We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel in downtown Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great beds and nice rooms. The breakfast was included (at least in our room rate) and was more than satisfactory. The hotel itself is in the Kamppi area of Helsinki, which is pretty much where everything happens in Helsinki. All the shopping centers and most museums are located nearby. Easy to get to and from as the railway station is a 10 min walk away. Big plus for the free WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Tommy I

I appreciate your kind words about our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. As you said we are located in the middle
of all happenings. We are easy to arrive and closed to all action.
I hope to see you again as our guest.

Have a great late summer!

Sincerely,
Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    471
    154
    33
    7
See reviews for
119
279
92
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived here for our second stay after a gap of four years, we weren't disappointed by our choice. As a Club Carlson Gold member I asked for an upgrade (which is free in UK if you are gold) but was told there would be a charge. Rather than argue we paid the charge and were glad of the additional amenities and high floor room.

The location is fantastic and the only downside was the breakfast, which although free we only used once as we were disappointed. If you like salad and cold meats for breakfast you'll be fine, and I didn't like that things like Jam, Butter etc was a shared bowl on a buffett and you simply took what you wanted. Not very hygienic.

Overall a fantastic location, hotel and great staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear gjpgjp

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your long stay with us.
I will personally relay your improving ideas to breakfast manager.

I hope you will choose us again, the next time you are in Helsinki.

Please follow us on Instagram #radissonbluroyalhelsinki to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Have a great summer!

Yours Sincerely,
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were at the Royal early July on our annual visit to Helsinki.The hotel is so conviently situated .Just across the road from the hotel's summer open air bar and coffee area is the entrance to the subway system and also links to the bus station and Kampi which is a large shopping mall.The rooms at the hotel are clean and well maintained. .The inclusive breakfast consists of a wide range of the usual cold and hot choices.The only problem is the breakfast area can get quite crowded at times especialy when there at tour groups present. One tip we use Yellow Line taxi from/to the airport it maybe a shared cab ,but the fare is a reasonable 29.50 euros

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear 747Mike,

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu Royal Hotel again and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are aware that the breakfast room can get a bit crowded, our solution for this is that we open the dining area also when needed.

We are glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a nice enough hotel to stay at, where the best part was the very friendly staff.
The terrace grill area was a relaxed place to sit whilst the evening sun went down

The room we stayed in was OK, but not really a 4* room. The bed wasn't very comfortable.
Radiator hadn't seen a good clean in months, and there was a terrible trip hazard with a small ledge between the bedroom and bathroom. Room 453 just needs a bit of a spring clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear AEP268,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our staff.

We regret to hear about your disappointment in the room you received. Your comments will be forwarded to our Housekeeping department. We hope to see you again in the future, and hopefully we can then exceed your expectations.

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Central hotel in Helsinki, close to everything you need, restaurants , bars, shopping , great value for money. Rooms where modern, under floor heating in the bathroom, beds where comfortable. Staff friendly, ease of check in and out. Bar in the lobby great place to meet for drinks. Tram stop out the front of the hotel, metro across the road. Great place to stay in Helsinki, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Rosscoe68,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.
We take pride in our facilities and services so it's a pleasure to read this kind of positive feedback.
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Room wasn't listed as a Business Class room, but seemed very similar to those that were. Had internal view over the lobby with non-openable windows. Ducted heating & cooling with underfloor heating in the bathroom. Decent sized room with writing desk, good TV & mini-bar. Shower over bath, hairdryer & shaving mirror. Reception staff were very helpful. Wifi and public computers with internet were available. Good location near Central Train Station and other public transport options like trams and buses. Close to many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Traveldooey,

We appreciate your kind words about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our services and facilities.

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Clean Hotel, that is centrally located in Helsinki. Very friendly staff that made check in and check out simple, quick and easy. Full breakfast that would satisfy any guest. The outside patio and bar was a nice way to relax after a day touring the city. Close to a very large shopping district, and a wide variety of restaurants. Also enjoyed soaking in the large oversized tub after walking around and taking in the sites of the beautiful city of Helsinki. Also, just across the street is the metro line, and the train station is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jere B,

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience with us.

Thank you for your kind words about our Reception staff, we aim to to provide efficient and personalized service.
We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and summer terrace.

Please follow us on Instagram #radissonbluroylahelsinki

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
GLO Hotel Art
#13 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#6 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#14 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#21 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rezidor, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.