We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to stay in a Great City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #15 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Place to stay in a Great City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Radisson Blu Royal. We were upgraded to a business class room. The room could have used some renovation, but was overall quite comfortable with an espresso machine and free wi-fi. The staff was very helpful, and the included buffet breakfast was quite good although always very crowded. The staff did a great job replenishing the food and removing used dishes. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was excellent and seemed to be patronized by a lot of the local people.
The hotel is very conveniently located with a tram/subway stop a block away. The T3 tram allows you to be anywhere in the downtown area in minutes and runs every few minutes during the day. You can get a multi-day pass for the subways/trams in the subway station. I believe we got a 4 day unlimited use passes for all the buses, trams, and subways for 2 people for 32 Euro. Helsinki was a wonderful place to visit and was our favorite of all the Scandinavian capitols. We also had dinner at the Hotel Glo’s restaurant and thought it was terrible with some of the worst service ever, the hotel itself also did not impress.
You can get some fantastic advance purchase rates from Radisson. We paid 78 euro inc Breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    469
    155
    33
    7
See reviews for
117
279
92
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Having been my third trip to Helsinki I knew the area I wanted to stay in. I eventually came across this hotel at a very good price through Expedia *$100 CDN a night if booked more than 28 days in advance* and seeing as it also included free breakfast and internet and also included rooms with two beds which was required as I went on this trip with my father.

The staff at the hotel were very welcoming and willing to answer any questions you'd have about the hotel or the city. We were also given enough cards to access the internet to last our entire stay so we didn't have to keep going down to the front desk every 24 hours.

I was very surprised with the rooms as they were much bigger than I had expected. The beds were also so comfy, some mornings I didn't want to get out of them. That being said, it did take me a few tries to figure out how to properly use the shower as I'm not used to there being that many fixtures.

Didn't use the mini bar as it was a little expensive, but generally how it is at most hotels. Breakfast wasn't too bad, but after having the same thing at another hotel in Finland I was wanting something different. Also never tried the restaurant.

Overall, I would definitely go back to this hotel next time I vist Helsinki.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Adjacent to but not right in the city centre. Very convient for getting anywhere, either walking or by bus. Rooms spacious, breakfast typical scandinavian. Rooms have coffee facilities. Obviously no that new a hotel (masses of "marble" in the bathroom!) but well-maintained.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This hotel is perfectly situated for anyone wishing to immerse themselves in this compelling city.
No taxis are necessary as trains, trams and buses (including the inexpensive airport bus) are conveniently within a very gentle stroll, while most of the city's attractions (Market place, harbour, Cathedrals, etc) can also be realistically reached on foot.

In terms of levels of comfort and convenience this hotel is in no way expensive, and while the "mustn't-be-late-for-the-bus" tour party (and which hotel doesn't have them?) may inundate the breakfast dining area at 7.30am, this is a minor purturbation, as the hotel is well organised in anticipation and maintains a perfectly acceptable of service to all guests.

We will return without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed a couple of nights in July 2010.

A very clean hotel with spacious rooms. The bed was very good. Breakfast was descent. Always nice with the included Internet.

I like the location of this hotel, close to everything even though Helsinki is not that large, most things are within walking distance. I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Center located in Helsinki and close to Kamppi Metro station. Breakfast is typical Finnish hotel breakfast which comes with good variety of selection: bacon, egg, fruits and good selection of breads.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I stayed at the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel for 5 nights on a business trip and the hotel was very functional - almost so one didn't notice it (which is good!)

The hotel is located fairly centrally, about ten minutes walk from the main station. I was unaware of any city noise while in my room. The rooms was large, the bed comfortable and the curtains thick enough to keep out that pesky sunlight.

Everything is generally clean, friendly and efficient, there is free internet available in the rooms, and an on-site restaurant next to the bar offering a range of food from club sandwiches to more elaborate dishes -- this is competent but not gastronomic. The buffet breakfast is fairly good (choice of cooked food, pastries, etc.) but on occasion the orange juice can be very watery: that is probably my biggest gripe.

Checkout time is a generous 12 pm.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Rezidor, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.