We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for relaxing/city center visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Good place for relaxing/city center visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I chose the hotel mainly on 3 grounds: price, good location and a bath tub in the room. All 3 criteria were fulfilled in this hotel, everything went smoothly and as promised. The location could not be much better and even though I had a room in 2nd floor next to the main entrance and yard, it was still quiet and calm. Pillows were lousy, but I'm sure, that the personnel would have provided me with a better one, had I asked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jenni L,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property.

We are glad to hear that all your 3 criteria were fulfilled during your stay with us.
We do have a selection of different pillows to suit different needs. On your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to give reception a call so we can find a suitable pillow for you.

Please follow us on Instagram #radissonbluroyalhelsinki!

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    340
    98
    24
    5
See reviews for
74
206
72
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I thought the atmosphere of the hotel was great - clean, with a more modern feel. I stayed for 10 days, and never once had any issues. The location was nice and close to shopping centers, restaurants, and many of the public transportation routes, such as the tram and bus, and a short walk to the central train station. The hotel offers a free breakfast, and the spread included a diverse selection of meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, hot meals, and cereal. The rooms were spacious - the rug was a little dirty -but overall, the staff was friendly, the place was well kept, and I had a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Laura Marie B,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your long stay with us.

We hope you will chose us again, the next time you are in Helsinki.

Please follow us on Instagram #radissonbluroyalhelsinki to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Room quite old and shabby. Horrible smell in the bathroom coming from the drains - looks like noone checked the room for quite a while after it has been cleaned. Cleaning quite poor - hair on the floor and in the bathtub.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Robert W,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry about the issues you had with the accommodation of the room.
We have been investigating the matter about the drain this week and we are working on fixing this. Your comments will be passed on to out Housekeeping department to ensure all our rooms are cleaned up to Radisson standards.

Again, thank you for your comments and I hope you will have a great summer.

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited a concert in Helsinki and stayed overnight there. Everything was good. I do agree rooms need a facelift but overall it was a good place. Staff is friendly and the breakfast was very good. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Slaveya H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can improve our services.We are continuously working on upgrading the condition of our rooms.
We are delighted to hear that your stay was good overall.

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were not easy customers: we wanted a room with a window that opens! The hotel does have some and they found one for us. The room was just perfect: bathroom with radiant heated floor, all the amenities, including shower gel that few hotels dispense any more, and facecloths - very rare in Europe. The bath was huge, with the best bath/shower combination: shower head and hand held. Perfect. The bed was very comfortable with very light duvets and down pillows. The restaurant is ok, but no more. Better go elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast buffet is good - the croissants are amazing.
The front desk staff were just delightful: always smiling and very helpful with restaurant suggestions and reservations.

Room Tip: Business rooms are best, obviously, but we had a very comfortable, large "regular" room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Marysela,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Radisson Blu Royal Helsinki.
We appreciate your kind words. We take great pride in our Yes I can! attitude and it is always heartwarming to read great feedback about our staff and services.
We regret to hear that your restaurant experience was just ok. If you wish to discuss more about your experience, please contact the hotel directly and ask for Kristin Aidla our restaurant manager.

Thank you for your kind words. Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

There is really different if you compare this hotel to Radison Blu Plaza. Rooms need quickly modernisation. Its was fanny almost like walk in to 80s. Hotel location is good not far away from city hard. Breakfast was grate. Lot of options and the quality was grate. Breakfast room was really gaudy and the staff should pay attention to clean the tables quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Arska-FI,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
We are sorry your were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. The Radisson Blu Plaza is newly renovated and we will be doing our share of facelift in the near future.
Regarding your comment about our breakfast service, your comments will be passed on to our restaurant manger to ensure better quality.

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

When half of the breakfast room is empty, one would consider being able to sit down and enjoy breakfast. Alas all tables were full of dirty cups & plates. The dinner service could be improved too. The friendliness of the waitress, perhaps she was still a stagiaire, could reach a higher level. The beer that was served had no more mousse. Coming from the Kingdom of Beer this is the worst thing that could happen when you want to enjoy a Leffe Blonde after a hard day's work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Chris G,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast and restaurant services. This gives us the opportunity to review the situation and correct any deficiencies we may have in our service.
We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our Restaurant Manager Kristin Aidla so she may address theses issues with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.

Have a great summer!

Sincerely,
Kadisha Appleton
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rezidor, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.