We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but little out of the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but little out of the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here one night.

The room and the bathroom were clean. The beds are very comfortable. High quality bed sheets.

The rooms are large enough.

Very friendly personnel.

The only downside of the hotel is that you need to walk to the city center for 20-30 minutes.

Taxis are expensive.

The hotel has excellent amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    258
    68
    17
    13
See reviews for
41
122
66
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall, a nice place to stay. We stayed here for four nights. Our room was reasonably sized, plenty of room to store our luggage and backpacks. The breakfast was excellent, with reasonable variety, although it didn't vary during the four days. There was a nice coffee machine for a fresh expresso or latte 24 hours a day. The gym was excellent, a very nice variety of equipment. Although the hotel is a not in the City Center, it was still an easy and convenient walk into the city; it was a 30 minute walk to catch the ferry to Tallinn, the train station only a 20 minute walk. The place is lacks much character but otherwise, it was a nice place to stay, and we would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed a week in a club floor room but the club lounge is not open Friday to Monday except for coffe/tea and very basic snacks. Furthermore the lounge was not monitored by staff and at times the coffee cups were all used and stacked up in the sink without the staff noticing or having any clean cups available for other guests. English language newspapaers are not regularly available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Tripper255068,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our club floor. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had read some of the not so good reviews on Tripadvisor and were reluctant to go to this hotel. But it was the only nice hotel in walking vincinity of the Finlandia hall where we needed to be for a conference. We made sure we had a quietly situated room, there is a quiet zone on the 8th floor. Our room was renovated, (fairly) clean and quiet and after we had asked for softer pillows, we slept very well in this hotel. The beds are nice and the breakfasts are great. In the basement is a big fitness centre and pool, spa etc. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to Stockmann, the biggest and most famous department store in Helsinki. You can also take one of the trams which are close of the hotel. People in Helsinki are very friendly, everybody will help you find the way.

Room Tip: On the back of the hotel, on a higher floor, 8th or 9th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

As a participant in Helsinki City Marathon I chose to stay at Crowne Plaza, because it is very close to the start and finish line. It is also only 10 minutes walk from the center of Helsinki, so the location could not be better. And even the airport bus stops just outside.
But I might have chosen it anyway; the quality of the hotel was very good. Friendly and competent staff. Large lobby with free coffee at all times, fresh and hot, because each cup was brewed with fresh beans and freshly boiled water.
Nice clean room and bathroom. A bathrobe in the room, so you could go down to the pool and the large sauna in your bathing clothes.
The only minus was the waiting time in the restaurant after the marathon. There were many marathon runners because of the location, and many of them had chosen to dine at the hotel. And the kitchen was clearly not prepared for that, and was understaffed. But they tried to compensate with a discount on the restaurant bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My room in the Crowne Plaza was very comfortable and I found the staff pleasant and helpful. The location of this hotel makes it easy to access the city via the tram system. The breakfast selection included many non-grain options, and the gym has olympic bars and bumper plates available in addition to the typical global-gym machines. There is also a sauna and pool available neither of which I used. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were really pleased with the hotel. We caught the Finnair Bus from the airport and it stops a short walk from the hotel (Hesperian Puisto stop) - this was especially convenient as we landed at 11pm and were able to take the bus straight to the hotel and we had a lot of luggage with us. Check-in was fast and the staff was very friendly. The room was really nice and we slept really well. Although the hotel is not right downtown, it is only a short walk from the centre of the city. There is also a tram stop right outside the hotel that you can take into the centre. There is a lovely park right in front of the hotel and there are cafes and supermarkets close by. We were able to take the Finnair bus from across the road back to the airport as well, which was great. We are returning to Helsinki for the Christmas Markets and are already looking forward to our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;