We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade

Esplanade
Pohjoisesplanadi, Helsinki 00130, Finland (Kampinmalmi)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 148 Attractions in Helsinki
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Parks
Activities: Shopping
Attraction Details
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Even though it was chilly that day we enjoyed waking the area. Beautiful flowers down the center island. Great spot to sit at a cafe and people watch.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    288
    71
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shopping and sightseeing in one destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited this area last June. We were blessed to have a sunny day. It was one of the first hottest days this year so it was perfect weather wise. The area was so lively and saw a lot of tourist and locals relaxing under the sun and side cafe's which I think added to the hype of my visit. I am a shopaholic so the area was heaven if you like branded stuff. There was also a market near the port area where you can buy local stuff. I remember meeting a local designer of jewelry in the market and her items were really unique and beautiful. We had some concerns about 'aggressive' seagulls though as some tourist were feeding them thus they were like attacking us at some point but otherwise this is a perfect place to spend the day at shopping and strolling.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Interesting park, lots of eateries, shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

There were 7 of us, just strolling from the Senate Square and Kauppatori Market Square, on our way back to the Scandic Grand Marina Hotel.
It's a nice stroll, see the sights, go into various department stores or shops. Lots of nice restaurants and eateries. Colorful leisurely walk. It's one place you should go to get a good all-around idea of what Helsinki has.
Good place for souvenirs too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Lovely & Lively”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

What a nice way to spend some time in Helsinki. There are shops and cafes galore. The park and fountains are lovely. I recommend taking a stroll down this lively street!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Park with food and shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Esplanade connects the Market Square area with the busy shopping centres closer to the railway station. The park isn't large, but nice to walk through - or to sit down and relax a bit. I found the shopping opportunities lining the streets more interesting. There are also a couple of places to eat here.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esplanade also viewed

 
Helsinki, Southern Finland
Helsinki, Southern Finland
 

Been to Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.