We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very contradicting standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very contradicting standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

So we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Upon check in the guy thought we were only there for 2 had misread the booking. He then said he needed credit card for mini - bar (we would not be using this) I said no and he requested 150 euros cash. Nowhere on the booking on travelrepublic was this displayed. We asked for the minibar to be emptied so we could store our own products in there.

We were placed in a room on the 4th floor, soon after checking in we discovered the bathroom smelt of sewage very badly, we asked reception to sort this. We never had a call back from there or visit and spent the next 3 days in a room smelling of sewage. This is not satisfactory, when the hotel displays if you aren't satisfied you don't pay, we should of been offered a different room or a refund. The check out lady just said oh im sorry. This was not at all satisfactory and didn't make up for our smelly stay!!

The good points are hotel location, 5 mins from station, near shops, restaurants etc. Also free wifi and the maid service was very efficient.

However based on reception staff and lack of care for our smelly room I would not go back.
we stayed 27th-30th May under name Susan best. If anybody would care to contact us to actually explain why we weren't offered a refund when we said the sewage room wasn't satisfactory?!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest
I am sorry about inconvenience you faced during
your stay with us. It is our company policy to take
credit card number from everybody when checking
in. But room changing we would taking care as soon
as we heard about problems in you room. Actually
the sewage was cleaned next day,but we never verify
your satisfaction. As a departmenthead I am sad about
that. Making sure that guests are satisfied is one most
important matter in serviceindustry.
Would you please send me your contact information
to solve this out properly.
And welcome back. I am sure we can do much better
on your next visit with us.

Best regards
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    381
    118
    28
    7
See reviews for
84
227
78
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australind
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Send Radisson hotel we have stayed in Scandinivia, central location walking distance to town, pleasant stay, a bit noisy when we arrived because the ice hockey was on between Sweden and Finland and TV's were turned up in bar and restaurant. Food in restaurant was good, breakfast was ok, no choice with eggs on how you wanted cooked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice feedback.
You are warmly welcome back to Radisson Blu Royal
if you are coming again to Helsinki.

Have a great summer

Best regards
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is ok. A bit above average because of the minibar, individual climate control, free wireless Internet access, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and trouser press in the room.

The rooms are a little bit worn,

Quite good location.

The breakfast room is quite small. The breakfast is ok, but without surprises.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for you review.
We are improving our proberty all the time,
and next we are renewing our TV system
to the new level. Welcome to see brand new
TV`s and service´s on our next trip to Helsinki
and Radisson Blu Royal.

Have a nice Summer
Jukka Väntsi
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Centrally located and quite modern and fresh looking hotel. The rooms was quite big and beds good. Excellent service and very helpful receptionists.

The location is in the main hotel area of Helsinki, With enough restaurants and bars to choose from within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice feedback
and welcome back,

Have a nice summer
Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We caught up with a friend for a long weekend in Helsinki - the rooms were clean, breakfast was tasty and the staff were professional and helpful. The outside drinking area was lovely: nice relaxing environment. Very impressed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your review. I am "impressed"
about your nice words concerning our staff
and proberty. You are warmly welcome back
Have a great summer
Best regards
Jukka V
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Radisson Blu Royal Hotel had everything we needed for a city trip long-weekend in Helsinki. The rooms were large by European standards, clean and quiet. Staff were friendly, helpful and available at all hours. The location was quite good, close to some nice spots for an afternoon drink, and many restaurants. And an easy walk from the Finn Air airport bus drop-off spot. Book with confidence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback.
"Staff were friendly, helpful and available at all hours" is the phrase
I never saturate to hear. Thank you very much and welcome back.

Best regard
Jukka V
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Here's the list of pros: greal location, very close to the train station, very close to the center (restaurants, shopping, bars, etc), big rooms, clean, quiet, very nice and helpful staff, good plentiful breakfast, free wifi. Cons: the only thing I was missing was a gym.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback. It was nice to
read you great comments. Especially your
comments about staff and service please
me a lot.

Have a nice summertime

Jukka V
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.