We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Helsinki
1 review
“Good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice hotel in the centrum of Helsinki. The staff is not attentive to guest but overall the hotel is good! I am a platinum priority club member and I was accommodate on a special floor where you can in the evening have free of charge some drinks like wine or beer!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    306
    85
    21
    17
See reviews for
49
148
74
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

l stayed there for 3 days. it was very nice and comfortable location. lt is located near the train station. The bed was very comfortable, and service was very good. The hotel was very clean, bed was soft and comfortable. However, the parking price is quite high.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on business and had a club room. Room was spacious and very warm, bed comfortable and bathroom ok. Club lounge was good no problem finding somewhere to sit in the evening and at breakfast the next morning it was empty. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I visited this hotel for 3 nights in February 2013. I booked it through Booking.com and found the service very good. The welcome at the hotel was warm and friendly. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre, no more than twenty minutes even in the snow! The room was easy to find and the corridors and lifts were spacious and very clean. The room was fairly standard, again very clean, but we found the arrangement of the wardrobes outside the bathroom very awkward, especially if two people are sharing. We also found it highly annoying that although there was a well-stocked minibar, there was no fresh milk for morning tea or coffee. The TV was OK but if you wnated films etc., it cost 33 Euro a day! Generally we found Helsinki to be very expensive as regards food and drink, so we didn't use any of the mini-bar and we didn't use the restaurant. The bed was comfy and we had good nights' sleep, room cleaning whlie we were out was average.... empty cups left for example. The pool was lovely and never crowded and the gym and sauna were tidy, clean and well-equipped. Taking a sauna in the nude was a new experience! We were late arriving (12.30 am because of flights but this was no problem. Not a bad place to stay, but if I was going again I would probably look at other options.No breakfast either!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is very easy to reach from the airport buy using the Finnair Bus ~£6:00 single ( bus stop 100 metres down the road). my hotel room was very spacious, clean, comfortable and had a fantastic shower. Free WiFi if you join the priority rewards scheme (Free). The food was nice. I did not use the Fitness suite so cannot comment. Within easy walking distance from anywhere and it has tram and bus links directly outside. if I went to Helsinki again I would defiantly use this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed several times at Crown Plaza in Helsinki. Last time I used it was in 2009. Unfortunately there has not been any renovation. The lobby is quite good but the rooms (at least my standard room) and the public areas at the floors need uplifting. The carpet at the floors were terrible. The furniture in my room was a little worn and the sink at the bathroom had a hole. The cover of the bed had stains as well the shower curtain.
Furthermore they have done a quiet zone at the floor I stayed. But the noise from other rooms and especially the very noisy doors don't help to make the area quiet.
The buffet breakfast is "so and so", nothing special. You don't get value for your money (21 euros). The juices are coming from a machine, not fresh, rolls have to be taken by your own hand (think about the hygiene). Tables have plastic table cloth, the same they had when the hotel was re-opened several years ago. Compared to the hotels in Central Europe there is a lot to do.
Furthermore if you pay the full price around 180-250 euros/night it is absolutely too much.
I like the area, it is not so far from the city center, walking 10 minutes, by tram 3 minutes.
I hope they start renovating the hotel and change the company who is taking care of the restaurant and the buffet-breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Kerstin354,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the condition of the entire property. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sometimes Crowne Plaza has good deals on booking.com - usually without breakfast though.

Anyway, hotel is 1km out of center, trams stop is next to and walk to the center is nice via Töölönlahti area. Hotel itself is build 70-80s but at least the room I was in have had some renovation. No complaints, expect I got smoking room instead of non-smoking and couldnt change it until the next day. Bit irritating but it happens.

Breakfast price is bit hefty, as well as overall prices at the hotel bars. Didnt have time to test any spa.

Area is very nice and completely ok for business / tourism.

Hotel is ok but nothing special - plain chain hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.