We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position, position, ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Position, position, ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Fabulous position with adjacent tram stops (beware, tram line 2 heads north, line 3 heads south on the same route which includes the central station, market sq & some ferry terminals, route 9 goes to W harbour for Tallink ferry), the main bus station and a Metro line are in the adjacent large Kamppi shopping centre.
Our room was of reasonable size and comfortable.
Breakfast was good but crowded; the restaurant excellent food although a limited menu.
You have to stand up to use the PCs in the lobby - keeps the masses moving!!
Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned, Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
is very centrally located cityhotel with excellent traffic connections. Thank
you for your nice words about our staff and proberty.

I hope to see you again at Radisson Blu Royal Helsinki

Have a great autumn

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    464
    148
    31
    7
See reviews for
114
273
92
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel is quite new and well situated in the city center next to Kamppi shopping center. Not the easiest thing to find the parking carage even if I looked at the map in advance, could be better signed. Friday noon there was plenty of space for cars, next day noon quite full.

We got a very tiny room with a very tiny bathroom, had a feeling of a single room whith no space for two people. Basic amenities in the bathroom, I loved the smell of lemongrass in the body lotion. Sink was blocked and I wonder why the cleaning staff doesn't bother to give the message to somebody to take care of it... We were in a rush on the day of arriving, so I forget to mention it to the front desk, but got apology and a discount of parking fee when telling that next day.

Breakfast room was crowded and could definetely be improved by making it a little bit cosier, now it is like a company canteen. Somebody to show you to your table would be nice! Food selection is fine, but coffee serving to the table would make a difference! You hardly can manage to bring both your food and coffee at the same time and that gives constant movement and turbulence during the breakfast.

It was just ok to sleep there for couple of hours, but I would never stay there longer because of the room and bathroom size!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to hear that
you have felt lack of space in your room . Actually 90% of our rooms
are very large ( room 23-25 square meters and bathrooms 5 squaremeters).
Then we have hava few smaller rooms and usual those are in single use.
On your next trip to Helsinki we will take care that you will get one of those
large rooms.
You are warmly welcome back

Have a great autumn

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the first time and we were very pleased by friendly staff and excellent service.
The breakfast was just perfect for the 4 stars hotel (hot meals, fruites, the wide choice of juices, tea, coffee and even hot chocolate). We stayed in standard room that was big enough and well equipped. The bathroom was clean and i really liked the set of bathroom toiletries provided. The only request was to bring bathrobes and the second set of toileties and it was fulfilled quite fast. The room was equipped by kettle and we enjoied the complimentary tee and coffee that was really pleasant. We had a nice view of the city from the windows.
There is also a sauna and grill restaurant in the hotel, but we didn't use it this time. The hotel is also good for business purposes as we saw a lot of conferences on the first floor during our stay.

Room Tip: we had a corner room and it was really big
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review . I was nice to have
you here, and welcome back on your next Helsinki
visit

Have a great autumn

Front Office manager

Jukka Väntsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at Radisson Blu Royal with my girlfriend for 4 nights. Despite what some reviews are saying, this hotel is located right in the centre of Helsinki next to the huge Kamppi shopping mall. Check-in was quick and the staff were nice and friendly. Our room was really good! Nice wooden floors on the main part, great bed and a huge flat screen TV. The bathroom was a bit old school but the marble tiles still look fancy. The room was extremely quiet. Our only gripe was with the AC which did not cool the room enough. Furthermore, some renovation would make the room look a bit less worn out.

The breakfast was great and the waitresses did an excellent job. The hotel bar was really expensive but had a nice atmosphere. We did not try the restaurant as there are many other options located within a walking distance from the hotel.

We had a slight issue with a lotion going missing from our room. Quite likely the cleaners threw it away accidentally. I first complained to reception in the evening but the receptionist did not do anything about it even though she said she would. The next day a more capable receptionist took care of it but forgot to call me. Anyway, we got a nice box of chocolates as an apology which satisfied us. However, the staff should be trained to solve problems like this instantly.

This hotel is a fantastic choice for staying in Helsinki, whether it's for business or pleasure. The prices are lower than at other hotels in the centre even though it is definitely of the same standard. With a few customer service improvements the hotel could easily get 5 points from me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
Especially your mention about nice and
friendly staff made me happy. We have
use this issue of missing lotion in our
staffmeeting to improve even further our
ability to solve problems.

Thank you and have a great autumn


Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good decent rooms. One thing only: the towels in my batchroom were dirty.

Breakfast could be improved. It's very busy in the morning and tables are not always cleaned. No coffee or tea service at the tables: all is self-service. And honestly speaking I would expect more choice at breakfast. There are cheaper hotels that offer much better choice.

Great location, very easy to visit city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was good as were the facilities, but as with any large hotel it is quite impersonal.
I booked in as a double & they only gave us single beds & wouldn't change which after 3 nights was a bit annoying

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback
I will pass your regards about food anf sevice to the Grill It restaurant´s team.
Next time you are coming to Helsinki I can quaranteed double bed for you, if
you reguest so.

Welcome back

Have a great autumn

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in a standard Room for two nights.
The hotel gets good reviews and has a good price. We were checked in really fast and got a twin room (despite having asked for a double) a phone call and a quick room change remedied this - and the staff were incredible friendly and helpful. The room was compact and no real frills, but was comfortable enough. Breakfast was basic fare but tasty and plenty of it - included soya milk - which is a nice change.
The hotel is not central, but has a small shopping centre, some good restaurants and a cinema nearby and is a short tram ride (or 10 minute walk) away from Stockmanns and the other shops.
The in hotel restaurant is amazing, especially for a hotel restaurant. The salmon was to die for. Probably the best meal we had in Helsinki!
The downside was that the corridors smelt musty and horribly stale.
In short great location for a great price and its close enough to the town center and the railway station, and Tallink ferry ports.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel, Helsinki
Scandic Paasi
#3 of 62 in Helsinki
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Kampinmalmi
Radisson Blu Seaside Hotel, Helsinki
GLO Hotel Art
#14 of 62 in Helsinki
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#10 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#19 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.