We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the local hotel chains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS) (Kampinmalmi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Helsinki
Cotswolds
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Better than the local hotel chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Good sized clean room. Comfortable bed, large bathroom with all the amenities.
Usual Radisson hotel, but better than average service.
Front desk helpful and no queues to check in or check out.
Breakfast buffet half decent, had everything you would expect.
Good for weekend breaks or business trips.
Wouldn't particularly recommend it for a romatic getaway - better boutique hotels around for that.
Large sized underground parking, but it can be difficult to find (follow bus route tunnels!) and is quite expensive - expect to pay around €30 for overnight parking.
The hotel can be decent value if booked in advance.
Great location in the middle of the city, but can be a little noisy.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.
Once again compliments for our staff is making me happy.
"Better than average service" as you said is something we
are aiming to every day. We are working hard to reach this
service level newly with our all guests.
You are warmly welcome back

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    381
    117
    28
    7
See reviews for
83
227
78
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Okay, I am not really a big fan of Radisson network. I used to stay in Radisson Shanghai for a fortnight a couple of years ago and it was pretty awful. So I really was a bit hesitant when booking this hotel for my weekend stay in Helsinki. What finally made my decision was the location of the hotel. Yes, this is one of the strongest advantages of the hotel - it's close to everything in Helsinki downtown.

Like I said, you can't get a better location, it takes 5 minutes walk from railway station. All the bars, subway stations, museum, shopping centers (there are at least 4 of them around, all huge, lots of brands, keep your wife AND your credit card away from them:)))

The hotel itself is really a true Radisson at its best. Great service, friendly staff, nice room and cool bedding. No complaints ever, everything is quite perfect. Yes, it's not really cheap, but in my mind, it's pretty worth it.

One thing that surprised me a bit in the "business class" room was the selection of amenities. The prospect in the room boasted "upgraded bathroom amenities", but... Well yes, it had a number of soaps, shampoos and even bath salt (!!!), but no toothbrushes and toothpaste. Okay, not really a big deal, but I'd say a person can live without bath salt, it's not that necessary after all. But it's quite common for people around the world to brush their teeth at least once a day. That was a bit surprising.

There is also a restaurant in the ground floor called "Grill it!". Again, absolutely perfect services, smiling and helpful waiters and pretty relaxed atmosphere. A bit overpriced, but it's quite ok for a hotel's restaurant. Recommended if you don't want to get outside into cold and windy weather. It's a northern country after all:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest
I appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding
your recent stay with us. Toothbrush and paste is availeble for
all the guests at the reception. We have to think would it be
good to have it part of amenities in every business class rooms.
Thank you for your nice words about service and staff .
You are warmly welcome back

Best regards

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunaken, Sulawesi Utara, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for good hotel with full servise in center of Helsiki Radison Blu is one of the best once.

All the transpotation ( underground, trams, busses, taxis ) are just few steps from the front door. Good food in the restaurant. Proper gym! Not the normal " we have a gym " and picture on a website. Gym is used also from people how do no stay in a hotel. And ofcause nice Sauna :0)

And thanks for helpfull staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your warm words recarding
our service and proberty. I am always glad
to hear that our service has been good and
food in the restaurant Grill It has been delicious.

You can´t go wrong as you said

Best regards

Jukka Väntsi
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had a great time and found the hotel to be one of the best, very relaxing, food was very good and the location very convenient to travel to other parts of the city by tram or underground.
Found all of the staff very helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback
I forward your compliments to our helpfull staff

Welcome back on your next Helsinki visit

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very reasonable price for Finland. Nice room, good buffet breakfast. Staff variable: some friendly and helpful, others less so. Convenient location only 10-15 walk from the ferry and within walking distance of most shops & attractions. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for constructive feedback. I am glad to hear
you have had enjoyable stay with us. And I promise that
we are working even harder to keep all assignations with
guests and staff in friendly and professional level as we have
used to do.
I am looking forward to see you at Radisson Blu Royal again

Best Regards
Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It is not often i give 5 marks to a place but again in the space of a fortnight i have. We took a taxi to the hotel from the airport and i am sure we got diddled as the fare was 40 euros and took 25 minutes, grrrr.
The front of the hotel is impressive as it curves round inwards and we were checked in efficiently and took the lift to the 4th floor where from the window in the lift you can look down to the bar. The room was big and the bathroom very clean, it also had a mini bar ,wifi and a safe. It also had air con and a flat screened tv with some english channels. It was -15 degrees outside but not in our room.
Breakfast was served between 7am and 11am and it was a very good buffet. We stayed here 3 nights and have no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Customer
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding
your recent stay with us. And Thank you for five stars you rated us
We are working hard to keep that good level in the future too.
You are warmly welcome back

Best regards

Jukka Väntsi

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Arrived to the hotel early, as my flight landed early. After 13 hours of traveling and getting lost in Kamppi trying to avoid the ice with 2 suitcases (Everyone said take the finnair bus - DON'T! pay the 35 eu for a cab!!!) getting to the actual entrance was confusing (go through the archway/City Gym entrance, be careful of both the iced path in winter and the door to the gym opening) immediately warm once inside. smelled beautiful, the staff, didn't have my room ready, and I was offered an upgrade (already had business class room) to a different B.C room that was ready. unbeknownst to me, it was a suite. walked into my Suite (because it may as well have been an apartment) and nearly passed out. 8th floor across from royal suite, and opened the curtains and The View. The Size, everything.... a bit overwhelming.
Bed, HUGE and comfy, downfall, although beautiful, the purple lighting around the bed. I called it "sex lighting" because, it was.
The bathroom, is massive, but the drain next to the toilet made it smell like someone left a present somewhere, the entire time (even after being cleaned).
The Staff, I can't say enough about how amazing they all were. The Breakfast in the morning is unreal, TAKE ADVANTAGE OF IT!
I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: if you can afford it and are offered a room upgrade TAKE IT! get up early for the breakfast, fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jukka V, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your gorgeous feedback.
I really welcome you back on your next
Helsinki trip

Have a nice winter

Jukka Väntsi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki

Address: Runeberginkatu 2, Helsinki 00100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Helsinki
#11 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#13 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek Business-oriented Hotel with striking glass facade & atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki Hotel Helsinki
Radisson Helsinki
Helsinki Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Helsinki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.