We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
cleveland england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice & clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was here as part of group of people from 6 different country's on work course. Was more than happy with hotel. Food was nice & bar was soon full & lively by 8pm. Staff are good & helpful. Bar had good selection of beers. Also was very secure with cards needed for lifts. Plenty of people there & enjoyed food as I did. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    247
    67
    17
    11
See reviews for
38
111
64
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Central location on their biggest street in the city. Approx 30 min from the airport with taxi, for between €30-45.
Friendly staff and a big lobby area with good seating. A good restaurant and pub on entry level.
The breakfast is one of the better I have eaten at, for being a chain business hotel. Very good selection of everything.
Rooms are big, but a bit wear and tear on them, but still ok. Large windows with nice view. All amenities needed are there; safe, water boiler, TV, wi-fi, etc..
Access to a huge gym and pool is free in charge, which is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Aksel,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked this through expedia as it looked to be good value. The rooms are comfortable and good size. The room had a view over the lake which was beautiful. The gym is fantastic. The price we paid was very reasonable, however it excluded breakfast. To include breakfast would have cost 22 euro per day which I think is very steep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Moi

Stayed again at the Crowne Plaza for the second month in a row on another business trip and it was as good as my first visit!

Emailed a week before if I could stay in the same room as last time and my request was fulfilled.

Breakfast was good and stuff again very attentive.

Fidel's Bar was opened after the winter so spent a couple of nights after work to eat and unwind and just as the last time the food was great and the football was on what a result.

Didn't use the large gym and other facilities in the fitness centre but hey there's always a next time!

Kiitos Crowne Plaza

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napajedla, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Helsinki is lovely place to live so i maybe can not be objective, but this stay was great. Nice pub with very expensive Glenfiddich whiskey, big and almost empty (i mean of people) pool and sauna to relax after trip to the capital. Would stay again when return and i will return :)
Airport bus stops cca 200m close to hotel. Best to see the town is catch a Tram and go around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the New Year's eve. Good choice, because it was so convenient to follow the fireworks over Töölönlahti from the hotel room.

In my opinion this hotel (former Hesperia) has passed its glory days, like Hilton Strand or some of the Radissons at Helsinki. The decoration of this big hotel is from 1980s, bold style...

The staff at Reception was very kind and helpful. Our room was clean, but the desk had been repaired with tape and the TV was very small. Also the noise insulation was poor, you could hear the traffic noise through the window. Probably the hotel architechture makes it expensive to replace the windows? The room temperature was ok, and the bathroom had just been refurbished.

There was a good variety at the breakfast; good pastry, berries and fruit plus Nespresso coffee machine for cappuccino etc. However, I doubt if the breakfast is worth 21 € per person. Plus the extra fee for an omelette (9 euros and something) ... that is just ridiculous. Either the service is available, or it is not.

Some tips:
- If you travel to/from the Helsinki-Vantaa airport, you may want to consider taking the Finnair bus, which stops at Hotel Scandic Continental (these two hotels are located next to each other).
- For a quality dinner at cosy athmosphere: restaurant Kuu is located around the corner (behind the hotel) serving well prepared Finnish meals. A table reservation is a must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a gift certificate for an overnight in club room. We told that on the phone when we booked the room. They were a little sceptic about that, which is a little bit strange. The receptionist told us that we had an upgrade to club room and seemed to be surprised reading our gift certificate where was written " accomodation in a club room"...
This is not a big problem but it was not actually a welcome to us...

We anjoyed our stay anyway. Room was good, breakfast was great. Unfortunately we did not have time to enjoy the club lounge services but it was a nice extra anyway.

There is a pillow menu in the hotel but I could not find any information about it. The pillows in the bed were huge but I could not find any thinner ones there. :-(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#16 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#18 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.