We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Recife
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Hotel is close to tram stations, central station, buses stops, shopping centers and other facilities which are necessary when traveling with kids. Service is pretty good. Breakfast is nice as well and there is free wifi available.

Room Tip: Breakfast on Sundays is very busy, so I recommend to have breakfast early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel in Helsinki.
We appreciate you taking the time out to give your feedback about us.

Kind Regards,
Kadisha Appleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    347
    101
    26
    5
See reviews for
74
207
75
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good location very central of most attraction in Helsinki ,very close and easy to reach the main train station and the ferries, facing the Kamppi shopping center , where you can easily find a good restaurants , coffee shop, shopping , as well the tram and bus station are just short walking distance , staff are welcoming and friendly ,excellent breakfast , comfortable clean room with a large bathroom with nice bath and shower , food is good in the hotel restaurant and at raisnable price , I enjoyed my 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Ibrahim,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review about us.

I'm delighted to hear that you had a good experience staying with us. Hope to see you in the future when your travels brings yo back to this area.


Kind Regards,
Kadisha Appleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was staying just one night on a combo of points + cash.

The hotel is easy to reach from the train station/airport bus if you know where you are going--to and straight through the Kamppi shopping center/bus station and up the escalator at the back and the hotel is across the street. You can also walk uphill along the right/north side of the center to reach the hotel (and easy downhill back to station).

Helpful staff.
Extremely comfortable bed and pillows. No noise despite near elevator.
Wifi worked well.
Hot in room from sealed windows/open curtains that heated up the room. I closed the curtains and turned up the fan, which made it OK, but not cool, despite pleasant cool temp outside.
Breakfast selection good, but room not well laid out and it was unclear to people what tables were taken versus set up clean for new diners, so people wandered a lot through the area and congested the operation.

I was given a room in the "annex" meeting center, not in the tower pictured. The nice part of the room was the large bathroom with good bath/shower with corridor separating from bedroom, so if two staying together, there is separation for noise/privacy. Carpet was stained, but room was clean.

The bad part of the room was the bedroom layout. The bed filled the room with barely passage at foot next to odd cabinet that held tv on top, minibar, pants press, tea kettle, and even the iron in a drawer. Desk was wedged to the side and chair could only pull out 6 inches in front because chair hit the odd cabinet--should have had a desk with the opening on the right, not the left side of the desk. TV was directed only at bed. I tried to turn it and move the other chair and strange stool?table?, so I could sit in a chair and watch the news while drinking a cup of tea, but it was almost impossible because of the height of the TV versus the chair and then I was worried I would hit the TV on angle with my head when walking by and break the darn thing (or my head).

I managed for one night without breaking my head on the TV, banging my knees too many time on the desk, or spilling hot liquid from the kettle onto my head. However, I could not have stayed and worked in the room for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback about your stay with us.

We apologise for the concerns you have regarding the layout of the room.
We will certainly take this into consideration in future renovations.

Kind Regards,
Kadisha Appleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huelva, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the 8th floor. I cannot fault the rooms at all. Very comfy beds, lots of room to sit and kick back and also eat dinner at the dinner table. Absolutely fantastic bath! The staff at the Radison are very helpful and friendly, even the finnish male staff members, which is not normal in this nordic country! Food is good in the restaurant, breakfast is plentyfull and glutenfree
bread is available.The hotel is very central to most things in Helsinki. A great couple of days in a cold and windy city!

Room Tip: Its always worth asking for an upgrade! Bussiness class rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadisha A, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel!
We appreciate the unique opportunity to see ourselves through the eyes of our customers and are eager to gather ideas on what we can do better. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have a great autumn!

Kind Regards,
Kadisha Appleton
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location near the train and bus stations and the dropoff point for the airport bus, a 15-minute walk from the ferries and near the museums yet very quiet. Superb breakfast and very helpful staff for planning the day. Modern, but with the design focus of Helsinki it fits well. Excellent price if booked on-line but a little high for walk-ins.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel in Helsinki.
It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have a great autumn!

Kind Regards,
Jukka Vantsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Check in was fast. I got a room in the conference portion of the hotel. The hallways and room seemed a bit dated, and I was dismayed when I walked into the room to bathroom stench. It got better if I put a wet towel over the drain...but at times it was overwhelming.

The room was ok, the desk was kind of an after thought and not really comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room did cool down nicely for sleep. As mentioned, I struggled with the drain a bit. I found I could limit the stench, by closing the bathroom door...but them the morning shower was unbearable as the stink was confined and overpowering. My complaints to the front desk led to disinfectant sprayed throughout the room...but when that wore off, I was in the same situation.

Some more good stuff, the hotel is in a good location near the train station and seaport. A wonderful area to walk in. The hotel restaurant was tasty. I appreciate the breakfast and internet included.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room, change rooms immediately if the drain stinks...this only gets worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
Regarding the stench in the bathroom, we have taken actions to fix this problem. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this problem caused.

Have a great autumn!

Regards,
Jukka Vantsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We checked into the Radisson Blu, last week, for our stay in Helsinki. The reception desk was busy, the staff were very friendly, and very efficient. We were given great details for our stay. Our room was very corporate business orientated, but very clean, comfortable and extremely spacious. However their beds, pillows, and sheets were the most comfortable I have ever found. We want a Radisson Blu dreams bed, simply beautiful. Breakfast was an overwhelming choice of 140 different items from fruit smoothies to smoked salmon or personally cooked eggs which ever style you want. A really great stay, for business, couples or family and friends.

Room Tip: Get a 3 or 7 day pass for buses, a great tram network, and the ferries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jukka_vantsi, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Magic Dreams beds were designed and manufactured exclusively for Finnish Radisson Blu Hotels by Finlayson Oy. The material reacts to body temperature and molds individually according to the person.

Have a great autumn!

Kind Regards,
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#12 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Rezidor, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;