. Just be prepared for the Finland prices, Helsinki is the most expensive city I have visited, from meals to clothes to absolutely everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    258
    68
    17
    13
See reviews for
41
122
66
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had 3 nights business/pleasure trip at Helsinki. Crowne Plaza was booked because brand and also 3 nights needed more space so I booked Junior Suite, website showed much more room space than actually were.

It was world smallest suite, I have had more space on regular room than this "suite" it was real Junior and also 4th floor and view from window was back street, very dissapointed when think that platinum member should get some notice, 1 item from minibar was ours.

Check-in were prompt, fast and clean, hotel looks new, clean and prompt, expensive restaurant had nice food and friendly service, breakfast was normal, bad taste coffee, but maybe not used taste of water. Check-out couldnt be more boring for receptionist, she didnt even ask about our stay, didnt explain bill, but more focus with another customer.'

Club room is boring, one room, can live without it very well, have tried this hotel now 3 times, I think it was last time, world smallest suite was clean, but you have work desk with chair and you should sit space of 10cm between chair and desk because bed is so close... it was joke, remove soffas and made this to be large 2 person king room, much more nicer.

Room Tip: do not book Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Jimmy2712,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. It is nice to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We are very sorry you were not so pleased with your recent stay at our hotel and offer our sincere apologies for the poor service and conditions you experienced, which are certainly not up to our usual standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A modern hotel with friendly, highly qualified staff. Room was rather spacious and good decorated. Breakfast was excellent. As for me, the location is just wonderful. Peaceful, with a lot of museums and city sights within walking distance of the hotel. I guess, I will stay in this hotel one more time with great pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel. We first had a superior queen room. The room was a good size and the view was nice towards the city. However, the windows were not sound insulated well enough and we could hear the traffic from the main road. I also could feel the vibrations when trucks would go by. After sleeping in this room one night we asked to be put in a quieter room. The staff was very willing to do this (I think this is often requested since they did not say anything about this). We were then given a smaller room way in the back of the building on the 8th floor in what they call the quiet sleeping area. I think a hotel should have all rooms quiet. The hotel is in need of updating. We did eat one night in the hotel pub and the food was good. We did not try the breakfast because we felt it was too expensive. We tried the pool out. I think the spa, workout area and pool are open to the public or for membership. The staff was ok. The beds were comfortable. I think the hotel should supply slippers in the rooms. I do not feel this hotel is a four star.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear chopin77,

Thank you for being leaving us a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry for any inconvenience the outside noise may have caused you during your stay. However, we are glad to read that you were got a quieter room. We do value the comments we receive from our guests as these help us improve the quality and service that we offer.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. Again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Ok so this hotel is not the newest or closest to the waterfront but I had an enjoyable 3 night stay recently on a short break to Helsinki. Easy to get to and from the airport via the Finnair Bus. Club floor room on top floor was worth the extra money with nice view of the city and comfortable club lounge available with continental breakfast and evening snacks served. I also found this an informal way of meeting other guests. You could help yourself to drinks at any time. Ate one night in the pub & only found the food very average. Rooms nicely designed & had everything you needed for your stay. Didn't have a lot interaction with the staff but when I did found them helpful & friendly. Would definitely stay here again if I return to Helsinki.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I really like the Crowne Plaza in Helsinki, I don't know why but coming from the UK it has a really warm ans almost nostalgic feel.

The hotel is very modern, but stylish and well lit, and it has an almost retro 70's feel, in a very comforting way.

The bar and restaurant are very nice and I thought the service was impeccable, attentive but discreet. Or is that a Finnish thing?

I will be back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokia, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very good hotel located not too far from city centre, tram stop in front of hotel. Very quiet and spacy room, comfortable pillows. Very helpfull staff. Breakfast was good but little crowded. Tram stop. Maybe little expensive compared to some others centrum hotels, but quite often you can get really good prices fort this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.