We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Hotels in Helsinki...excellent gym and spa...watch the price of the room service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the better Hotels in Helsinki...excellent gym and spa...watch the price of the room service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

So after ruling out Scandic Grand Marina for it's arrogant pricing and two star accommodation, I opted for the Crowne Plaza. In a lovely spot near the Opera House, this hotel boasts a wonderful gym - perhaps the best of any hotel in Helsinki. All the equipment and decent cardio machines one could hope for. Nice to see a spa too. Breakfast is pleasant and nicely done. There is free WiFi if you have joined the Priority Points Club (even at the basic tier) and rooms not bad although a common complaint I find of many hotels is there insistence on twin beds! Give me a King Size of Marriott proportions please! Downsides of this hotel are the bathroom which floods when the shower is on - room 647! And room service; well ok it might be 23.30h but a) there is no menu and b) when you call there is a stunned silence that you ACTUALLY want room service to which you are given just 3 options; Chicken Caeser, Mozarella Sandwich or a BLT Sandwich...fine if those options 'float your boat' but add on an orange juice and you'll be the princely sum of 27.40 EUR worse off! Come on Crowne Plaza - that must cost 4 EUR to make at most! I think I spent the same in the restaurant downstairs (nice restaurant menu actually) and that got me seafood and a couple of tapas dishes and a beer! So all in all a decent place - just watch for the pitfalls and, may I add, the people who do not observe the British discipline of queuing for a taxi...here they just push right in (not necessarily the Finns before I upset the locals). Enjoy this place and take a run/walk around - beautiful setting.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneRoininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
All your comments will be forwarded to the relevant departments for
further review.
Thank you for your stay and we hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    258
    68
    18
    13
See reviews for
41
124
66
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

I have planned to stay at this hotel for tonight (May 27th). i have decided to choose prepaid conditions. however, due to Vulcano claud, i have been forced to cancel my trip. i have sent message to the hotel management explaining situation.
they refused to credit me amount. not even keeping amount for my next stay. i consider this a very bad attitude and luck of service.
i travel thru the Scandinavia and Finland quite often and never had such a bad service. i strongly suggest to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Sir,
I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused , when you had to change your travel
plans. Prepaid nights are usually non refundable.
This situation is however different.I would ask you to contact me with canselled flight information and we shall continue from there.
Sincerely, Mrs Roininen, Director, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

When I was told I was staying in a Crowne Plaza for work I was a bit trepidatious, I've stayed in some that were grim, but not this one.

The receptionist was very helpful and the room was very comfortable. The air-con worked well, the under-floor heating in the bathroom was a nice touch, house-keeping couldn't have been more helpful and there were an array of pillows to choose from.

The downsides - all that detritus chain hotels love to spread around your room, which I have to collect up and put in a pile so my own detritus doesn't get mixed up with it and left behind.

The tv was the smallest I've seen in a hotel for a long time, it also had that horribly slow system where you have to keep rejecting their special offer and the choice of tv channels was poor.

Also, the alarm had been set for 0740 so I was woken up at 0540 uk time, surely they could check this had been switched off? A small oversight? Exactly the same thing happened with my colleague in another room. Add to that that housekeeping were knocking on my door later that day as I had been unable to locate the 'Do Not Disturb' sign, another colleague told me they're kept in the wardrobe! Slightly annoying, keep your rubbish about movies in the information folder and the Do Not Disturb sign on the door!

They're all small moans which is why the hotel still gets 4 stars in my opinion, apart from my quibbles my stay was really rather good!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roininen, Director,Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank You for the review about our hotel.
This is wery important information to us as we
are genuinely doing our best to improve the quality
service for the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had two nights in Crowne Plaza Hotel in Helsinki. The rooms were comfortable and quite big. We liked that there was no carpet but wooden floor. Great breakfast and good service. Not all conference rooms had enough light from the outside, i.e. the small ones. Breakfast was of good quality and rich choice. Same is true for lunch. 15 min walking distance to the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Junior Suite, was very nice.

Everything was fine expect the cleaning, there was some small things like hair in the bathroom.. And non-working lights at the bathroom.

Ice-cube maker also didn't work..

Staff was GREAT, very nice people..

Room Tip: Use hotels internet page
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Amazing hotel, very useful staff. Room service was always prompt, really know how to look after their guests and ensure a worry free stay.
Be careful with the phone charges- I guess this is the same in all hotels in finland but they do charge you for use of the room phone, even for local calls. If you plan on making a lot of calls, getting a local simcard is a cheaper option.

If you are getting standard rooms- ask for the ones opposite the staff elevators. Ugly view, but the rooms there are huge. For the same price, 2 queen size beds, a large bathroom and an in room bar. Plus, its more secluded from other rooms so you get more quiet (or you can be louder without distracting other guests!).

Room Tip: Opposite staff elevators (larger)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Used the hotel as a hub in between travel to other locations in Finland. This was done in two portions. What impressed me is the value for money offered in such a location and city. Spacious room, clean and with enough space in the bathroom which becomes a real problem in big cities.
Its proximity to shopping areas is another attraction. The 'airport bus stop' is right round the corner. The hotel staff are very courteous and friendly. If one is coming back after checking out for a day or two, there is a left luggage locker.

Breakfast is sumptuous and has a wide range. However, they may still want to look at providing some choice for the Vegetarian (no meat), apart from the salad and fruits.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki

Address: Mannerheimintie 50, Helsinki 00260, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS Hesperia Hotel Helsinki)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#17 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Helsinki - a premium business hotel in the centre of Helsinki - offers luxury service and comfort. Situated opposite the Finnish National Opera, close to the Finlandia Hall, Olympic Stadium and the Helsinki Fair Centre the Crowne Plaza Helsinki is one of the finest hotels in Helsinki.The hotel has 349 stylishly decorated modern rooms. In addition to the standard rooms, the hotel offers Crowne Plaza Club Rooms and Suites on the top floor, overlooking Helsinki city. There are also spacious and comfortable Junior Suites available. All rooms come with great beds, free high-speed broadband (ADSL), WiFi wireless internet access, a hospitality tray, ironing equipment and other comfortable amenities one expects to find in an upscale hotel. There is an extensive restaurant selection in the hotel: Mediterranean style a la carte Restaurant Macu, gastro-pub Fidel, Bar Code in the lobby and a banquet restaurant in conjunction with the Royal conference floor, featuring flexible conference facilities. The Crowne Plaza Helsinki hotel also offers a well-equipped Business Centre, stunning Forever Gym & Day Spa with Finnish Sauna, swimming pool and various Spa treatments. For guests coming by car we provide a garage with car wash service. Crowne Plaza Helsinki is a winner of the World Travel Awards, Finland’s Leading Hotel 2011, for the fourth consecutive year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Helsinki
Helsinki Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.