We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilight of our trip to Helsinki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seurasaari Island and Open-Air Museum

Seurasaari Island and Open-Air Museum
Seurasaari Island, Helsinki FI-00250, Finland
358 9 4050 9660 summertime / 358 9 4050 9574 wintertime
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Seurasaari Island and Open-Air Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Helsinki Card
Ranked #4 of 230 things to do in Helsinki
Activities: Walking, Picnicking
Attraction details
South Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Hilight of our trip to Helsinki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited Seurasaari Island on a tour of Helsinki. This was the highlight of our day. Seeing the different types of houses was a real treat.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    147
    34
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otalampi, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island to walk around and go swimming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I went there 3rd time with my 2 children. We walked around the island, not pay the museum area, but there was still lots to look. We stopped to swim at "naked swim place" because there was swimsuit-day and it was free of charge. Water was warm. Kids loved to see swan family and lots of other birds. Squirrels are usually coming to eat nuts, but this time we didn't see them. Only two and they were not interested to eat. About km to walk and we spent nice 5 hours including swimming.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Seurasaari is amazing. Many old houses, places.. just like many centuries ago. It is an amazing place to visit, a blessed one I guest! I must try it! Enjoy!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Open Air Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Get Bus 24. Dont bother with the so-called Art Cafe near where you get off, but cross the bridge and enjoy a lovely day. Edutainment - you dont have to interested in the history of Finnish buildings to enjoy it. Take your swimming stuff aswell.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice destination for an afternoon trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Easy to reach with Bus 24 from the city center, Seurasaari is well worth a trip if you like nature and / or are into history. It's an island accessed easily over a bridge (no vehicles) and while also an open air museum a public park as well. Entrance fee of 8 € only for visiting some of the houses shown in the museum from the inside, everything else is free! There is a public beach and also a nudist beach (male and female with different entrances!), a nice restaurant overlooking the seafront in a beautiful park and a lot of interesting things to see. Price level on the island for eating and drinking is high, but where is it not in Helsinki :-)
We surely enjoyed the trip and while you are there, take a look at the Kekkonen Museum just on the right hand before entering the island (6.50 entrance fee) if you are into architecture and style :-)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seurasaari Island and Open-Air Museum also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Seurasaari Island and Open-Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seurasaari Island and Open-Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.